We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not quite home, but close.”
Review of Sunset Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sunset Motel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Brevard
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed September 24, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at the Sunset Motel. We stayed in the "apartment" above the motel office. It has a kitchen, dining area as well as a full bathroom and bedroom. It was everything we needed. We were able to cook in our room and save even more money. We had all the conveniences of home.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stlighthouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (339)
There are newer reviews for Sunset Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

298 - 304 of 339 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2012

My husband and I stayed in Gatlinburg & Cherokee for our anniversary, which was our plan from the beginning.. I work for Marriott but was not satisfied with my stay at the franchised hotel I booked reservations with. We ended up in Brevard, Nc, after hiking to waterfalls for hours... We came across a small motel and it was our winner!! We loved it. The theme was great, and the owner was just amazing! Will definately come back- thank you for making our trip!

Room Tip: Bring a blow dryer ladies! :)
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amber B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunsetOwner, Owner at Sunset Motel, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2012

Thank you so much for your awesome review! We thank you for taking the time to write and appreciate all your kind words!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

The motel is located very closed to download and easy to find. We had three rooms and two of them (#11 and #12) were OK, not (#10). I saw they showed the new renovation rooms and order online but ending up they were filled up already. So the office manager emailed me and switch us to 3 rooms instead of two bed rooms and gave us free roll-away bed. With Brevard area that price, it was fair.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dxp0105a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

We stayed at the Sunset when we picked up our child from camp. Motel is very clean, staff is friendly and helpful with recommendations for local eats and things to do. Good mix of folks - several families as well as hikers staying there. Would definitely stay there again. Noticed another review saying no continental breakfast, but who needs it when there are great local bakeries just up the block?

Room Tip: We had a double queen room, #16, very nice!
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mardot213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We rolled into Brevard in the early evening on a whim. Looked up motels on my GPS and decided to take a look at the Sunset as it was the closest. From the moment we drove up we loved it. The rooms have been renovated and are kept immaculately clean. The room was painted in nice colors and the bed covers and pillows were chosen to match - a real nice change from the antiseptic white of most places. The room was well appointed with two beds, a flat screen TV, cable box, microwave, coffee maker and mini fridge. The bathroom had also been renovated and was spotless.
This is a place where the owners really took some time, care and money to fix the place up and keep it nice. The front office is very retro with the walls covered in old vinyl records, and a retro styled microwave to match. A nice touch is the whimsical room guide with notes on where to go, what to do and places to eat. I assume we met the owner when we checked in. She was really nice, pleasant and helpful. Plus we had a fun conversation about cats as we were both cat lovers.
Brevard is a great little town with some great shopping and is a great jumping off point for the Pigsah Forest, Dupont Forest and a host of other local attractions. I will definitely be visiting again, and when I do, it will be the Sunset Motel where I will stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DocGeni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

This motel is good, clean, comfortable and well run - the details of the room furniture are cute, but the most important thing is that the owners seem to care about the place. The rates are very reasonable and I wouldn't hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NewportUKfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Stayed here with 3 grandchildren for one night. Room was more spacious than most of the chains and was clean. Beds were fairly comfortable and the bed coverings were cute. Bathroom was clean. Small 50s motel with no amenities. Very nice manager and fun hotel office with walls covered in old vinyl records. Convenient to downtown Brevard. Would not stay here for an extended period because the grandchildren enjoy having a pool and a complimentary breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Norma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brevard
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Brevard
4.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Brevard
Hampton Inn Brevard
#1 of 2 in Pisgah Forest
618 reviews
17.0 mi away
CedarWood Inn
CedarWood Inn
#4 of 11 in Hendersonville
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.5 mi away
Highland Lake Inn & Resort Hendersonville
17.9 mi away
Mountain Inn & Suites Airport
Mountain Inn & Suites Airport
#3 of 11 in Hendersonville
246 reviews
19.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Cashiers-Sapphire Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Motel

Address: 523 S Broad St, Brevard, NC 28712-4044
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Brevard
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Brevard
Price Range: $80 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sunset Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sunset Motel is a hip, unique and affordable 50's roadside motor court that has been lovingly "retrovated" with modern amenities (Wifi,mini fridge,microwave,coffee maker,blow dryer,flat-screen TV,HBO,Cable). We are always improving! Our little blast-from-the-past is centrally located between DuPont & Pisgah Forests and within walking distance to downtown. Each room is unique and all but one are on ground-level, 2 with kitchens, 3 with kitchenettes.Lounge about on our patio in vintage chairs and strike up a conversation with other guests over a glass of your fave libation. We offer the best of Southern hospitality. Come as our guest. Leave as our friend! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sunset Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing