We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall, an excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Boone
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in Boone
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed here during the last week of March. We were there to get some last minute skiing in for the season. The hotel is in an excellent location in Boone. Right in the heart of all the restaurants and stores. It is VERY close to the App State campus as well. It took us about 15-20 minutes to get to Sugar Mountain to ski. There are only a couple run down options over near Banner Elk, so we opted to stay here. Plus all of the restaurants are open until 11-12 each night, so we could grab a bite nice and late. We skied twilight one night and we had time to eat. The problem is everything near the large ski resorts closes early. Boone is a great little town and the downtown area is nice to walk around too.

The hotel was immaculate inside and out, from the lobby to the room and bathroom. The front desk staff was very attentive and helpful. If you are in Boone, stay here!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrewLuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (348)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

225 - 231 of 348 reviews

Reviewed March 25, 2013

The hotel seemed fine when we checked in; halls were clean and the room looked clean at first.
I went into the bathroom and a used cake of soap was laying on the counter. We had to move the chair next to the bed in order to have enough room to get by and there was a box cutter under the chair. Went out on the balcony and there was a partial bottle of wine and a plastic cup with cigarette butts. It's hard to believe that this room was cleaned very well. The irony is that there is a sign sitting beside the TV that states the housekeeping staff works very hard to clean the room and a tip would be appreciated. No way would we leave a tip for this kind of service!
I hate to think what would happen if a child got hold of the box cutter.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank barbab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olga M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Boone, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Dear barbab,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. I would like to offer a sincere apology for the level of cleanliness in your room and for the inconvenience it might have caused you. We take our guests’ feedback seriously and I wanted to assure you that your comments will be addressed with the housekeeping department to make sure similar issues can be avoided in the future. We appreciate your candid feedback and welcome any opportunity to improve. Once again, I apologize for the unacceptable cleanliness issues and hope you can give us another chance to show you how great our hotel is.
Sincerely,

Olga Monfiston
Holiday Inn Express Boone

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We mostly stay at this property everywhere we go because of not only the staff, but also the cleanliness of the hotel, the food, but most of all, the value for what you pay. The staff is always helpful and friendly, very much about making sure the customer is taken care of. The room was very well put together (we had a suite), it had a microwave, a mini fridge, king bed with a pull out couch, and a whirlpool jacuzzi tub. It was spacious enough for me and my husband and our teen boys. The breakfast was good... one of the reasons we stay with them. Stocked with eggs, pancakes, variety of breads, fruit, etc. I would definitely not only stay at this hotel again, which we will in the near future, but also would highly recommend it!

Room Tip: We had a room on the south side of the hotel towards the back and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MariaB106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights a couple of weekends ago. The rooms are very nice, well appointed and clean. The beds and the linens are clean and comfy. The staff was very helpful, the front desk seems eager to be of service. Their breakfast was well stocked and tasted fresh with eggs, pancakes, sausage, breads, cereal, oatmeal, yogurt and fruit items. The lobby and the breakfast area is very well decorated with beautiful "mountain" type fixtures. I would certainly stay here again without question!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lslsbl12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

I stayed in a King Standard Handicapped room and was very pleased. The bed was very comfortable, nice sheets and a jacuzzi tub, microwave and mini fridge for $74.00 a night !
I stayed here for two nights at the same price as one night at the Marriot. I have also had to change rooms at the last three 250.00 a night hotels I have stayed, so I do not have low expectations. The staff was very nice and I will definately be back.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DOYSTERBAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

This is the 3rd time we stayed here over last 3 years. First time was really nice, second time a little bad and this time is the last time we are staying here since hotel needs renovation and they are not spending the money to do it. Note: This is not a cheap hotel.

Carpets look dirty everywhere. Obviously they chose dark colors to hide the dirt.
Carpets in our room were especially dirty and stuff like liquids and crap had been dropped but never cleaned up.

Coffee maker in our room was filthy. I will leave it at that.

Mattresses badly need to be replaced. We were in a room with 2 queen beds. Both mattresses were caving in the middle and the pillows need to be replaced ASAP.

Bathroom was clean but shower was a mess. It was leaking from all corners and water would shoot out the bottom part even when you had the switch turned on for the shower head.

Only good part about this hotel is their breakfast which was very good and it is included in the price.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the higher floors facing the mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bhargavipl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olga M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Boone, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2013

Dear bhargavipl,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We work hard to ensure that our facilities and service are superior and we strive to be the best Holiday Inn Express around. I apologize if we fell below your expectations. I would like to assure you that we are currently undergoing a big-scale hotel renovation. We have recently completed redesigning all of the public areas, which included replacing the carpet and wallpaper in the lobby, business center, meeting space, and all of the hallways. We are planning to make major changes to our sleeping rooms by putting the new carpet, changing the wallpaper, updating the curtains and furniture in the room. Our guests’ satisfaction is the cornerstone of everything that we do and we hope that these and other small improvements will help enhance our guests’ experience. I would greatly appreciate if you could contact me at olga@expressboone.com so we can obtain additional details regarding your stay. The items that you have mentioned in regards to cleanliness and quality of the room will be addressed with both the Housekeeping and Maintenance Managers. I would like to sincerely apologize that your stay was not 100% satisfactory. I hope that we get the opportunity to regain your trust in our hotel and show you some of our improvements on your next trip.
Sincerely,

Olga Monfiston
Guest Services Manager
Holiday Inn Express Boone

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

I spent a night at the HI Express in Boone for work and really enjoyed my stay. The staff was very friendly and attentive. The beds were comfortable and everything appeared clean. While the hotel is not within walking distance of much, it is in a great location with a short drive to everything in both Boone and Blowing Rock.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kweazil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boone
1.4 mi away
LaQuinta Inn & Suites Boone
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Boone
1.1 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#6 of 18 in Boone
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Boone
5.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South
1 mi away
Courtyard Boone
Courtyard Boone
#5 of 18 in Boone
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Boone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Boone

Address: 1943 Blowing Rock Rd, Hwy 321 South, Boone, NC 28607-6151
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Boone
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Boone
#7 Family Hotel in Boone
Price Range: $91 - $203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Boone 2.5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a Video Tour of the hotel. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel Boone was recipient of the 2003 Development Award as well as the 2004 and 2006 Quality Excellence Award. We are a five story, 129 room hotel offering: two room suites with fireplaces, a jacuzzi and a balcony; King rooms with jacuzzi and standard rooms with Queen beds. All guest rooms have complimentary high speed wireless internet service. This Boone hotel also features a free hot breakfast and free local phone calls. Visit Boone, NC and stay smart at the Holiday Inn Express Boone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Boone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Boone Hotel Boone
Holiday Inn Boone
Boone Holiday Inn Express

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing