We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for a wedding, customer service is excellent”
Review of Nantahala Village

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Nantahala Village
Huntington, West Virginia, United States
1 review
“Great place for a wedding, customer service is excellent”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

My brother was married here on may 4,2013. The staff was so friendly and accommodating. The food was fabulous, bar tender and wait staff were superb. Kate Parkerson facilitated all the planning and made sure everything went smoothly and was exactly what the bride and groom wanted. It unfortunately rained on the wedding date, but Kate and her wonderful staff changed the venue for the ceremony and reception seamlessly. It was beautiful, and we will definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate P, General Manager at Nantahala Village, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
It was an honor for us to be part of the wedding celebration. We look forward to seeing you all again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    49
    31
    20
    13
See reviews for
72
88
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Bryson City, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

My family and I recently took a trip up to the Bryson City area and we stayed at the Nantahala Resort, in a Treehouse Cabin, I think it was called. We really enjoyed ourselves! The cabin was very cozy and comfortable, and we had foozball to entertain our kids in the evening. The rec hall was great and had ping pong, which our family really enjoyed playing together. The kids loved the pool, and we had a great time rafting and horseback riding during our stay.
We ate one night at 13 Moons, our server was really quick, and very knowledgeable about the menu. I had the crab-crusted filet, and it was delicious! Cooked perfectly!

Overall, we had a really great experience, from reservation, through the stay, and even got advice about places to stop and see on the way home when we were checking out! We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: We stayed in Treehouse, but the Front Desk Clerk told us they have a few places with hot tubs! That...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NotAllWhoWonder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate P, General Manager at Nantahala Village, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks so much for your review! We are as excited as you are about what we have to offer for family gatherings at this amazing property. We'd like to invite you back to enjoy the amenities, the food and the absolutely awesome thing to do in Bryson City.

Looking forward to serving you again soon!

Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky Mount, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 8, 2012

The pictures of this resort online are very nice. I was very excited to stay there. We were planning to get married on the deck and our family and friends were going to stay at the resort and cabins.
I am very glad we visited before I made plans for our destination wedding.

When we pulled up to the resort, the grounds were not maintained. The fence around the pool was broken with grass and weeds going everywhere. I'm not sure what the lawn maintenance guy does every day.

The room was ok, definitely nothing special, but I was determined to make this work out. That night the air conditioner started making a loud noise. None of us got any sleep. When we told the front desk, they brushed us off and said they would take a look at it. They never once said they were sorry...not once!! That really upset me......where's the customer service!! The owners are lacking in that area too!!

When the wedding coordinator showed us around, again we noticed that the grounds were in desperate need of some TLC!! Needless to say, we have decided to get married at another location.

The best thing out of the entire trip was the restaurant. The food was absolutely great at the Thirteen Moons!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank medlingirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate P, General Manager at Nantahala Village, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Nantahala Village is now under new ownership. We invite you to give us another try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We have visited Nantahala Village for many years now. This year 60 of us met up for our annual family reunion and white water rafting trip. The property has changed ownership since the last time we were there in 2009 and seems to be making changes for the better. The new owner (Constantine) is very hands on and was on site every day of our visit. He definitely went above and beyond to ensure that our group had a great stay. The front desk clerk (Shawn) was amazing and so accommodating. He was always there when needed and no matter what we asked he was willing to help us out or point us in the right direction.

You can't get a better location if you're going rafting at the Nantahala Outdoor Center. The hotel is very close & the bus picks you up right out front for the rafting trip. This is not a luxury resort. This is an authentic mountain get away with the log cabins to prove it. There is a pool on site & a huge game room with ping pong, foose ball, ladder ball etc. The restaurant in the lodge is called 13 moons & the food is amazing. I highly recommend the portobello stack. Unfortunately they are not open for breakfast in the morning so you need to plan on leaving the hotel or preparing something in your room. The hotel has several restaurants near by if you choose to eat out.

Overall I highly recommend this hotel. We have stayed in the lodge as well as the cabins and have always been happy with our rooms. When a group of 60 people all leave with a smile on their face the Nantahala Village must be doing something right!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank clingle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate P, General Manager at Nantahala Village, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks so much for your review! We are as excited as you about the rebirth of this amazing property. We'd like to invite you back to enjoy the amenities, the food and the absolutely awesome thing to do in Bryson City.

Looking forward to serving you again soon!

Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We were there recently and our room (room 11) had chipped peeling paint, no headboard or footboard, no bedside tables and just generally very run down. Bedspread looked to be 30 years old and it, along with the sheets, just did not seem clean. I found out while i was there that they are closing down soon, possibly even as early as today. (8/20/12)

If they do not close down, be very careful about staying there. They have a restaurant (13 Moons) but it was not open for breakfast or lunch. I was able to peep inside another room and it did not look nearly as bad as ours. I am not sure why our particular room was so bad. We could have asked for a different room, but we can tolerate anything for 2 nights.

Traffic noise was also a huge negative. Trucks and cars fly by and the "resort" is right on the main highway so, especially in room 11, the traffic noise is quite bad. Perhaps if you are in one of the cabins that sit much further off the road it would not be an issue.

Also, I needed ice during the night for a bad headache and the ice machine was not even working. They have really let the place go and if they do indeed close down, it's no wonder.

I also heard the pool tables in the cabins had been repossessed, so if you go and think you will have a pool table in your cabin, you better double check.

When we arrived at 4, which is check in time, our room was not ready. It was not ready until close to 5pm. All of the staff was standing outside near the front door smoking when we arrived. How gross and smelly.

I wish i had something good to say about this place, but I really can't think of one thing. Oh, I guess the best thing about it is that it is just down the street from the Nantahala Outdoor Center. Now THAT is a good place for breakfast and lunch. (didn't eat dinner there). It's fun to sit outside and watch the rafters and kayakers go by on the river.

Room Tip: Avoid room 11 unless you know the "resort" comes under new management and you can see pic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank treenie12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate P, General Manager at Nantahala Village, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Nantahala Village is under new ownership and management. We invite you to give us another try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

We stayed at the cabin between the streams for our anniversary. Although we enjoyed our time, the owners misrepresented the description of the cabin. There is a small trickling stream behind the cabin, but don't get the impression that it was a rushing stream. The other stream was actually a drainage ditch. The cabin was quite small but well furnished and comfortable. We booked the cabin because of the description but were disappointed when we couldn't open the windows or door in our bedroom to actually hear the stream. The hot tub was big but did not have much power. All in all, not too bad, but we were disapointed.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cindy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2012

I chose to stay here at the Nantahala Village Resort Lodge for 3 nights during the July 4, 2012 holiday weekend.

I chose to stay at the lodge itself, which is like a motel, except with scenic views of the mountains, if you choose the correct room. 1/2 of the lodge overlooks the swimming pool and parking lot, and if you pay a small upcharge fee, then you get the prettier side, of viewing a portion of the mountains depending on where your room is. For instance I took notes that rooms 1, 3, 5, 7, 9, 10, & 11 have scenic views, with what I suspect rooms 10 & 11 will probably get most of the mountain view, and room 1, the least view. We were in room 5 I believe; which was the Shakespeare room.

The Nantahala Lodge itself, is not like a log cabin inside, as the interiors of the room look like motel rooms, but our room was in nice shape when we arrived.

One of the housekeepers, named Sara, was a disaster! She didn't empty any of our trash, left pillows on the floor, (can you believe this?), loosely pulled up the bed covers and kicked trash under the sink, didn't do any cleaning period! I'm a world-wide travleer, and I was astonished by this!!! This is just NOT acceptable; I've stayed at $49 a night motels with better housekeeping than this.

The GOOD thing for us, Sara only worked on Friday, and our other 2 days was tended to by a much better housekeeper, who I believe her name was Tara.

I articulated these feelings with Sean, who is the front desk manager, and explained to him, they need to dismiss the terrible housekeeper, Sara. He said she'd been written up before for these problems and agreed with me the whole way, and said others have complained about housekeeping in the lodge because of her laziness and poor service.

Okay, moving on....

#1.) They do have the 13 Moons restaurant on-site, just beneath the lodge, but it is only open for dinner; not lunch nor for breakfast. I agree with the a previous reviewer that they should open the 13 Moons for lunch & breakfast so I don't have to keep driving all around hunting for places to eat.

I did eat at 13 Moons restaurant twice. Once was on a Friday night, when the banjo player, nicknamed, "Blue" was there. He plays Blue Grass music & sings while playing banjo out on the porch-side of the restaurant. Not interested in sitting outside in the elements? That's fine, too, as they have seating inside as well, in cool air conditioning.

As for the quality of the food, it was just so-so. Nothing great or spectacular, but also not tragically bad either. I do recommend steering clear of the HOT wings; it was just WAYYY too much fire; go with mild wings instead.

The greatest thing they've got going for them with the restaurant is the view, but ONLY if you get over on the FAR left side, and OUTSIDE where there's more view of the mountain hills. The right side is obscured by trees.

#2.) They offer a little, but inadequate breakfast menu of little bites to eat at their Mountain Perks, (little breakfast sandwiches), but seriously, it's not enough, if you want a real, bona-fide hearty breakfast. I was told their coffee there is good, but I didn't audition, since I don't drink coffee much.

#3.) Surprisingly, they didn't have any other entertainment, activities or shows, other than the banjo player "Blue", who plays in the restaurant on Friday nights. I'm used to the TONS of entertainment provided on cruises, so this resort was rather empty-handed for any entertainment options, other than the banjo player on Friday nights.

#4.) They do have a billiards table, and other soccer table game, (with the turning men), a basketball court below the lodge, and I think tennis, along with a basic motel-like swimming pool, next to the lodge. You do have to ask for the sports equipment and pool balls as it's not kept in the recreation room. I found that out nearly toward the end of my stay. Sorry, kids, but NO video games or arcades in the recreation hall.

#5.) If you're looking for the prettiest, most panoramic & scenic view on their entire property, surprisingly, it's at the playground, between cabins 23 & 34, at the top of Observation Point Road. I really feel they should be building more cabins in that little stretch, or another lodge of suped-up fireplace suites. It seems like a lot of wasted space for a playground, and green area especially for kids who don't appreciate mountain views, anyway, like adults do.


In other areas....


I did take a walk down to the Nanatahala Riding Stables which is operated by a family. However, when arrived down there by foot, there was only 1 man in the horse stable on his cell phone the whole 5 minutes I was there, and nobody tending to any visitors that come walking by. I waited for the man to get off his cell phone to at least acknowledge & recognize us, but he didn't and acted like they didn't need the business, so we left.

We also did visit the Nantahala Spa house. Again, there's a feeling of lonliness here as well. Nobody was in the house, to tend to visitors dropping by, and their services are by appointment only. So you have to call.

I feel that between the horse riding stables & the spa for which they have both on-site, that there is a bit of neglect for prospective customers, as there isn't anyone manning either site location to answer any inquiries at those locations. It feels the farther you get away from home base, (meaning the lodge), it becomes a lonely stretch the rest of the way down leading to both the horse riding stable and the spa.


If you're looking for 1st class lodging it's often hard to find out in the wilderness, because so many cabins on-site here, co-located on the lodge grounds, have not been renovated. I'd say your best bet will be to go with one of their newer fireplace suites, (from what I was told by staff personnel), or to stay in their motel-like lodge, as I did, which is upstairs. (No elevator either). Otherwise you'll have to look elsewhere for luxury log cabin rentals, which I believe they offer down the road scattered about in different locations outside of the lodge grounds.

Making a reservation at the lodge was a rather cumbersome & lengthy process, as you have to do it over the phone and not able to do it thru the internet. They fax a form over you to sign and fax it back to them -- kind of a primitive way of doing business in modern times. Also their website is not updated either. They also charge a $35 reservation fee, like many cabins do.

The reason I have the property & lodge rated as "very good" is because of its location. It is situated in a scenic part of the Nantahala National Forest / Nantahala Gorge area. I think they could be doing more with this property as addressing the lack of customer service at the horse riding stables & spa locations, as well as sprucing up the tired, dated-looking recreation hall, and offering more activities & entertainment on big holiday weekends during the summer time. Also, the many cottages they have on property need updating, and they need to get rid of a housekeeper at the lodge, too.

For breakfast & lunch I recommend driving about 3-4 miles South on Hwy 19, down to the N.O.C., the Nantahala Outdoor Center, and try eating at the wildly popular River's End restaurant, (as we did twice for breakfast), and Slow Joe's is also there on the other side of the river bank, (walking distance, between both restaurants). We found that the mecca of life seems to be located at the N.O.C. (Hint: For better parking space access, cross over the bridge on to the other side of the Nantahala River). Both restaurants are located on the Nantahala River and there's a NICE walking bridge for GREAT photo opportunities, too!


Dates of Stay: July 5 - July 8, 2012, at the lodge itself.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank weatherguy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bryson City
16.0 mi away
Fontana Village Resort
Fontana Village Resort
#1 of 1 in Fontana Dam
491 reviews
8.0 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Bryson City
22.5 mi away
Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort
Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort
#2 of 6 in Robbinsville
655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Sleep Inn Bryson City - Cherokee Area
11.5 mi away
Two Rivers Lodge
Two Rivers Lodge
#3 of 10 in Bryson City
210 reviews
11.6 mi away
Lloyds on the River Country Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nantahala Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nantahala Village

Property: Nantahala Village
Address: 9400 Highway 19 W, Bryson City, NC 28713-9129
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Bryson City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Bryson City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Nantahala Village 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Nantahala Village is a landmark Great Smoky Mountains destination that caters to family vacations, weddings, corporate retreats, motor club and special interest gatherings. Rental units include Lodge rooms, Fireplace Suites, and on site cabins. Horseback riding, swimming pool, fitness room, game room, playground, mountain biking and hiking trails are all on the property. Zipline adventures, whitewater rafting, the Great Smoky Mountains Railroad and other activities are nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Nantahala Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nantahala Village Hotel Bryson City
Nantahala Village Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing