We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a Look”

Nantahala Outdoor Center
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Nantahala Outdoor Center is one of the nation’s largest outdoor recreation companies. Over a million guests visit NOC annually to embark on a diverse collection of more than 120 different whitewater rafting and land-based itineraries. Learn to kayak at NOC’s world-renowned Paddling School, soar through the trees on NOC's multiple zip lines, travel to foreign countries with NOC’s Adventure Travel program, test the latest outdoor gear and shop at our three LEED-certified flagship retail stores or enjoy NOC’s resort amenities such as our three restaurants and multi-tiered lodging. Why do more people choose NOC than any other whitewater outfitter in the world? It's because of our experience, unparalleled in the industry. 22 Olympians, including two Gold Medalists, have called NOC home. NOC has been recognized by The New York Times as the “Nation's Premiere Paddling School,” “The Best Place to Learn” by Outside, and as “One of the Best Outfitters on Earth” by National Geographic ADVENTURE. Trust NOC to provide you with the outdoor experience of your lifetime.
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Worth a Look”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Stopped here for one hour during a ride on the Great Smoky Mountain Rail-road in Sept 2012.

While we were there we watched a number of people kayaking through the rapids, which is interesting to see. There is also some nice reasonable priced snack bars to eat and drink, or shops to buy keepsakes and other small items.

It drizzled with rain all the time that we were there but it wasn't the end of the world, and there is plenty of cover available inside the snack bars and restaurants.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Matt W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

841 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    695
    100
    24
    13
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Butler, Alabama
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice hold over on the GSMR and scenic.”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We had an hour lay over here while traveling on the Great Smoky Mountain Railway. Very scenic and it offers restrooms, gift shops, offers rafting and a couple of restaurants.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank jkkearley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montague, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The gold standard - still”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

NOC's focus seems to be shifting towards a broader audience than those in the niche sport that made them famous - whitewater paddling instruction. But they still offer some of the best instruction available, and have more resources for instruction and rentals than most anyone in the country (at least the eastern half). They live and breathe customer service. So you can expect alot from them, and they'll deliver it. I always have a good time there, and no complaints to speak of.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ROGER S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great first time rafting experience”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

It's my first time rafting and I enjoyed it very much. Our captain is very experienced and very nice to everyone in our trip. The service is excellent.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank FallLeaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mays Landing, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“White Water Rafting”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

This is the second time we have rated the Nantahala. It is a great beginners river where you can either take a guide or self guide. We chose self guide. Great ride with one Class III rapid very nice scenery. Would definitely recommend this trip to a family or first timer. All equipment and instruction is provided.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Warren75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nantahala Outdoor Center also viewed

 
Bryson City, North Carolina Mountains
Bryson City, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Nantahala Outdoor Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing