We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceeded Our Expectations”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Brevard
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ash Grove Mountain Cabins & Camping
Certificate of Excellence
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Exceeded Our Expectations”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

My husband, son and I stayed at this divine property a few weeks ago and can't wait to return. It was everything we hoped for and more - an unplugged week immersed in nature. We stayed in Dogwood Den, a charming cabin with hardwood floors, kitchen, fireplace and a large screened-in porch. We were surrounded by the gorgeous forest, where we hiked through several trails. We stayed for 7 days, only going on one excursion. We loved just being at Ash Grove, making wonderful friends, discovering creeks, waterfalls, mushrooms, chipmunks and wild berries that my son devoured.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stacy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sldmsh, Owner at Ash Grove Mountain Cabins & Camping, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. It was a pleasure hosting your family, who is so appreciative of Nature. And still have so much more to explore when you return. We're looking forward to it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    8
    3
    3
    4
See reviews for
57
48
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

We tent camped here Sunday to Wednesday and had a great experience. We were very happy with the location of the campground the Dupont State Forest and Pisgah National Forest. We got in a lot of hiking and got to see beautiful waterfalls. The staff gave some great recommendations on local hikes and we also used their guidance for how to get around as our phones did not have service at the campground so we couldn't get GPS. It was nice to be a little disconnected though.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sundi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sldmsh, Owner at Ash Grove Mountain Cabins & Camping, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you for staying at Ash Grove. We are glad that you had a great vacation. Since Transylvania County has 250 waterfalls and over 600 miles of trails, we can recommend waterfalls and hikes for years to come--hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nichols, South Carolina, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

The Greene Family from Nichols SC,Recommends this Resort. We met very nice people and experienced the cleanest bathrooms I have ever seen at a campground. It is centrally located to all attractions. The Staff is awesome and very helpful. My son loved the mushroom hunt provided by the Campground Staff. The Sights and facilities are very well kept. This will be a vacation we remember for ever.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sldmsh, Owner at Ash Grove Mountain Cabins & Camping, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you for being our guests. We hope that you come back and go on another nature walk--there is something wonderful to experience in all 4 seasons.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

My wife and I with our four active and noisy boys stayed in our popup camper for five nights in one of Ash Grove's RV sites at the top of a beautiful, steep hill on the property. The campground is thoughtfully and gracefully laid out. Campsites are well designed and well maintained. I could tell that great care and thought went into how each campsite was laid out - the location of electric and water, picnic table, fire ring, and (I suspect, I'm a tree guy) even the location and species of trees and other plants. As most other reviews have mentioned, the bathroom facilities are spotless. We loved the onsite nature trails, and the boys enjoyed the playground. My inlaws rented one of the cabins during our stay, and that was more of the same - comfortable, clean, and well appointed. The location is excellent, and was a great base of operations for trips to Brevard, Pisgah National Forest, and points beyond. The owners and proprietors Steven and Mark were kind and helpful. We will return, and we will recommend Ash Grove to our friends traveling to western NC.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loblolly90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sldmsh, Owner at Ash Grove Mountain Cabins & Camping, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you for your review and for staying at Ash Grove. First order of business: we found your boys to be well-behaved and respectful! When we planned Ash Grove, we wanted it to be a place where we would want to camp or stay in a cabin, so we put a lot of thought--and work--into making it so. We are glad that our hard work has paid off. Hope to see you all again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinehurst, North Carolina
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

We stayed here last year in May (2012) with a 4 month old and a two year old. It was a great location and so nice to be able to camp but not tent camp this time around. Everything was very clean and great place to let our little one run around and 'hike'! Next trip however we'll get a two bedroom!

Room Tip: I thought being an open floor plan would be fine with our little ones but we had a bit of trouble wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Droptop7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sldmsh, Owner at Ash Grove Mountain Cabins & Camping, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you for your visit to Ash Grove! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. Our Nature trails are a great place to introduce youngsters to hiking in the great outdoors. Both of the kids should enjoy the trails during your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Ash Grove. Mark was very friendly and helpful and we loved that our stellar campsite was private and nestled in the woods. It is superbly located, with easy access to the waterfalls of Dupont and Pisgah. The facilities are clean and well thought out... there's even wheelbarrows available to transport your gear! We hope to be back in the area and if we are, Ash Grove is a certain stop.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sldmsh, Owner at Ash Grove Mountain Cabins & Camping, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you for being our guests. We offer our guests--whether they stay in a cabin or a campsite--with what they need to be comfortable, and a quiet, peaceful stay. We will be honored to have you as another of our repeat guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Lyon, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

Ash Grove is everything a campground should be. It was easy to check in, staff was helpful and friendly, bathrooms were clean, campsites were well kept and it was peaceful. We went in late summer during the weekend through following week. There were some other visitors to the campground but you would hardly know it. You knew people were around but it was quiet and peaceful all week minus the birds and other wildlife. The walk in sites were nice and clean, spacious for a larger tent and we put up a canopy over our picnic table with no problem and no fear of it being too close to the fire. There is fire wood for sale onsite and it lasts a few nights. The bathrooms with flush toilets and hot showers were great! Always clean and stocked. There is pay laundry onsite and a hot tub in colder months. The cabins seemed well cared for as well.
I also liked that they had a few short trails within the campground which were, shall we say insightful :)
The area is great too. Lots of hiking trails, waterfalls, local restaurants and markets. The town of Bervard is a neat little artsy town with some cool shops and good places to grab a bite to eat.

Room Tip: Visit their website. There are videos of each site.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sldmsh, Owner at Ash Grove Mountain Cabins & Camping, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Thank you for staying with us at Ash Grove. Our hope is that everyone enjoys their experience here as much as you did. Please come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brevard
5.9 mi away
Sunset Motel
Sunset Motel
#1 of 4 in Brevard
4.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
9.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Brevard
Hampton Inn Brevard
#1 of 2 in Pisgah Forest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
8.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Brevard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.9 mi away
CedarWood Inn
CedarWood Inn
#5 of 11 in Hendersonville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
18.2 mi away
Highland Lake Inn & Resort Hendersonville
15.5 mi away
Brook Trout Inn
Brook Trout Inn
#1 of 2 in Sapphire
5.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ash Grove Mountain Cabins & Camping? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ash Grove Mountain Cabins & Camping

Property: Ash Grove Mountain Cabins & Camping
Address: 749 E Fork Rd, Brevard, NC 28712-8803
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Brevard
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Brevard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nature Revives the Spirit. Revive yours at one of our fully equipped 1, 2 or 3 bedroom cabins; secluded tent sites or shady RV sites. Located on 14 wooded mountaintop acres near Brevard, Asheville, waterfalls, hiking and mountain biking. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ash Grove Resort Cabins & Camping Hotel Brevard
Ash Grove Resort Cabins And Camping

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing