We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a great time!”
Review of The Inn at Brevard

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Inn at Brevard
Ranked #4 of 5 Brevard B&B and Inns
Peachtree City, Georgia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Had a great time!”
Reviewed March 27, 2011

We stayed here 3 nights over last July 4th and really enjoyed it. It IS old, it IS creaky at times but that's part of it's charm to me. I enjoyed getting up early and having coffee on the front porch and cocktails on the balcony upstairs in the afternoon. The breakfasts were VERY good and different every morning. We're going up there again this year and I WILL be staying here again. Sorry other folks had bad experiences but all the people there when I stayed there really seemed to like it. Enjoy!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zzrsteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theinnatbrevard, Front Desk at The Inn at Brevard, responded to this review, April 14, 2011
Thank you for your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    13
    7
    13
    20
See reviews for
20
40
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kingsport, TN
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2011

We stayed two nights at the Inn. When we checked in we discovered that breakfast was not included "off season". I'm not sure we got anything that told us that before hand. The owners appear to be running the Inn for cash and not putting any money back into maintenance. We stayed in the annex and the storm door was broken, the wood door was difficult to close. An upstairs water pipe broke the day we checked in and caused the ceiling to fall in on the dining area. The gounds are in need of a lot of work.

This is on Main Street and you get a lot of road noise.

It was clean.

I went by the review on bedandbreakfast.com and should have come here before booking.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Richard_and_June
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theinnatbrevard, Front Desk at The Inn at Brevard, responded to this review, April 14, 2011
We're sorry you had an unpleasant experience. Due to unforeseen circumstances, the roof required replacement rendering the kitchen unable to use. A brand new roof is currently being installed. Apparently, the workers were not visible during your checkout as we invest considerable expense on maintenance, upkeep and improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarpon Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2010

I should have paid more attention to the previous reviews on this property but was lulled into a false sense of security by the web site and the triple A rating. They no longer give triple A discounts although it is still advertised in the 2010 edition and I seriously doubt that they qualify for the two crowns rating. The hosts who introduce themselves on the web site, Howard & Faye Yager are nowhere to be found. The Inn is being babysat, her words, by an elderly woman called Ruth who is in serious need of some help. We booked in room 5 M for 2 nights unfortunately. The toilet did not flush the whole time we were there despite our pointing out the defect. We solved the problem by putting a coffee cup in the tank drain so that it would fill. The plug mechanism in the sink was also jammed open but we were too busy working the toilet to find a solution for that. After a long day out walking we returned to find a pile of clean towels outside the room. They had been left there by Ruth because she said she had taken the wrong key when she went to clean up the room. So we still had a pile of used towels in the bath where we had placed them for collection, the bed was unmade, coffee maker dirty and no fresh coffee supplies for morning. The only time Ruth was at reception was when we arrived and when we left. The rest of the time if you wanted anything you had to call her on the phone so I hunted out fresh coffee making in the morning. The board in the front garden advertises a cocktail bar and fine dining as does the brochure. There is no fine dining and no cocktail lounge. Our room was billed as being convenient for the upstairs balcony and this is correct but the upstairs balcony is not a place to visit with its shabby broken down bug infested furniture and general unclean appearance. To be fair the inside of the house was clean and tidy but the whole atmosphere was one of unkempt neglect, somewhere that had definitely seen better days. I have never written a review in 40 years of travel but this place is seriously misrepresented in all the literature and advertising I came across and is definitely not worth the $175 a night tariff. Do yourself a favour and stay at the Holiday Inn. That's what we did.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KJCYCLOPS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flat Rock, North Carolina
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2010

We have not stayed there, but have ate there twice. Once for a private dinner and the next day for breakfast. The owner Faye is very colorful and was extremely hospitable to us. The food was top notch, with Faye giving great attention to what we wanted for dinner. We have spent hours talking with her. Give them a try!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wdm01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theinnatbrevard, at The Inn at Brevard, responded to this review, April 14, 2011
We appreciated your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2010

We splurged on the bridal suite as it could accommodate us and our 2 children. The room which was very large was cramped though as it is jammed full of tacky “antiques” and furniture. A restful evening was an impossibility as the antique beds squeaked at the slightest move and the very loud window air conditioner did a mediocre job at cooling the room. We had to move to a different, less expensive room our second night so we could at least get some rest. Unless you eat breakfast between 9:00 and 10:00, you will miss out on it. As they told me, it is just too inconvenient to serve breakfast all morning. No breakfast for us as we needed to be out at 8:30. At checkout, the innkeeper billed us for both nights in the more expensive bridal suite and then charged us $60 because we had to change our room. We explained that we had been over charged but s he couldn't issue a refund and said we would have to deal with the owners. They have yet to return numerous phone calls and e-mails. I finally located the physician /owner in Atlanta at his office. He offered no resolve and just said he’ll send me a listing of what he charged which is not what I needed. No surprise that I haven’t received that. Now I will have to dispute charges with my credit card. There are numerous better choices in Brevard just based on the property alone not to mention the indifference and attitude they dish up. We returned to Brevard 2 weeks later and this time stayed at a Holiday Inn Express. It didn’t have as much character, but we were comfortable, had breakfast when we needed it and the staff was very accommodating. Enjoy all that Brevard offers, but make sure that The Inn at Brevard isn’t part of it.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pufflet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theinnatbrevard, Owner at The Inn at Brevard, responded to this review, August 6, 2010
The Inn was built in 1865 and has furniture from the same period, including beds that do sometime squeak, as they used to do. The Inn only has 15 rooms and regretfully we do not have a large staff to provide kitchen services at anytime, so breakfast is served between 9 - 10am.

We have tried on several occasions to resolve the fee issue with this guest. We have refunded the difference for the room price (for the less expensive room with a different bed on the second night). We offered a full refund to this gentleman after his complaint about the "squeaky" bed so he could go to a more modern hotel and he refused. We have to include state sales tax by law, and the additional fee's for over 2 staying in a room are applied to pay for additional laundry, utilities, full breakfast (s), etc..

We have hundreds of guests every season and most of this is repeat business. We cannot please everyone but do please most by far. We pride ourselves on our cleanliness, cooking, staff and garden. Please try us for yourselves we would love to meet you and prove it!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southeast
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2008

Never again!

Stayed at the Inn for the Brevard Music Center concerts. Found the place to be tacky, cluttered, overdone, dated, squeaky beds, bad a/c , management unpleasant. Price was quoted over the phone and emailed, then when we got there they said it was different. No attempt at improving customer service, or hoping to make the customer happy at all. A huge turnoff! The Holiday Inn would have been a much better choice.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank SoutheastSchatzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theinnatbrevard, at The Inn at Brevard, responded to this review, April 14, 2011
We strive to make our guests happy at every turn. We're sorry you felt it was cluttered, overdone and squeaky. This building, listed on the historic register, is over a century old and keeps as much originality as possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Augustine, FL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2008

We booked two rooms at the Inn at Brevard back in February for Brevard College Graduation weekend in May. We were quoted $99.00 per night when we reserved the rooms - a portion of which was charged to our credit card as a deposit. When we arrived at the hotel in May, we were informed that the rate would be $150.00/night. When we approached the owner, she blatantly refused to give us the rate we were quoted. She was absolutely the most horrible and unreasonable woman I have ever met. When we told her that we wanted our money back for that night because we would not be staying, she said she couldn't care less if we stayed there or not, but she could not credit the money back to our credit card. We told her that we would be contacting our credit card company and we would not pay the rate and she made it clear that she didn't care what we did, but she was not giving us the rate we were quoted. She never denied that we were quoted that rate (because we had the receipt to prove it), but she was willing to lose our business over $50/night - and it was her mistake! I will NEVER visit this Inn again (I've stayed there twice before) and I want to let as many people as possible know how badly we were treated there.

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
6 Thank crfreeze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theinnatbrevard, at The Inn at Brevard, responded to this review, April 14, 2011
We are sorry for the price mix-up. The guest had a previous stay during the off-season, and was under the impression the rate was the same during the summertime holiday stay. Like all lodging facilities, no discounts are available over holidays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brevard
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Brevard
0.6 mi away
Sunset Motel
Sunset Motel
#1 of 4 in Brevard
4.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Brevard
Hampton Inn Brevard
#1 of 2 in Pisgah Forest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.5 mi away
CedarWood Inn
CedarWood Inn
#4 of 11 in Hendersonville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
17.0 mi away
Highland Lake Inn & Resort Hendersonville
16.3 mi away
Brook Trout Inn
Brook Trout Inn
#1 of 2 in Sapphire
5.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Brevard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Brevard

Property: The Inn at Brevard
Address: 315 E Main Street, Brevard, NC 28712-3837
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Brevard
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Brevard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inn at Brevard 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your The Inn at Brevard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing