We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the Trip”

The Filling Station Deli Sub Shop
Ranked #1 of 56 Restaurants in Bryson City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Delivery, Private Dining
Description: We want your dining experience to be as fun as what our amazing mountain town has to offer, with fresh made to order sandwiches, salads, soups and desserts, and we stand by our saying of let r deli fill yer belly, we can satisfy any appetite and we promise to only deliver the best customer service, cause you deserve it! We feel that life should be filled with some sweet surprises, so we kicked our deli up a notch by offering one of a kind amazing 4x4 Frozen Ice Cream Sandwiches, customized just for you. Add one of these amazing creations to one of our daily lunch specials and you will leave totally satisfied, oh yes!
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Worth the Trip”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Made our yearly camping trip to the Smokies and found ourselves in Bryson City NC at lunchtime. Our first visit to The Filling Station will not be our last. Yes, the place is small and seating is limited. Yes, the staff is friendly and the food is fresh and made to order. Yes, it is worth the trip, worth the wait, and worth finding a bench outside to enjoy your meal. The Cuban is everything it is said to be. Everything else we ordered was tasty, and the portions were more than ample for the price we paid. The owner even helped us find a place to eat breakfast later in the week. Great food, great service, and a great place to have a meal and enjoy a little true customer service. Don't miss it the next time you are there.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

715 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    583
    108
    16
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great food, Limited seating”
Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

We went to the Filing Station because it was so highly recommended. We were not disappointed in the food. The Cuban was as good as advertised. Everyone loved their food. It did take a while to do an order for 6 people and I was not aware that there are exactly 4 seats in this deli,at a makeshift bar overlooking the street. This was not the best choice for us because the weather was not great, and we were just trying to get everyone out of the cabin for a bit. My 21 year old daughter and her 3 friends ended up eating next door at the soda shop where they have a few tables. They ordered dessert while waiting for the sandwiches. My wife and i ate in the car. If the weather was nice we would have gotten everything to go, and ate at the picnic area in Deep Creek. Great deli, just plan on getting it to go.

Helpful?
Thank Stuart B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“This place is awesome!!”
Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

Food is great!! The staff very friendly and attentive!!! Can't wait to go back!! They have just started serving fries and they are great!!! Best sweet tea on our trip!! Do not pass up eating here when in bryson city!!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SSSandMar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryson City, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The Big Chief!”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

The Filling Station has the best meatball sub I've ever had! No joke! If you're in the Bryson City area, and you've got a hankering for a sub, skip subway and head to the Filling Station! Two thumbs way, WAY up! :)

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Melissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh NC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“great food”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

We were pleasantly surprised by the food at this local deli. It was much more than simple subs. Our subs had bread grilled in garlic butter that really added to the flavor. We had to wait about 20 minutes to get food after our order but it was surprisingly worth the wait

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank RaleighNCMomToTwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Filling Station Deli Sub Shop also viewed

Bryson City, North Carolina Mountains
Bryson City, North Carolina Mountains
 
Bryson City, North Carolina Mountains
Bryson City, North Carolina Mountains
 
Bryson City, North Carolina Mountains
Bryson City, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to The Filling Station Deli Sub Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing