We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hemlock Inn
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Sleep Inn Bryson City - Cherokee Area(Bryson City)(Great Value!)
$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$68
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Relax Inn(Bryson City)(Great Value!)
$53
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Riverbend Lodging(Bryson City)(Great Value!)
$74
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lloyds on the River Country Inn(Bryson City)(Great Value!)
$69
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rosewood Inn(Bryson City)(Great Value!)
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$49
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Two Rivers Lodge(Bryson City)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lakeview at Fontana(Bryson City)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (150)
Filter reviews
150 results
Traveler rating
110
23
8
6
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
110
23
8
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfamily styleping ponglazy susandeep creekshuffle boardhome cookingred rockersiced tea or lemonadecook bookmeal timeswi fi is availablecheese gritsfamily reunionfellow guestscorn holeson in lawmade from scratch
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
57 - 62 of 150 reviews
Reviewed August 25, 2013

This is the second year that we have had our Choir Retreat at the Hemlock Inn, it is without doubt, my favorite part of God's creation, and most definitely my favorite place to sing, to sit on the back porch and look out over the mountains while singing God's praise is one of the greatest joys in my life! Then, there's the food...I went on a cruise this past summer, and I am here to tell you now, that the food at the Hemlock Inn beats any cruise ship food. If you're on a diet you just need to set that aside at the driveway, because you won't be needing it. Mort and Lainey are the BEST hosts anywhere; dinner conversation is so much fun! It is just the best place ever to run away to.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darinda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Bryson City is located a few miles down the road from the uber tacky Cherokee, NC--a gateway to Great Smoky Mountain National Park. If you are looking to enjoy the beautiful scenery and many outdoor activities in this area, it would behoove you to steer clear of Cherokee and stay in a charming spot such as the Hemlock Inn. It is not fancy, but quite comfortable (no TVs except in the TV room--yay!!). We made good use of the small screened-in porch attached to our room. Meals, served family style, are included, making this an excellent value. Guests gather in the dining room, say grace, then share a copious meal (no alcohol served). After dinner, our children were entertained by the ping pong table, shuffleboard court, abundant rockers, and porch swings. The staff is very gracious and welcoming, and guests do tend to mingle and chat over the meals, which is nice. The Hemlock Inn gets many repeat customers, some of whom have been going there for years.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KLFVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We have been going to the Hemlock Inn for 20 years this month. It is not a "luxury hotel" in the strictest sense, but is comfortable, affordable with outstanding food served family-style at large tables with lazy susan's to distribute it. It is quiet with good conversation from the many return guests and it has outstanding Smokey Mountain views, best viewed from the rocking chairs on the deck. There are numerous activities in the area such as whitewater rafting, tubing on intertubes on Deep Creek, excursion train riding, shopping in Bryson City, hiking in the Smokey Mtn. National Park, etc. At the inn, there is one TV in the TV room (which no one uses) and there are no telephones in the rooms (but there is wireless internet in the main lodge area, if you really have to use it). Some of the negative comments on Trip Advisor talk about it being a "Christian" Inn. Don't let the label turn you away! Grace is said before each meal and alcohol is allowed, but not encouraged in the public areas. There are a lot of families here, enjoying one of the numerous games available such as shuffleboard, ping pong, skittles, cards, and puzzles. Alcohol is not forbidden, just consumed discretely. If you want a party atmosphere, this is not the place. If you want a wholesome, family-friendly vacation, this is it.

Room Tip: Our favorites are the porch rooms, which have a small screened porch on the back with a table, chairs and refrigerator for the boiled peanuts we always locate in the area!
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Swen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

There is a ton to do around Bryson City, NC. Whitewater rafting at the Nantahala, hiking in the Smokies, tubing Deep Creek, etc. After at day high intensity outdoor stuff, you want the comfort and convenience of a terrific Inn to "come home to".
Relax on the porch with a view of the NC mountains. Or if you want to play, they have every outdoor game they have plenty to choose from. Maybe you just want to read in a quiet place. Accommodations include an incredible breakfast, family style. This place is minutes from Deep Creek and Bryson City. Why stay in a chain hotel when you can enjoy an experience that you will likely remember way better. We took in an awesome bluegrass concert at the Stecoah Valley Art Center. Lots to do if you like the Appalachain mountatins.

Room Tip: Arrange for a dinner at the inn during your stay
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

I just returned from several days at Hemlock Inn. We have been going there every summer about 15 years. There are lots of things to do, from hiking in the Great Smoky Mountain Park, tubing on deep creek, casino gambling in Cherokee, or rafting on the Nantahala River, a short distance away. The food is always good. A big breakfast and dinner is included, and no one goes hungry.This is one of my favorite places.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Graham T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews