We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always Tops off our Harley Ride to Brevard!!!!!!”
Review of The Square Root

The Square Root
Ranked #2 of 69 Restaurants in Brevard
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Located in a beautifully restored historic building...down a quiet alley in the heart of Downtown Brevard, The Square Root Restaurant is as well known for its architectural and artistic decor as it is for its fabulous food. Whether you're hoping to enjoy the ambiance of our indoor dining room, our locally crafted wood bar top, or the fresh breezes of our covered outdoor patio - there is room for everyone. Our atmosphere is inviting for romantic evenings, cocktails with friends, and family gatherings. We pride ourselves on serving locally roasted coffee from The Brown Bean, and we offer several local brews on tap and by the bottle. Menu choices include options to please the young and the old, the adventurous and the picky eaters, and anyone who enjoys delicious fresh food at reasonable prices. We also offer a full bar with extensive wine and cocktail choices.
Greenville, South Carolina, United States
1 review
“Always Tops off our Harley Ride to Brevard!!!!!!”
Reviewed November 23, 2012

We take a trip to Brevard on our bike every now and then, with one of our main goals to eat at The Square Root! Great way to top off a great bike ride, with a great meal. Everything we have ever eaten here has been great, with superb service to boot. We will surely be back!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sedina Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

803 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    481
    204
    69
    29
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Carolina
Level Contributor
175 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Great place! Great people! Great food!”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

What more can I say? Well, I'll have to say a little more. We were doing an overnight stay in Brevard at the Sunset Motel...which I also rated, while on our way to Tennessee. I had read the reviews on Tripadvisor so I wanted to try this place out. The decor is to die for, every staff member was friendly and attentive even though the place was filling up fast, we were treated like kings, THANKS NIKI!, and the food was superb. They also make great martini's! Since we were smart enough to stay at the Sunset, we were only a minute from the restaurant. We were seated immediately and the varity on the menu was great. Deb had the special which was a pork tenderloin stew. It was to die for. I had the pork belly. It also was to die for. I would like to run the menu some day so this could guarentee many returns to Brevard...which we love. I was shocked at the total on the bill which was under $90 especially considering the drinks we had. In Beaufort this would have easily been over $100. We are born and raised Southerners and the Southern cuisine was excellent. Thank you so much Square Root. "I shall return".

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CarolinaParatrooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flat Rock, North Carolina
Level Contributor
174 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Hendersonville location”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Three of us had dinner reservations here. Many tempting items on the menu. We each had something different. The trout was reported as excellent. The chicken curry was only mediocre with more potatoes than chicken and not much taste. The London broil steak sandwich was delicious, but nothing special about the French fries. It is newly opened in Hendersonville, and the biggest problem of all is the noise level. We couldn't hear each other talk at the table, nor could we hear the waitress describe the specials. Probably won't return because of the noise, unless they can do something about that.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nic60760
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding food and service!”
Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

The Brie appetizer is to die for. The Hanger Steak with roasted potatoes just melts in your mouth. Tiramisu desert was the perfect finish to this wonderful meal. Highly recommend.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rosaher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
413 reviews
213 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Great food, hard to talk... Very noisy”
Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

The restaurant is located in the alley way. The food was good American cuisine. The restaurant was hopping, just a little to noisy for our taste.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travelalot724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Square Root also viewed

Brevard, North Carolina Mountains
Brevard, North Carolina Mountains
 
Brevard, North Carolina Mountains
Brevard, North Carolina Mountains
 
Brevard, North Carolina Mountains
Brevard, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to The Square Root? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing