We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Filling Station Deli Sub Shop

The Filling Station Deli Sub Shop
Ranked #1 of 53 Restaurants in Bryson City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We want your dining experience to be as fun as what our amazing mountain town has to offer, with fresh made to order sandwiches, salads, soups and desserts, and we stand by our saying of let r deli fill yer belly, we can satisfy any appetite and we promise to only deliver the best customer service, cause you deserve it! We feel that life should be filled with some sweet surprises, so we kicked our deli up a notch by offering one of a kind amazing 4x4 Frozen Ice Cream Sandwiches, customized just for you. Add one of these amazing creations to one of our daily lunch specials and you will leave totally satisfied, oh yes!
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014

Didn't expect to find such fabulous food in this little town. Just what we needed after biking Tsali and returning out rentals to Bryson City Bicycles since they were next door.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank LisaRaleigh_NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

658 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    536
    102
    14
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“I love an excuse to stop here.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

Fresh hearty sandwiches prepared fast and presented with a smile. My all time favorite place to go for lunch when I'm in the area.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Maggikate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Four Oaks, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
80 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Ideal lunch experience...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I with another couple, rented a cabin from Hidden Creek Cabins for the weekend. We wanted to go out and explore Bryson City for the afternoon and enjoy the scenery. We chose to eat at The Filling Station for lunch and we were completed satisfied with our experience. The food was delicious, the prices were reasonable, we received a good amount of food, and also enjoyed the downtown view. It's a wonderful place for lunch and you won't be sorry! I highly recommend the pick two of their chili and your choice of sandwich. Enjoy!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Chesley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best sandwiches and amazing service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

We stopped by the Filling Station on a whim and it was one of the best decisions we made that day. As soon as we walked in the two guys working behind the counter greeted us like they had known us forever and were so awesome, offering up tips on what to eat and where to travel to and what to do, they were definitely some of the friendliest deli workers we had met. We got the famous cuban sandwich and the italian sandwich and they were both like heaven! Perfectly made and pressed to ooey gooey perfection, the homemade fries were also amazing. The decor was also really cool, vintage gas memorabilia, all over a pretty cool place. We also met the owner who was really friendly and really nice to talk to, he was over next door working on the expansion they are currently working on for the restaurant. The FIlling Station is definitely a must if you're in Bryson City. We'll be back!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Joy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Cuban sandwich and great service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014 via mobile

Whenever we are traveling,we like to stop at local restaurants. This one is an absolute "must". It is a small shop but the Cuban sandwich was the best I have had outside of Florida. The owner is delightful and we enjoyed talking with him. He is in the process of expanding the store so he will have some tables for guests.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank RaleighTraveler2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Filling Station Deli Sub Shop also viewed

Bryson City, North Carolina Mountains
Bryson City, North Carolina Mountains
 
Bryson City, North Carolina Mountains
Bryson City, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to The Filling Station Deli Sub Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing