We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish I could go back”
Review of Bar-B-Que Wagon

Bar-B-Que Wagon
Ranked #21 of 54 Restaurants in Bryson City
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Wish I could go back”
Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

I know this is a BBQ place but the best part was the fried okra and squash. The meat was good and had big portions. They only take cash; no credit cards.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Auburn93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    40
    30
    17
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mebane, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“Try the frybread, too”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

The BBQ was pretty decent (tho' not what I'm used to in the Piedmont of NC), the staff was friendly, the service was quick. What caught my eye was the frybread on the menu; we'd call it an Indian taco, with chili, beans, tomatoes, etc. on top of a piece of fried dough. It was one of the better ones I've had. I wish now I'd asked for a piece of frybread with BBQ on top, that would have combined the best of both worlds. A good place to eat if you're in the neighborhood.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tyaskin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“No Frills, Great Food”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

This was some of the best BBQ we have had. We actually ate here 3 times during our stay in Bryson City. The BBQ sandwich was delicious and so was the Brunswick stew. Fries, onion rings, slaw, and fresh fruit salad were all yummy. Love that there are like a million BBQ sauces to choose from; there is one for every taste palate. Ribs were okay; we've had better but we've had much, much worse too. Probably stick to the delicious sandwiches. There is indoor seating, pizza parlor style, and outdoor seating picnic table style, which was great for the beautiful weather days or if you want to bring your best canine. If even in Bryson City will definitely eat here again.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Island_Gen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryson City, North Carolina, United States
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed September 7, 2012

The barbque is excellent. The only thing we were not happy with is when we had food to take home, we were told to wrap in plastic wrap, with nothing to hold it together. Of course it falls all over. They need to give a box to you when you have food to take home.
Other than that, the food is excellent and affordable.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Sally H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waukesha, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“great Chopped pork”
Reviewed August 22, 2012

We always ask the locals where they eat and more than one told us of Bar-B-Que Wagon. So we made sure to try it! The place is not the most appealing from the outside, but who cares the food is really good. We had a little bit of everything on the menu. The chopped pork and potato salad were very good! Not a big fan of the fries, very thin and fried too long. We also ordered the fruit based on other reviews, to see what was so special but it was just fruit. We couldn’t decide between the pork sandwich and platter so my husband had the platter (not a sandwich) and I had the sandwich. They suggested for a quarter we add a bun to the platter and make sandwich, we did that! There was a lot of pork on the platter so you could get two buns and have plenty for 2 sandwiches. Be sure to know that they do not accept credit cards, luckily we had enough cash on us and the prices are very reasonable. You order at the counter and then sit down so a very casual atmosphere. We would eat here again in a heartbeat!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FamilyFunSeekers2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bar-B-Que Wagon also viewed

Bryson City, North Carolina Mountains
Bryson City, North Carolina Mountains
 
Bryson City, North Carolina Mountains
Bryson City, North Carolina Mountains
 
Bryson City, North Carolina Mountains
Bryson City, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Bar-B-Que Wagon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing