We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quick Stop”

Nantahala Outdoor Center
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Nantahala Outdoor Center is one of the nation’s largest outdoor recreation companies. Over a million guests visit NOC annually to embark on a diverse collection of more than 120 different whitewater rafting and land-based itineraries. Learn to kayak at NOC’s world-renowned Paddling School, soar through the trees on NOC's multiple zip lines, travel to foreign countries with NOC’s Adventure Travel program, test the latest outdoor gear and shop at our three LEED-certified flagship retail stores or enjoy NOC’s resort amenities such as our three restaurants and multi-tiered lodging. Why do more people choose NOC than any other whitewater outfitter in the world? It's because of our experience, unparalleled in the industry. 22 Olympians, including two Gold Medalists, have called NOC home. NOC has been recognized by The New York Times as the “Nation's Premiere Paddling School,” “The Best Place to Learn” by Outside, and as “One of the Best Outfitters on Earth” by National Geographic ADVENTURE. Trust NOC to provide you with the outdoor experience of your lifetime.
Level Contributor
258 reviews
71 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
“Quick Stop”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

The train stops here for an hour. We ate a Slow Joe's Shack. The food was over priced and not very good. The restaurant has outdoor seating only and we were bothered by tons of yellow jackets. They hovered everywhere. They have a nicer sit down restaurant across the river. I would recommend trying that place out instead. They do have a nice general store. There is also a place where kids can wade in the river. It is nice and sandy and the current is not too bad.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

781 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    639
    97
    23
    13
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
57 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Okay shop”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

You will be in and out in15 minutes. The tain trip stops here and then they head back the same way they came. Tourist trap. Save you time and money. It's a place to,stop, feed some ducks, take a picture on the bridge and water and stretch your legs.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Anniefg111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Our vacation headquarters”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We picked our Bryson vacation rental specifically to be near NOC. We spent one day rafting there, another kayaking. We also spent our afternoons playing cards and drinking local beer at their riverside cafe.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank DianeTK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
108 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Worth a Look”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Stopped here for one hour during a ride on the Great Smoky Mountain Rail-road in Sept 2012.

While we were there we watched a number of people kayaking through the rapids, which is interesting to see. There is also some nice reasonable priced snack bars to eat and drink, or shops to buy keepsakes and other small items.

It drizzled with rain all the time that we were there but it wasn't the end of the world, and there is plenty of cover available inside the snack bars and restaurants.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Matt W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butler, Alabama
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice hold over on the GSMR and scenic.”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We had an hour lay over here while traveling on the Great Smoky Mountain Railway. Very scenic and it offers restrooms, gift shops, offers rafting and a couple of restaurants.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank jkkearley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nantahala Outdoor Center also viewed

 
Bryson City, North Carolina Mountains
Bryson City, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Nantahala Outdoor Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing