We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful experience; the cabin and grounds are...”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
30 reviews
master bedroom
View from porch
Pasture
View from cabin's covered porch
Property entrance
Summer view of the Main House
Winter view of cabin
Otis, the watch dog & Tommy, the watch cat
Cafe Das Arcas, a lusitano stallion & Ilse
Faustino & Smoky Joe
Izara & her mom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Brevard, North Carolina

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Rosie L
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
“Wonderful experience; the cabin and grounds are beautiful and Ilse goes above and beyond to make your stay memorable.”
Reviewed February 19, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Cabin was wonderful; clean; well stocked with the items that you need on vacation. Loved the antique furniture. Loved the stove. Loved the horses and Otis and Tommy. Loved Ilse the most. She goes above and beyond to make her guests feel at home. Loved the waterfalls on properties and in nearby Brevard/Sapphire. NC is beautiful. Many thanks for providing us a warm, comfortable place to relax and re-connect.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Ilse, horses, waterfall on property; antiques in cabin, beautiful wood in cabin, heater; plenty of hot water
Liked least: The Cataloochee ske resort was crowded and poorly organized
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TJ_Kahuna
Stokesdale, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Exactly what we wanted and more”
Reviewed October 31, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

This was our first family vacation to the Smokies and we wanted to enjoy the quiet beauty of the area in a somewhat isolated setting while having someplace comfortable and convenient to the small towns in the area. WOW...did we hit the jackpot with this place! The cabin is very clean, the fixtures and provisions are excellent, extremely comfortable bed/furniture, and the location idea. All of the appliances are crystal clean and new, plenty of dishes and utensils, and the wooden floors/walls add to the ambiance. It was perfect for us.

We arrived late (8.30PM) and in the dark. Our first experience was Otis (the mastiff) rushing to us, sounding off as he ran. But we could tell it was a "welcome" sound, not something to be frightened or worried about. He was the perfect welcoming committee. In fact, our 17 YO daughter fell in love with all of the animals, totally enjoying being around them and allowed to spend time helping Ilse work and groom the horses during the stay.

It's a picturesque place that's set between several hills. It's close enough the Brevard (20 minutes) and Hendersonville (45 minutes) for shopping but isolated enough to spend a day driving around the mountains and soaking up the natural beauty of the landscape. The hostess (Ilse) was incredible; she was present enough to make us feel comfortable (ask her to bake some of her cookies!) but not at all intrusive.

So we had more than a vacation; we made a new friend. And we're already planning our next visit. WE WILL BE BACK!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The inside of the cabin was like a luxury hotel
Liked least: That we couldn't stay longer
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris H
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
1 review
“You will be tempted to keep it a secret...”
Reviewed October 19, 2015 for a stay in August 2014

This is certainly of the best places to stay in the Brevard area with a hostess that simply can’t be beat. The setting is beautiful, and located within minutes of waterfalls, hiking trails and one of the newest parks in the area (Gorges). Brevard is a very short drive and has everything you might need, including shops, restaurants and the famous Oskar Blues Brewery. All of this would be enough on its own but I feel that Ilse (the owner) merits a special mention. I booked a romantic weekend in advance. A week before our arrival date I learned that an emergency surgery involving my mother would prevent us from going. Ilse was MORE than understanding. She worked with me and her booking service to refund our costs and sent a very kind note reassuring us that it was no trouble. A few days later we learned that the surgery had been moved out by a few weeks and we could still make the trip. Ilse handled setting up our original booking for us and we spent a great weekend visiting around 10 waterfalls and getting to meet Ilse, Otis and her horses. If you are looking for place to call home for a few days then I can’t recommend this property and the hostess enough. The fresh baked treats are icing on the cake!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hostess and her dog Otis
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SharonWL
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
“We departed this morning and already miss it!”
Reviewed October 9, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Great experience and can't wait to return! The property and surrounding area are beautiful and there are so many trails to hike, waterfalls to visit, stores to shop, restaurants to try and the list goes on. Ilse is a great hostess and has the cabin stocked with everything you would find at a hotel and more. She spoils you with home baked goodies (yum!) and fresh flowers. Otis and Tommy are sweeties and just love to be loved. After a busy day exploring the area it's relaxing to look out one of the many large windows and see the horses grazing in the pastures. An extra special treat was opening the windows (no allergy problems here!) and hearing the creek splashing nearby. We just left this morning and miss it already!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: We liked it all!
Liked least: No dislikes.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allan W
1 review
“Great stay”
Reviewed September 10, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Ilse treated us very well (like family) and the property is beautiful. Great relaxing weekend!

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianfry...
1 review
“Great mountain getaway”
Reviewed August 19, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

The owner made the stay delightful. She treated us well by answering questions, baking goodies for us, and showing us the barn and horses. The setting is a "must see" to believe how nice it is. The accomodations are beautiful. We anticipate returning.

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thetompki...
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great home away from home”
Reviewed July 6, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
2
people found this review helpful

This was our second stay on this property for many reasons...beautiful views, comfortable accommodations, gracious hostess, centrally located for all our exploits, reasonable rates, and the list goes on. We are looking forward to our 3rd stay at this Private Equestrian Estate.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location, location, location
Liked least: leaving
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing