We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rave Reviews for New Management”
Review of Nantahala Village

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Nantahala Village
MUNFORD
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Rave Reviews for New Management”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

My family and I recently rented out almost the entire Nantahala Village for my son's wedding, which was actually held at Mystic Lands, not at the Village. Seriously, I think only one other guest was in the Village!

We had been communicating with the Village for more than a year, and had gone through the ups and downs with the previous management. We had visited several times, and felt, like some of the other reviewers, it was run down. Yes, we had read all the bad reviews, but the new owners and managers seemed so intent on making a new name, a good name for the Village, that we decided to book it.

GREAT CHOICE on our part! Kate and her crew did EVERYTHING they could to make our experience the best! The cabins were clean, well maintained - even the older ones, and there is a lot of work in progress, like the landscaping for example. They even created a firepit for a huge bonfire for us to have a get together and do s'mores the night most people were coming in.

The Bridesmaid Brunch was hosted at the Village Restaurant (formerly Thirteen Moons) and the view from the porch was gorgeous, but it was the food that stole the show - one of the best brunches I've ever had.

The staff never said, "No," and graciously handed out welcome bags to each of our guests.

This new management, given time, will turn this resort into THE place to stay in the area. I would not hesitate to book there again, and if I had it to do over, I'd not change a thing.

Thank you Nantahala Village and Kate for making a special time even more special!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BROOKE N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate P, General Manager at Nantahala Village, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Brooke, thank you so much for the compliments. It was a pleasure having you all here and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    49
    30
    20
    11
See reviews for
71
86
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Huntington, West Virginia, United States
1 review
Reviewed May 5, 2013

My brother was married here on may 4,2013. The staff was so friendly and accommodating. The food was fabulous, bar tender and wait staff were superb. Kate Parkerson facilitated all the planning and made sure everything went smoothly and was exactly what the bride and groom wanted. It unfortunately rained on the wedding date, but Kate and her wonderful staff changed the venue for the ceremony and reception seamlessly. It was beautiful, and we will definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate P, General Manager at Nantahala Village, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
It was an honor for us to be part of the wedding celebration. We look forward to seeing you all again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryson City, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

My family and I recently took a trip up to the Bryson City area and we stayed at the Nantahala Resort, in a Treehouse Cabin, I think it was called. We really enjoyed ourselves! The cabin was very cozy and comfortable, and we had foozball to entertain our kids in the evening. The rec hall was great and had ping pong, which our family really enjoyed playing together. The kids loved the pool, and we had a great time rafting and horseback riding during our stay.
We ate one night at 13 Moons, our server was really quick, and very knowledgeable about the menu. I had the crab-crusted filet, and it was delicious! Cooked perfectly!

Overall, we had a really great experience, from reservation, through the stay, and even got advice about places to stop and see on the way home when we were checking out! We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: We stayed in Treehouse, but the Front Desk Clerk told us they have a few places with hot tubs! That...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NotAllWhoWonder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate P, General Manager at Nantahala Village, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks so much for your review! We are as excited as you are about what we have to offer for family gatherings at this amazing property. We'd like to invite you back to enjoy the amenities, the food and the absolutely awesome thing to do in Bryson City.

Looking forward to serving you again soon!

Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky Mount, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 8, 2012

The pictures of this resort online are very nice. I was very excited to stay there. We were planning to get married on the deck and our family and friends were going to stay at the resort and cabins.
I am very glad we visited before I made plans for our destination wedding.

When we pulled up to the resort, the grounds were not maintained. The fence around the pool was broken with grass and weeds going everywhere. I'm not sure what the lawn maintenance guy does every day.

The room was ok, definitely nothing special, but I was determined to make this work out. That night the air conditioner started making a loud noise. None of us got any sleep. When we told the front desk, they brushed us off and said they would take a look at it. They never once said they were sorry...not once!! That really upset me......where's the customer service!! The owners are lacking in that area too!!

When the wedding coordinator showed us around, again we noticed that the grounds were in desperate need of some TLC!! Needless to say, we have decided to get married at another location.

The best thing out of the entire trip was the restaurant. The food was absolutely great at the Thirteen Moons!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank medlingirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate P, General Manager at Nantahala Village, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Nantahala Village is now under new ownership. We invite you to give us another try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We have visited Nantahala Village for many years now. This year 60 of us met up for our annual family reunion and white water rafting trip. The property has changed ownership since the last time we were there in 2009 and seems to be making changes for the better. The new owner (Constantine) is very hands on and was on site every day of our visit. He definitely went above and beyond to ensure that our group had a great stay. The front desk clerk (Shawn) was amazing and so accommodating. He was always there when needed and no matter what we asked he was willing to help us out or point us in the right direction.

You can't get a better location if you're going rafting at the Nantahala Outdoor Center. The hotel is very close & the bus picks you up right out front for the rafting trip. This is not a luxury resort. This is an authentic mountain get away with the log cabins to prove it. There is a pool on site & a huge game room with ping pong, foose ball, ladder ball etc. The restaurant in the lodge is called 13 moons & the food is amazing. I highly recommend the portobello stack. Unfortunately they are not open for breakfast in the morning so you need to plan on leaving the hotel or preparing something in your room. The hotel has several restaurants near by if you choose to eat out.

Overall I highly recommend this hotel. We have stayed in the lodge as well as the cabins and have always been happy with our rooms. When a group of 60 people all leave with a smile on their face the Nantahala Village must be doing something right!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank clingle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate P, General Manager at Nantahala Village, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks so much for your review! We are as excited as you about the rebirth of this amazing property. We'd like to invite you back to enjoy the amenities, the food and the absolutely awesome thing to do in Bryson City.

Looking forward to serving you again soon!

Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We were there recently and our room (room 11) had chipped peeling paint, no headboard or footboard, no bedside tables and just generally very run down. Bedspread looked to be 30 years old and it, along with the sheets, just did not seem clean. I found out while i was there that they are closing down soon, possibly even as early as today. (8/20/12)

If they do not close down, be very careful about staying there. They have a restaurant (13 Moons) but it was not open for breakfast or lunch. I was able to peep inside another room and it did not look nearly as bad as ours. I am not sure why our particular room was so bad. We could have asked for a different room, but we can tolerate anything for 2 nights.

Traffic noise was also a huge negative. Trucks and cars fly by and the "resort" is right on the main highway so, especially in room 11, the traffic noise is quite bad. Perhaps if you are in one of the cabins that sit much further off the road it would not be an issue.

Also, I needed ice during the night for a bad headache and the ice machine was not even working. They have really let the place go and if they do indeed close down, it's no wonder.

I also heard the pool tables in the cabins had been repossessed, so if you go and think you will have a pool table in your cabin, you better double check.

When we arrived at 4, which is check in time, our room was not ready. It was not ready until close to 5pm. All of the staff was standing outside near the front door smoking when we arrived. How gross and smelly.

I wish i had something good to say about this place, but I really can't think of one thing. Oh, I guess the best thing about it is that it is just down the street from the Nantahala Outdoor Center. Now THAT is a good place for breakfast and lunch. (didn't eat dinner there). It's fun to sit outside and watch the rafters and kayakers go by on the river.

Room Tip: Avoid room 11 unless you know the "resort" comes under new management and you can see pic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank treenie12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate P, General Manager at Nantahala Village, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Nantahala Village is under new ownership and management. We invite you to give us another try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

We stayed at the cabin between the streams for our anniversary. Although we enjoyed our time, the owners misrepresented the description of the cabin. There is a small trickling stream behind the cabin, but don't get the impression that it was a rushing stream. The other stream was actually a drainage ditch. The cabin was quite small but well furnished and comfortable. We booked the cabin because of the description but were disappointed when we couldn't open the windows or door in our bedroom to actually hear the stream. The hot tub was big but did not have much power. All in all, not too bad, but we were disapointed.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cindy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bryson City
16.0 mi away
Fontana Village Resort
Fontana Village Resort
#1 of 1 in Fontana Dam
484 reviews
22.5 mi away
Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort
Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort
#2 of 6 in Robbinsville
644 reviews
8.0 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Bryson City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Sleep Inn Bryson City - Cherokee Area
11.6 mi away
Lloyds on the River Country Inn
11.5 mi away
Two Rivers Lodge
Two Rivers Lodge
#4 of 10 in Bryson City
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nantahala Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nantahala Village

Property: Nantahala Village
Address: 9400 Highway 19 W, Bryson City, NC 28713-9129
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Bryson City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Bryson City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Nantahala Village 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Nantahala Village is a landmark Great Smoky Mountains destination that caters to family vacations, weddings, corporate retreats, motor club and special interest gatherings. Rental units include Lodge rooms, Fireplace Suites, and on site cabins. Horseback riding, swimming pool, fitness room, game room, playground, mountain biking and hiking trails are all on the property. Zipline adventures, whitewater rafting, the Great Smoky Mountains Railroad and other activities are nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Nantahala Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nantahala Village Hotel Bryson City
Nantahala Village Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing