We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No thanks. I'll pass...”
Review of The Phoenix

The Phoenix
Ranked #25 of 69 Restaurants in Brevard
Price range: $0 - $24
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Phoenix is Brevard's only Farm to Table Restaurant. We are proud to support our local farmers,sourcing our food from Busy Bee Farm, Hickory Nut Gap Farm, Morgan Mill Trout Farm, and our local farmer's market. All of our Proteins are antibiotic and growth hormone free. Our kitchen is open until 10p.M. seven days a week, with a late night menu available until 12am (mon.-sat.). We serve Lunch & Dinner Monday-Friday, and Brunch & Dinner on Saturday and Sunday. We have a Full Service Bar with a selection of biodynamic, organic and sustainable beer and wine. We also feature signature house made liquor infusions which include Peach and Apple Pie Moonshines. Our menu is seasonal so that we can offer you the freshest products available. We also have Live Music 7 days a week, offering a wide variety of genres from local and regional musicians. All of our shows are free unless posted otherwise.
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
77 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“No thanks. I'll pass...”
Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

Heard about this "all local" restaurant & looked forward to trying it out. I wish restaurants would realize that if you want to get a nice reputation....have your employees take their habits out back & not at the entry of the restaurant. It's unprofessional to see employees out front. French onion soup was bland. No taste at all. The bread/cheese were charred & burnt @ edges of the bowl. Three other tables came in after us & were served before us. When I inquired, they said they didn't enter our order in the computer. We ended up leaving. Another couple walked out about 15 minutes before we did. We walked out & went to a diner down the street. I was looking forward to the grilled fennel @ the Phoenix but it never made it to the table

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank K B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    27
    16
    17
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton
Level Contributor
105 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“I guess I was there on an "off-night"”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Wow - everyone loves the Phoenix but they had a hard time accommodating our large group of hungry .eaters. Many people were finished eating and others had not received their food. A plate of asparagus was offered as recompense. I really didn't like my gumbo but oh well...I must have ordered the wrong thing.
Service was friendly but uneven. I would definitely try this place again - but not with a large group.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria-Enrique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
“Even my Husband liked it.”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

My family runs the other way when I mention going to an "organic" restaurant, but they all loved the Phoenix. Our meals were unique and delicious - Oh and did I say healthy too! The owner sources their meats and vegetables from local farmers which is an added plus. They also have a pub style menu if you prefer to relax on their sofas with a cocktail and listen to music. I would rate this Brevard restaurant in the top two!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brenda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
47 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“The salad was good”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

On the basis of tripadvisor comments and looking at the menu, we were hoping to find an ideal spot to eat before going to the Brevard Music Festival (which was great).
Unfortunately the experience did not fulfill our hopes. The music was too loud, tho that was rectified somewhat. The wine list is unimpressive and the wines we were served, both red and white, confirmed that early indication.
I ordered the shrimp creole which was unsatisfactory owing to the excessive heat from the jalapenos used in the recipe. The shrimp were chewy and overcooked as was the side of asparagus I ordered. Lemon slices rather than lemon wedges were provided to help the shrimp dish. The short ribs were OK according to one of our dining companions.
At least the salad and fennel were quite good.
We are not likely to make a return visit.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveNC41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nighht Life”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Great food, music and people......period! Hang out with the locals and visitors, bring your instruments for open mike on Thursday night or just sit and listen. By the way, the bartenders are gorgous!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank knotthaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Phoenix also viewed

Brevard, North Carolina Mountains
Brevard, North Carolina Mountains
 
Brevard, North Carolina Mountains
Brevard, North Carolina Mountains
 
Brevard, North Carolina Mountains
Brevard, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to The Phoenix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing