We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place but bring a cooler!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nantahala Village

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Nantahala Village
1 review
“Nice place but bring a cooler!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

We stayed at the lodge. Nice place, good location and very clean. However for $140 bucks a night you would think the rooms would have a mini fridge. All other amenities were as expected. Friendly staff, nice tiki bar across street.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lollie100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate P, General Manager at Nantahala Village, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
So glad you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    47
    30
    20
    11
See reviews for
69
83
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

Loved our cabin. Great location for all of the local activities. Rafting, horseback riding, hiking, zip lining... All within minutes!,,,great pool for the kids... Tennis and basketball courts too. Family loved every minute of it! Even when it rained!

Room Tip: Get a cabin. It is worth the extra money!
See more room tips
Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Gatorkjl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate P, General Manager at Nantahala Village, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for the kind words. We try hard to make the village a favorite choice for our guest and look forward to serving you again. Consider us for your special events, family reunions and just a peaceful get-a-way for you and friends.

Wishing you the best,

Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boynton Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
121 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

First thing there is no elevator if you are staying in the lodge and you need an elevator for a handicapped person or heavy luggage there is none. You will not find a bellman either to assist you so if you have problems with stairs or carrying luggage this will not be a place for you. Second the food offerings are problematic. The mountain perks coffee shop is closed 2 days during the week and the Village Bistro inside is only open for dinner and also closed one night a week. There is little in the way of food in the area. There is a place at the NOC and if you want to drive all the way back to Bryson City if you pass the NOC there is almost nothing for 20 minutes until we found a Hardees. So I would advise bringing a cooler with beverages for yourself and maybe hit a place to eat a meal before checking in. The staff was very friendly and the room was clean and the beds were very comfortable. The ice machine was broken so we had to go to the desk to get ice and they are closed after 10pm and no one is on site so if there is a problem you will be on your own to figure it out, no phones in the rooms. We enjoyed the horseback riding the guide was very good with young children who were on our trip. I was very pleased with this part of the village it was as I had hoped on site, close ,friendly and an excellent trail ride. The game room is not as pictured. There are no video games, no pinball, no pool tables, there is one ping pong table, one fooseball table and some weird tossing string game that is something you can buy at Kmart that would be actually an outside game. I was very disappointed because I was hoping that the game room would provide some fun for my kids who are preteen and teen and it was not as shown, also you could not get into the fitness center it was locked and the doors were blocked from the game room. The pool closed at 8pm and it is still light out for another 2 hours almost up there so that was a bit disappointing too. Overall the time we were there was ok but it was not all I had hoped from the photos. Maybe if we had been able to get a cabin it would have been better. The food situation and the game room really put me off. Luckily for us we had taken a board game with us so we could have something for the kids to do in the evening. The place is secluded and good for people who want to get away I would recommend this for people not traveling with children if you are staying for more than one day . Kids will be bored unless they ride the horses all day or you place a rafting , boating or fishing trip.

Room Tip: We had room 10 it was on the scenic side of the lodge all the way at end of hall so it was quiet and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mamashuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate P, General Manager at Nantahala Village, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
I'm sorry you were disappointed with your stay. We are slowly rebuilding the game room and fitness room which is open for guests but you must get the pass code from the front desk - this prevents children from going in on their own and getting hurt. You are correct. the pool should be open later in the summer and we are now leaving it open until 10pm. We hope you will come again and notice improvements as we continue to bring the resort back to life.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Wyoming
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

We booked cabin 41. It was private and overlooked a small pond and some decent hillside scenery. The cabins had complete kitchen and was provisioned for housekeeping. Furniture a bit dated but overall a good value for families - 2 BR (King and queen). The restaurant was very good with seating outside overlooking a view or inside with large windows also supporting the view.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate P, General Manager at Nantahala Village, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you so much. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

I found this oasis after leaving a nearby motel where I was booked to kayak for several days. This hotel looked beautiful from curb appeal so I decided to check for availability. The atmosphere upon walking into the well appointed lobby was serene & staffed by a lovely lady who listened & immediately checked to see if a room within the main building was ready. I was shown a large light filled beautiful room. I checked in immediately & found the hotel also had a washer & dryer available on the lower level for my wet clothing. My room was so quiet & beautifully decorated with lovely linens on a most perfect mattress. The bathroom was up to date & very well stocked with soft towels. The furniture was nice & had plenty of room for my clothing as well as a separate area for hanging garments. The restaurant had excellent food & the staff was friendly. A nice wine list complemented a lovely menu. The grounds of this hotel were beyond heavenly. I hope to return later this year with my husband & stay in one of the beautiful cabins. This hotel saved my trip by being everything I could have hoped for & more in a beautiful mountain gorge.

Room Tip: No room service but not really necessary because the dining room & bar area were on the first fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Caraanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate P, General Manager at Nantahala Village, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you for your review. We're so glad we could accommodate you and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Georgia
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

I found this lodge through an Amazon Local deal. The certificate was for a 2-night stay in one of the cabins. The front desk messed up my reservation dates so we had to be downgraded to a lodge room with no compensation. When we arrived, we were not informed that the pool was closed due to inspection; we stayed here in mid-June with 80-degree temps. The front-desk employee did not tell us where anything was on the property so we had to find everything on our own. The check-in process went very smooth, though, and we were allowed to check-in 2 hours prior to check-in time. The room itself was just okay; the bedding needs to be updated (brown satin just looks dirty) and all of our towels had holes in them. On a positive note, I can not say enough about the Village Bistro and staff. We had dinner there both nights we stayed. The bartender(male) was super helpful and very nice. On Sunday evening, I really wanted some fresh fruit with dinner and the blonde waitress went above and beyond to help me find some. I would highly recommend the Village Bistro while staying at Nantahala Village. Overall, I was not impressed with our room or the property itself but the Bistro helped to make our stay here more memorable.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sami F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate P, General Manager at Nantahala Village, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you for coming to Nanatahala Village and I'm sorry the pool opening was delayed. We are still in the process of "rebuilding" the property from previous ownership. Please come again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Garden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

We had stayed at the Nantahala Village many times over the last decade or so, but seemed to have skipped the last several owners/years. From what we heard from our stay this last weekend it was a good thing! Now, our memories of the Nantahala Village can continue to be awesome without having to remember the "bad times". The location in the Nantahala river valley to various activities was always the strong point along with the quiet and comfortable accommodations at the main lodge. I am so happy that the lodge is "back" and that things are as I remember.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lauren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate P, General Manager at Nantahala Village, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you. It is our intention to bring the Village back to the "good ole days" and then some.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bryson City
16.2 mi away
Fontana Village Resort
Fontana Village Resort
#1 of 1 in Fontana Dam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
11.6 mi away
Lloyds on the River Country Inn
8.0 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Bryson City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.5 mi away
Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort
Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort
#2 of 6 in Robbinsville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
7.6 mi away
Sleep Inn Bryson City - Cherokee Area
11.5 mi away
Two Rivers Lodge
Two Rivers Lodge
#4 of 10 in Bryson City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nantahala Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nantahala Village

Property: Nantahala Village
Address: 9400 Highway 19 W, Bryson City, NC 28713-9129
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Bryson City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Bryson City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Nantahala Village 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Nantahala Village is a landmark Great Smoky Mountains destination that caters to family vacations, weddings, corporate retreats, motor club and special interest gatherings. Rental units include Lodge rooms, Fireplace Suites, and on site cabins. Horseback riding, swimming pool, fitness room, game room, playground, mountain biking and hiking trails are all on the property. Zipline adventures, whitewater rafting, the Great Smoky Mountains Railroad and other activities are nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Nantahala Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nantahala Village Resort And Spa
Nantahala Village Hotel Bryson City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing