We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ash Grove Mountain Cabins & Camping
Nearby Hotels
$126
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$163
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hampton Inn Brevard(Pisgah Forest)(Great Value!)
$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pisgah View Ranch(Candler)(Great Value!)
$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
CedarWood Inn(Hendersonville)(Great Value!)
$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$159
$143
Official Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mountain Inn & Suites Airport(Hendersonville)(Great Value!)
$109
$98
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$72
$68
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairfield Inn Asheville Airport(Fletcher)(Great Value!)
$109
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (152)
Filter reviews
152 results
Traveler rating
133
9
3
3
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
133
9
3
3
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbath housebedroom cabintent sitesponderosa pinesdupont state forestfavorite campgroundpeace and quietfire pitpiece of heavencozy cabinsdowntown brevardlaundry roomget awaycamp groundgreat thingspop up camperbeautiful scenery
Filter
Updating list...
92 - 97 of 152 reviews
Reviewed July 28, 2013

My husband, son and I stayed at this divine property a few weeks ago and can't wait to return. It was everything we hoped for and more - an unplugged week immersed in nature. We stayed in Dogwood Den, a charming cabin with hardwood floors, kitchen, fireplace and a large screened-in porch. We were surrounded by the gorgeous forest, where we hiked through several trails. We stayed for 7 days, only going on one excursion. We loved just being at Ash Grove, making wonderful friends, discovering creeks, waterfalls, mushrooms, chipmunks and wild berries that my son devoured.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stacy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sldmsh, Owner at Ash Grove Mountain Cabins & Camping, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

Thank you for your kind words. It was a pleasure hosting your family, who is so appreciative of Nature. And still have so much more to explore when you return. We're looking forward to it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We tent camped here Sunday to Wednesday and had a great experience. We were very happy with the location of the campground the Dupont State Forest and Pisgah National Forest. We got in a lot of hiking and got to see beautiful waterfalls. The staff gave some great recommendations on local hikes and we also used their guidance for how to get around as our phones did not have service at the campground so we couldn't get GPS. It was nice to be a little disconnected though.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sundi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sldmsh, Owner at Ash Grove Mountain Cabins & Camping, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Thank you for staying at Ash Grove. We are glad that you had a great vacation. Since Transylvania County has 250 waterfalls and over 600 miles of trails, we can recommend waterfalls and hikes for years to come--hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

The Greene Family from Nichols SC,Recommends this Resort. We met very nice people and experienced the cleanest bathrooms I have ever seen at a campground. It is centrally located to all attractions. The Staff is awesome and very helpful. My son loved the mushroom hunt provided by the Campground Staff. The Sights and facilities are very well kept. This will be a vacation we remember for ever.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sldmsh, Owner at Ash Grove Mountain Cabins & Camping, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Thank you for being our guests. We hope that you come back and go on another nature walk--there is something wonderful to experience in all 4 seasons.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

My wife and I with our four active and noisy boys stayed in our popup camper for five nights in one of Ash Grove's RV sites at the top of a beautiful, steep hill on the property. The campground is thoughtfully and gracefully laid out. Campsites are well designed and well maintained. I could tell that great care and thought went into how each campsite was laid out - the location of electric and water, picnic table, fire ring, and (I suspect, I'm a tree guy) even the location and species of trees and other plants. As most other reviews have mentioned, the bathroom facilities are spotless. We loved the onsite nature trails, and the boys enjoyed the playground. My inlaws rented one of the cabins during our stay, and that was more of the same - comfortable, clean, and well appointed. The location is excellent, and was a great base of operations for trips to Brevard, Pisgah National Forest, and points beyond. The owners and proprietors Steven and Mark were kind and helpful. We will return, and we will recommend Ash Grove to our friends traveling to western NC.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loblolly90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sldmsh, Owner at Ash Grove Mountain Cabins & Camping, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

Thank you for your review and for staying at Ash Grove. First order of business: we found your boys to be well-behaved and respectful! When we planned Ash Grove, we wanted it to be a place where we would want to camp or stay in a cabin, so we put a lot of thought--and work--into making it so. We are glad that our hard work has paid off. Hope to see you all again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We stayed here last year in May (2012) with a 4 month old and a two year old. It was a great location and so nice to be able to camp but not tent camp this time around. Everything was very clean and great place to let our little one run around and 'hike'! Next trip however we'll get a two bedroom!

Room Tip: I thought being an open floor plan would be fine with our little ones but we had a bit of trouble when one woke everyone woke. Next trip we'll book a two bedroom cabin.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank Droptop7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sldmsh, Owner at Ash Grove Mountain Cabins & Camping, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

Thank you for your visit to Ash Grove! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. Our Nature trails are a great place to introduce youngsters to hiking in the great outdoors. Both of the kids should enjoy the trails during your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews