We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Inn at Brevard
Ranked #4 of 5 Brevard B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 11, 2010

We have not stayed there, but have ate there twice. Once for a private dinner and the next day for breakfast. The owner Faye is very colorful and was extremely hospitable to us. The food was top notch, with Faye giving great attention to what we wanted for dinner. We have spent hours talking with her. Give them a try!!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wdm01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded April 14, 2011

We appreciated your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (80)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 80 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2010

We splurged on the bridal suite as it could accommodate us and our 2 children. The room which was very large was cramped though as it is jammed full of tacky “antiques” and furniture. A restful evening was an impossibility as the antique beds squeaked at the slightest move and the very loud window air conditioner did a mediocre job at cooling the room. We had to move to a different, less expensive room our second night so we could at least get some rest. Unless you eat breakfast between 9:00 and 10:00, you will miss out on it. As they told me, it is just too inconvenient to serve breakfast all morning. No breakfast for us as we needed to be out at 8:30. At checkout, the innkeeper billed us for both nights in the more expensive bridal suite and then charged us $60 because we had to change our room. We explained that we had been over charged but s he couldn't issue a refund and said we would have to deal with the owners. They have yet to return numerous phone calls and e-mails. I finally located the physician /owner in Atlanta at his office. He offered no resolve and just said he’ll send me a listing of what he charged which is not what I needed. No surprise that I haven’t received that. Now I will have to dispute charges with my credit card. There are numerous better choices in Brevard just based on the property alone not to mention the indifference and attitude they dish up. We returned to Brevard 2 weeks later and this time stayed at a Holiday Inn Express. It didn’t have as much character, but we were comfortable, had breakfast when we needed it and the staff was very accommodating. Enjoy all that Brevard offers, but make sure that The Inn at Brevard isn’t part of it.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank pufflet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theinnatbrevard, Owner at The Inn at Brevard, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2010

The Inn was built in 1865 and has furniture from the same period, including beds that do sometime squeak, as they used to do. The Inn only has 15 rooms and regretfully we do not have a large staff to provide kitchen services at anytime, so breakfast is served between 9 - 10am.

We have tried on several occasions to resolve the fee issue with this guest. We have refunded the difference for the room price (for the less expensive room with a different bed on the second night). We offered a full refund to this gentleman after his complaint about the "squeaky" bed so he could go to a more modern hotel and he refused. We have to include state sales tax by law, and the additional fee's for over 2 staying in a room are applied to pay for additional laundry, utilities, full breakfast (s), etc..

We have hundreds of guests every season and most of this is repeat business. We cannot please everyone but do please most by far. We pride ourselves on our cleanliness, cooking, staff and garden. Please try us for yourselves we would love to meet you and prove it!!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2008

Never again!

Stayed at the Inn for the Brevard Music Center concerts. Found the place to be tacky, cluttered, overdone, dated, squeaky beds, bad a/c , management unpleasant. Price was quoted over the phone and emailed, then when we got there they said it was different. No attempt at improving customer service, or hoping to make the customer happy at all. A huge turnoff! The Holiday Inn would have been a much better choice.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank SoutheastSchatzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded April 14, 2011

We strive to make our guests happy at every turn. We're sorry you felt it was cluttered, overdone and squeaky. This building, listed on the historic register, is over a century old and keeps as much originality as possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2008

We booked two rooms at the Inn at Brevard back in February for Brevard College Graduation weekend in May. We were quoted $99.00 per night when we reserved the rooms - a portion of which was charged to our credit card as a deposit. When we arrived at the hotel in May, we were informed that the rate would be $150.00/night. When we approached the owner, she blatantly refused to give us the rate we were quoted. She was absolutely the most horrible and unreasonable woman I have ever met. When we told her that we wanted our money back for that night because we would not be staying, she said she couldn't care less if we stayed there or not, but she could not credit the money back to our credit card. We told her that we would be contacting our credit card company and we would not pay the rate and she made it clear that she didn't care what we did, but she was not giving us the rate we were quoted. She never denied that we were quoted that rate (because we had the receipt to prove it), but she was willing to lose our business over $50/night - and it was her mistake! I will NEVER visit this Inn again (I've stayed there twice before) and I want to let as many people as possible know how badly we were treated there.

Stayed: March 2008
6  Thank crfreeze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded April 14, 2011

We are sorry for the price mix-up. The guest had a previous stay during the off-season, and was under the impression the rate was the same during the summertime holiday stay. Like all lodging facilities, no discounts are available over holidays.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2007

My boyfriend and I booked a room at the Inn at Brevard for our "splurge night" during a long weekend trip through the NC mountains. As soon as we walked through the front doors, we knew this place wasn't for us. It's littered with trinkets, and kitsch decorations, and tacky little things that makes the place look like it robbed a flea market. That's all fine, and sometimes expected, to have in a B&B, but it was more than that - there was an air of superiority about the place. We paid upfront, and then they showed us to our room. The room was okay: a little small-seeming from all the clutter, wood-paneled walls, a claw-foot tub. It wasn't until I saw the giant cockroach that I was sufficiently grossed out. Also, the bed was unbeliveably squeaky - if you rolled over in the middle of the night, the bed would squeak so loudly that it woke me up a few times.

Breakfast was fine, although not very B&B-like. My favorite part of going to B&Bs is sitting around a large table, meeting the other travelers, sharing stories/reccomendations/etc. Here, they assign you a table and you don't share the table with any one other than who you're traveling with. Which again is fine, especially if you're not a fan of the intimate nature of most bed and breakfasts.

All in all, the cost of staying at this B&B is too high for what it is. The management was nice, but not very personable. The food was mediocre. The cockroaches were an unwelcome distraction. There is no central AC - only a very loud and obnoxious AC unit in the window. This was all a surprise - because I'd read very complimentary reviews of this place. While our experience wasn't earth-shatteringly terrible, we won't be returning to the Inn at Brevard.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Laura P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded April 14, 2011

We're sorry for your unimpressive stay. please remember that this is a historical building, we are not permitted to make major structural changes such as moving walls to make bigger rooms and installing ductwork for central heat & air. Also, we contract pest control and are regularly inspected by local health officials so we apologize for the lone critter you saw. As for clutter - it's part of the ambiance that past guests have commented on as pleasurable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2007

We had a great visit at the Inn at Brevard. The room was exactly as described to me when we made our reservations. The breakfast was prepared well. I also noted that the staff was very accomodating to special requests of its customers.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TryitYoullLikeIt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Durham, NC
18
Reviewed July 4, 2006

We recently made a reservation for our family of four to stay at Inn at Brevard, and had a most unpleasant experience upon arrival. We had arranged for and had specifically been promised a room with a queen size bed and a double bed for our family of four. We had also paid 50% of the cost of the entire stay for a party of four.

After we checked in and paid the balance due on the room for the entire stay, we were provided with a room that had a single bed and a double bed -- accomodations for three. When we immediately brought this mistake to the owners' attention, their response was unprofessional, inhospitable, and rude. They would not accept our statement that we had been promised a room for four with a queen and a double bed although they had clearly charged us for four people.

They refused to acknowledge or rectify their mistake by providing us with the room we were promised -- one that would accomodate four people. Brevard was very crowded, and the owners knew it. They refused to give us the room for free for the night or even to reduce the rate by 50%. They suggested that we should just leave if we did not like it, and that the best they would do is provide a mat so someone could sleep on the floor -- not an air mattress, not a roll away bed -- a mat. Although we did not think it was appropriate to pay $140.00 per night to sleep on the floor, we had no other options because Brevard was extremely crowded and these owners knew that. We paid and we stayed, and we will never make the same mistake again.

This historical Inn is not well maintained on the outside, which is unfortunate, because it was once a beautiful place. The greenery and various plants around the Inn are beautiful and the proximity to downtown is good, but none of it is worth dealing with the fact that you have no idea what you will get when you arrive, regardless of what you have been promised and regardless of what you pay for.

Apparently, the only guarantee is unprofessional behavior. Don't take a chance -- go to the Womble Inn instead.

8  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anniebell, Front Desk at The Inn at Brevard, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2006

The information given in the Traveler review "Never Again" does not fit the picture.

The traveler says s/he arrived to a room with a single bed and a double bed. None of our rooms have such a combination. All of our rooms have at least a queen bed, so it is possible s/he arrived to a room with a queen and a twin or a queen and a double.

Secondly, the traveler says s/he paid $140 per night for the room. $140 is our rate assuming double occupancy and there is a $10 charge for each extra person in a room. If the traveler paid $140 per night, we were not informed that four people were to be staying in the room.

As far as the outside of the Inn being a wreck, we were in a transition period this summer. We were in the process of repainting the Inn, which, being a historic landmark, can be a bigger deal than your normal paint job.

It is clear that this traveler did not enjoy his/her experience at the Inn, and I am sorry for that.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brevard
3.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Brevard
Hampton Inn Brevard
#1 of 2 in Pisgah Forest
644 reviews
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Brevard
0.6 mi away
Sunset Motel
Sunset Motel
#1 of 4 in Brevard
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.3 mi away
Mountain Inn & Suites Airport
Mountain Inn & Suites Airport
#4 of 11 in Hendersonville
252 reviews
17 mi away
Highland Lake Inn & Resort Hendersonville
16.2 mi away
Brook Trout Inn
Brook Trout Inn
#1 of 2 in Sapphire
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Brevard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Brevard

Address: 315 E Main St, Brevard, NC 28712-3834
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Brevard
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Brevard
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inn at Brevard 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Inn at Brevard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing