We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Something fun & different”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bryson City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Falling Waters Adventure Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 5, 2014

We took a road trip to NC & stayed in the yurts! It was fun...& different. We went in August & during the day with the heat beating onto the yurt all day, we couldn't even stay inside for more than a few minutes. We found plenty of fun stuff to do in the area. They cool off well at night. Comfy bed & futon inside. Cute. We read that in the colder months the people freeze at night. So going in a perfect temp month (whenever that may be!) would be best. We stayed in the gorge view yurt & it is a hike from the bathrooms. Not really an issue if you don't mind doing numerous stairs & don't have to use the washroom numerous times in the middle of the night!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank k10kastner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (84)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 84 reviews

Reviewed May 15, 2013

This was our third trip and everything was completely to our expectations. Jenia and I had her parents here fro Moscow, Russia and the experience was completely to our needs.

We discovered the Yurt Village by "flying" over it on an earlier Canopy Tour...this is the most relaxing was to enjoy nature's resources. These units are like wigwam/tent/cabin with a small fridge, coffeemaker, etc., small heater and everything you need for a nature visit.

You share a common bath house which is totally clean and kept everyday along with a large jacuzzi, with extra towels, toiletries, etc..

Thanks to Cindy and Raimey for their hard work at making the creature comforts happen...and to Lee-Bob with his indescribable motor bike... This guy makes it all happen and knows all the local info to make your stay comfortable.

Please come to the "Falling Waters Adventure Resort", the Yurts....it's all there, waterfalls, lakes, nature at it's very best !!!

Room Tip: Stay high in number 7 or 8 or on the lake #1 or #6
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here because we were going to be hiking in the National Park. If you're looking for something super close to Great Smokey Mt., this isn't it. With that said, I would ABSOLUTELY stay here again. The yurt was clean and had a comfy queen sized bed, a futon, a coffee maker, and a fridge inside. The bathrooms weren't very far away and were well maintained, private, and clean. There was even a hot tub to relax in at night. I also enjoyed the short hike down to the waterfall. All linens were provided and there was a dish washing sink and a laundry room. My only complaint was the lack of a heater. It was FREEZING! If it would have been summer, it wouldn't have been a problem.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SamanthaDixon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

I love backpacking, but it's nice to stay in a hybrid Yurt! We didn't do Whitewater Rafting, but simply wanted to stay at the Yurt during an Asheville excursion. It was beautiful and remote, we followed the directions given, so it was pretty easy to find, but arrive before sunset! We had a lovely cabin, the one overlooking a waterfall (the waterfall was a trickle while we were there, but still). It's a lovely view, a great balcony, the yurt was very well maintained, only a short walk to actual bathrooms, so is a nice stop that's slightly more luxurious among your journey! I loved it, communication was great, easy to find my key, felt totally safe! Would definitely recommend for a group experience (renting them all out would be awesome), or a romantic retreat.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alicia Marie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Just returned from a girls’ trip to Falling Waters resort. We are not at all the camping type, so this “glamping” experience was right up our alley. The images of the yurts are pretty accurate, but we could not see the shared bathroom facilities before arrival. I was definitely skeptical (shared bathroom in the woods has “gross” written all over it!), but they were totally fine. There are four individual baths with a sink, toilet, and stand up shower – not that different than what you’d find at a friend’s house. There is the occasional critter (it is outdoors after all, and the doors open directly to the outside – no hallways). However, it was much cleaner/better than I thought it would be. In fact, after a long and HOT day, I ended up spending more time in there enjoying a shower than I thought I would. ☺ I would, of course, recommend shower shoes for this or any other shared bathroom facility.

We had yurts 4/5/6. Depending on what you’re looking for, I’d recommend #4 and #3 (haven’t seen inside) because they are closest to the shared bathroom and also have grills/campfire sites that are more private and seem to be sort of set aside for those yurts. If you’re going with a larger group, the more shared sites may be fine. I’m not sure of the occupancy rate while we were there. We saw other people, but there wasn’t a battle for resources (grills/bathrooms), so you’d probably be fine wherever you ended up. We agreed that we wouldn’t really like the yurts near the waterfall (#7/8?) because they were a little more off the beaten path, too far from the bathroom, etc. Better for privacy, I guess, but the two yurts are still close to each other (and sound carries through the yurt walls…), so not sure if either is particularly “private” if both are occupied during your stay.

We brought most of our food for the overnight stay along with us, but there is a nice, newish, and very well stocked grocery store nearby (Ingles). We had some vegetarians/vegans in the group, so I wouldn’t rely on it for specialty vegan items, but they definitely have all the standard stuff you’d need.

As others have mentioned, it is hard to find the yurts, but you’ll figure it out. The address leads you to the whitewater center which is down and across the street from the yurt entrance. We pulled in and asked a lady how to get to the yurts and she told us that we could go back down the road, turn on the gravel road, and it would be “right down the holler”. We’re all from NC, but still got a chuckle trying to figure out what the heck a “holler” is. ☺ We went back down the holler and found it eventually (there are a few forks in the road, but you’ll figure out quickly that you made a wrong turn)…but then couldn’t figure out where the mailbox was for the keys. I called the manager who I’d spoken with before to ask about an earlier check-in and she advised that the keys were back at the whitewater center. So, we made our way back there and the lady we’d spoken with before pointed us in the right direction. I jokingly asked her why she didn’t tell us about the keys before and she responded, “Well, you didn’t ask!” Ask and ye shall receive, they say, right? ☺ I chuckled, grabbed the keys, and we started our yurt adventure.

There is a waterfall nearby that we went to explore…and somehow one person in the group ended up dropping her cell phone in the stream. We figured it was gone forever, but we ended up talking to someone at the whitewater center later that day who volunteered to come and see if he could find it – and he did! We’re still waiting for it to dry out to see if it works though. ☺ Anyway, overall, everyone we encountered there was very helpful.

Depending on where you’re from, I’d suggest stopping in Asheville on the way out (or on the way in, I guess). Great town to explore. We stopped there and had lunch at the famous Tupelo Honey Café and we just happened to be there during Asheville’s big Bele Chere festival. So, that was a fun add-on to our glamping adventure.

Definitely recommend Falling Waters for anyone who wants to get back to nature…but not THAT much. Ha, ha!

Room Tip: Suggest #3 or #4 - closest to the bathroom facilities...also more shade if you go in the summer -- t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Goheels98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We stayed here with a group of 19, and we had a great time! It wasn't the easiest place to find, but we figured it out. I would definitely recommend more signs. The yurts were very nice and had everything that we needed. They had a nice shelter that we used for our group gathering time, and the bathrooms were very clean. They were also stocked with towels, rags, and toiletries in case you left yours behind. The area was pitch black at night so the flashlights provided in our yurts came in handy. Each yurt had a grill and patio furniture which was a very nice addition. There were also plenty of firepits that we used to make s'mores. Overall, our stay was fantastic, and I would highly recommend this place!

Room Tip: Yurts #7 & #8 are off by themselves near the waterfall, but a distance from the bathrooms. Yurts...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Smith_Family2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2012

The group lodge is perfect for a "no worry" get away with family and friends. Hike, talk, eat, take the canopy tour, visit local sites and cities. Pure FUN!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linthead69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bryson City hotels
8.8 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Bryson City
8.4 mi away
Sleep Inn Bryson City - Cherokee Area
0.7 mi away
Nantahala Village
Nantahala Village
#9 of 23 in Bryson City
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Nantahala Cabins
Nantahala Cabins
#5 of 23 in Bryson City
47 reviews
9.9 mi away
Folkestone Inn
Folkestone Inn
#1 of 10 in Bryson City
262 reviews
3.2 mi away
Lakeview at Fontana
Lakeview at Fontana
#2 of 10 in Bryson City
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Falling Waters Adventure Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Falling Waters Adventure Resort

Address: 10320 US Hwy. 74 West, Bryson City, NC 28713
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Bryson City
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Bryson City
Price Range: $39 - $81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glamping at its best, luxurious camping in a wooded setting. Eight Yurt Cabins furnished with queen beds and futons, all linens, mini-refrigerators, coffee makers, charcoal grills, ceiling fans, and wrap-around decks. Featured in National Geographic Adventure, Good Morning America, Atlanta Journal Constitution. Shared but private bathrooms, rafting and zipline canopy tour packages, area hiking, boating, horseback riding, motorcycling and more activities available. Group Lodge available for groups up to 44; bunk bed style with shower in each room. Private Group Campsite available with raised tent platforms, kitchen, charcoal grill, fire ring, covered porch, men's and women's bathrooms. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Falling Waters Adventure Hotel Bryson City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing