We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well Done”

Nantahala Outdoor Center
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Nantahala Outdoor Center is one of the nation’s largest outdoor recreation companies. Over a million guests visit NOC annually to embark on a diverse collection of more than 120 different whitewater rafting and land-based itineraries. Learn to kayak at NOC’s world-renowned Paddling School, soar through the trees on NOC's multiple zip lines, travel to foreign countries with NOC’s Adventure Travel program, test the latest outdoor gear and shop at our three LEED-certified flagship retail stores or enjoy NOC’s resort amenities such as our three restaurants and multi-tiered lodging. Why do more people choose NOC than any other whitewater outfitter in the world? It's because of our experience, unparalleled in the industry. 22 Olympians, including two Gold Medalists, have called NOC home. NOC has been recognized by The New York Times as the “Nation's Premiere Paddling School,” “The Best Place to Learn” by Outside, and as “One of the Best Outfitters on Earth” by National Geographic ADVENTURE. Trust NOC to provide you with the outdoor experience of your lifetime.
Dawsonville, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Well Done”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Very nice way to enjoy the river and scenery with plenty of amenities for folks who want them. Restaurants, shops, zip line, raft/kayaking, nice hour or afternoon.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

867 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    715
    106
    24
    13
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Mobile, Alabama
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fun!”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

I had a blast hiking and rafting at NOC. The staff was really friendly and our guide was hilarious! If you're in the area, I definitely recommend it. The sweet potato pancakes at Rivers End were delicious as well!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
“Weekend Retreat and White Water Rafting”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Our group had a wonderful weekend experience. The cabins were more than adequate for our needs, and the other facilities were ideal for our meals and meeting times. Perhaps the highlight of our time together was white water rafting. The guides were very professional and knowledgeable (thanks Evelyn!). If anyone is planning a similar trip, the NOC is best in the area.
Bill Eavenson
Kairos Church
Atlanta, GA

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank William E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Exciting, memorable”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We are senior citizens and loved the challenge of whitewater rafting. Our rafting guides, Jimmy and Rob were excellent. The first day we watched the 2012 Free Style Kayaking. We shopped in the outfitter store and stayed in the cabins. Memories are priceless.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, NC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Yoo-hoo!”
Reviewed September 20, 2012

What a charming place for river lovers. This is a professionally-run and friendly whitewater rafting company, from the safety instructions & video, to the experienced raft guides. We got Jesse, who is a real character. He enhanced our rafting experience while keeping us safe and making us laugh. Even in mid-September, the water was not too cold. I was wearing just a swimsuit & shorts, and I rolled up (as instructed) a lightweight splash jacket to carry with me under my floatation device, which I did put on half-way through the trip. All 3 of us had a blast.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank highmaint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nantahala Outdoor Center also viewed

Bryson City, North Carolina Mountains
 
Bryson City, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Nantahala Outdoor Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing