We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best fresh sandwich ever” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Filling Station Deli Sub Shop

The Filling Station Deli Sub Shop
Ranked #1 of 53 Restaurants in Bryson City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We want your dining experience to be as fun as what our amazing mountain town has to offer, with fresh made to order sandwiches, salads, soups and desserts, and we stand by our saying of let r deli fill yer belly, we can satisfy any appetite and we promise to only deliver the best customer service, cause you deserve it! We feel that life should be filled with some sweet surprises, so we kicked our deli up a notch by offering one of a kind amazing 4x4 Frozen Ice Cream Sandwiches, customized just for you. Add one of these amazing creations to one of our daily lunch specials and you will leave totally satisfied, oh yes!
Tampa, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best fresh sandwich ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

Great atmosphere with the antiques and old time gas station theme. Small inside but the food is so fresh. I had the "Sorry Charlie" (tuna) on fresh wheat bread, avocado and sprouts.

Hubby had the Cuban. Loved it. Fresh cut fries are a great touch. One order will feed 3 people.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

658 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    536
    102
    14
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cherokee, North Carolina
1 review
“Love the cuban!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013

Its a small but its a great sandwich shop. The cuban is the best. The staff is very friendly they made me feel welcomed and didnt mind that my 1 year old was running around while we waited for are sandwich. The price is far. I will be back.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sarah h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A must stop for all Varsity travelers seeking food at its best.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I had just completed a hike in the Great Smoky Mountains just outside of Bryson City, North Carolina. An amazing beautiful mountain town. Enjoying the drive through town we were blessed to stumble upon the Filling Station and the sign outside that read, "have you had you Cuban today". The Cuban, soup, fries, and service were superb. Do not miss this one.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank VarsityTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
“Amazing Cuban!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

This place is a small little deli in the center of the small town which we would drive out of our way for the Cuban.
The food was fresh and flavorful! We were so happy after eating that meal and still talk about it today. Amazing job, truly satisfied.

Helpful?
Thank Larcinese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thompson s Station, Tennessee
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Come Hungry!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

You need an appetite to really enjoy the full measure of this deli. Come hungry and come early if its lunchtime (they will be busy). We had the Cuban (WOW!) and the special was a Chicken Casadia Melt (with BACON!!). Sweet Potato Fries are perfect. Keep your To-Go box. You will need it. The place has a great vibe. You are amazed at the amount of food that is produced by a handful of folks in a small kitchen. Great Show! Good People! We had to go for 2 days in a row. The menu just invites you back. You will likely have to get your order then head out for a picnic table or better, just head over to the Nantahala Brewery! But don't waste lunch on another ho hum diner. Come and see these guys.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Filling Station Deli Sub Shop also viewed

Bryson City, North Carolina Mountains
Bryson City, North Carolina Mountains
 
Bryson City, North Carolina Mountains
Bryson City, North Carolina Mountains
 
Bryson City, North Carolina Mountains
Bryson City, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to The Filling Station Deli Sub Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing