We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, price is right, but don't leave anything behind...”
Review of Sunset Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sunset Motel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Brevard
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed May 3, 2013

This little place should do well. It is definitely a no frills (bring your own shampoo, blow dryer, etc), but the price is right, it is cute, and clean. My only complaint is that I left my pillow there, called and was assured they would send it to me (at my expense), it didn't arrive, so next call I reached the owner, who again assured me the pillow would be sent. Unfortunately, it was never sent, which was disappointing.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank roamnbears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorileigh63, Owner at Sunset Motel, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2013

I immediately contacted this guest to let her know that her pillow had been sent via UPS the day she and I spoke. I've asked her to look on her credit card bill to tell me when UPS charged it so we can start the tracking process. I've also let her know that we do in fact offer shampoo and blow dryers (+ a host of other items) are available upon request.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (355)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

292 - 298 of 355 reviews

Reviewed May 2, 2013

On a recent visit to Brevard, we arrived in pouring rain - sought help from the visitor's center (amazing place and people), and ended up checking into the Sunset Motel.

Our room was cleverly decorated, VERY comfortable - and the price was absolutely right. To show the level of care - we had just entered the first room when the staff suggested we move. There was a puppy in the room next to us and they were worried we might be bothered.

So, we moved and slept peacefully in our magical room!! Great to see an innovative rennovation and a great management team!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bevfromcolorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorileigh63, Owner at Sunset Motel, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2013

Wow! We are much appreciative of your accolades. You described your room as "magical" and we are so pleased you feel that way. Thank you so much for your complimentary review! Lori

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

My daughter and I stayed here for a couple of nights in March. The owners and staff (especially Glenda) were amazing, laid back and so helpful. They let my daughter use their printer, spent time giving her tips to help her with her job search in Asheville, let me leave my car there overnight when we stayed with friends for a night, and were overall very accommodating. The rooms were comfortable, clean and I loved the retro renovation. We will stay here again most definitely!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jill T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorileigh63, Owner at Sunset Motel, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2013

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay. Glenda said to tell you that you are most welcome. We look forward to seeing you again. Lori

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

My buddy and reserved two rooms for a mtb trip to Brevard. Really clean rooms and very friendly staff. They are very bike saavy including a bike wash. Will be back in June and will stay at the Sunset Motel

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mtbmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorileigh63, Owner at Sunset Motel, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2013

Thank you very much for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you again in June! Lori

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We loved this place. It's an older motel that has been re-done so the rooms are small but they have a great deal of character and are decorated in a cute way. Our bed was comfortable and as other reviews have stated, they are bike friendly. We were in Brevard so my husband could mountain bike and it was the perfect place to stay. Easy walk into the heart of Brevard for shopping and dinner. Price is very reasonable, free internet, cable. The management and people who work there are very nice. Great place!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelprof57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorileigh63, Owner at Sunset Motel, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Thank you so much for your review. We are glad you found everything to your pleasing. We are adding new ideas all the time and hope to see you in the future. People who stop and take the time to write reviews make all the difference to my business and I truly appreciate your time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Stayed at the Sunset while doing some photography in the area. Staff was excellent, very friendly and helpful. Room was as advertised, clean and comfy and a good value for the $. Planning a return trip to Brevard in the fall and will reserve here again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kenneth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunsetOwner, Owner at Sunset Motel, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2013

Thank you very much for your praising review! I remember you and hope to see you 2 in the near future! P.S. We are going to start serving a free Continental breakfast every Saturday from May-Oct.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We love this place :-) Bike friendly, low key, and all the retro nostalgia you could ask for! We stumbled upon it years ago and have returned every time we visit the area. Staff is always accommodating and friendly, make you feel at home. It is literally like taking a step back in time, you know, when people smiled and actually cared how you felt while traveling....

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yogini1a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorileigh63, Owner at Sunset Motel, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Thank you so much for your kind words! Lori

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brevard
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Brevard
4.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Brevard
Hampton Inn Brevard
#1 of 2 in Pisgah Forest
641 reviews
17.5 mi away
Highland Lake Inn & Resort Hendersonville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.9 mi away
Mountain Inn & Suites Airport
Mountain Inn & Suites Airport
#4 of 11 in Hendersonville
253 reviews
18.4 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#8 of 11 in Hendersonville
76 reviews
17.0 mi away
CedarWood Inn
CedarWood Inn
#2 of 11 in Hendersonville
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Motel

Address: 523 S Broad St, at the intersection of Hwy 64, Brevard, NC 28712-4044
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Brevard
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Brevard
Price Range: $76 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sunset Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sunset Motel is a hip, unique and affordable 50's roadside motor court that has been lovingly "retrovated" with modern amenities (Wifi,mini fridge,microwave,coffee maker,blow dryer,flat-screen TV,HBO,Cable). We are always improving! Our little blast-from-the-past is centrally located between DuPont & Pisgah Forests and within walking distance to Brevard's picturesque downtown. Each room is unique and all but one are on ground-level, 5 with kitchens/kitchenettes. Lounge about on our patio in vintage chairs and strike up a conversation with other guests over a glass of your fave libation. We offer the best of Southern hospitality. Come as our guest. Leave as our friend! (Designated pet rooms available and we are 100% smoke free inside and out.) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Sunset Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing