We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Boone
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in Boone
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed July 4, 2012

This hotel was spotless, wonderful breakfast with protein, cinnamon buns, fresh fruit..The ambiance was ideal for the mountain setting. We didn't spend much time there but to shower and sleep because there are so many wonderful adventures to be had in Boone!

Room Tip: I just asked for a quite room and the receptionist gave me one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pickychrissy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (349)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

248 - 254 of 349 reviews

Reviewed June 26, 2012

Having a fridge in room is important to me. There wasn't one here. No exhaust fan in bathroom. Don't plan on using the mirror right after a shower. And speaking of shower, guess what they supplied for a bath mat...a hand towel! No joke. And I paid over a hundred for a night. I won't stay here again.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Boone, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2012

Dear Bob C,

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review of our hotel. Guest comfort is of the utmost concern to us and our hotel is committed to making every possible effort to provide a clean and comfortable accommodation at a good value. I am sorry our hotel fell short of your expectations and regret you were not satisfied with the condition of the room you received. I have taken note of your valuable comments and rest assured, these will be used to continually monitor and improve the quality and services we offer to our guests.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

We stayed in the 2 room suite and overall we were happy with the room. It was clean and the king mattress was very comfortable. (In fact, I'd love to know what kind of mattress that was.) The bathroom also had some cool features such as the whirlpool tub and a Rain shower head that was fully adjustable for pressure. But, have to mention that the wifi signal was poor. We were on the second floor and barely had signal, dropped often. This is a very important amenity for us, and will make or break our return stay. In this case, break. A previous reviewer mentioned that the pool was freezing, and let me second that. It was so cold it prevented us from enjoying it as much as we planned. They definitely need to heat it a bit. Finally, the breakfast bar was typical...nothing fancy, but I wish they would've included fruit.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2012

A real surprise after having stayed in Holiday Inn Biltmore, Asheville. We would expect H.I. Express to have less facilities but we couldn't have asked for more. The hotel gives a real "Daniel Boone" feel with the rustic mountain design. Our room was spacious with plenty of chairs, a comfortable bed and pillows and a fridge. Our bathroom had the latest in modern fittings, shower and a whirlpool tub. My only complaint is the breakfast bar. I avoid cereal when we stay in hotels because there is never any soy milk available. I managed to find some boiled eggs which had been refrigerated. There were a couple of staff in the kitchen and it would take little time and effort to serve eggs hot.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marj H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2012

This hotel is okay for an overnight stay, but is just average. Negatives include a VERY filthy ceiling vent cover, the "heated" pool was not heated at all (freezing, too cold to enjoy). There are plenty of other hotels in Boone that offer a better value.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gottatravelFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Boone, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2012

Dear gottatravelFlorida,

Thank you so much for your candid review of our hotel. We are deeply sorry we fell below your expectations. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product. Rest assured that your comments about the ceiling vent cover and the pool have been documented and will certainly be looked into.

We hope to have another chance of hosting you should your travels bring you back to Boone.

Sincerely,

Janice A.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2012

While this hotel is pretty nice overall, I can only rate it as average based upon the fact that there was no refrigerator or bathroom fan in the room. If I'm paying upwards of $100/night, I assume if there's a fridge in the room. Next time I'll know better. To me that's a serious oversight on someone's behalf and a serious ding against the overall grade.

About the bathroom fan, I noticed where the bathroom was exhausting to, which was a return in the light box above the bathroom sink (which, by the way, had dirty and dusty grates - I think some of the dust bunnies had a few gray hairs), but that doesn't exactly get rid of "odors" and steam quickly.

Other than those two items, this isn't a bad place. Beds are nice and there is a small bar sink in the room (wait, we have a bar sink, but no bath fan or fridge?), and there's ample room within the two queen bed room with a LCD TV. WiFi is pretty good - much better and stronger than the other HIE we stayed in last year we were in Boone. Breakfast was the standard fare of cereals, eggs, sausage, biscuits, muffins, cinnamon rolls and pancakes. Nothing special, but a good way to start the day.

Would I stay here again? Not likely. Clean is one thing (which this place was save for the light grids in the bathroom), but no fridge and bath fan is definitely a downer. I've stayed in $50/night "dives" that had both.

Room Tip: Ask if room has a fridge
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian_Longo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Boone, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2012

Dear Brian_Longo,

Thank you for taking time to post your review. I am pleased you found our bedroom accommodations attractive and the wifi connection acceptable. I apologize that some items in your room were missing.

We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously, and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

Sincerely,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2012

We were pleasantly surprised by the nice updates in our room and the size of the room. Flat screen tv, new carpet, granite countertops, nice tile in the large bath, an extra sink in the room which was convenient for us. Our only complaint was the shower curtain was too short for the tub, creating a mess every time we showered. Staff was friendly, lobby updated, good breakfast. We will be coming back!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darrell C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boone
1.4 mi away
LaQuinta Inn & Suites Boone
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Boone
1.1 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#4 of 18 in Boone
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Boone
5.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South
1 mi away
Courtyard Boone
Courtyard Boone
#5 of 18 in Boone
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Boone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Boone

Address: 1943 Blowing Rock Rd, Hwy 321 South, Boone, NC 28607-6151
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Boone
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Boone
#7 Family Hotel in Boone
Price Range: $91 - $202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Boone 2.5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a Video Tour of the hotel. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel Boone was recipient of the 2003 Development Award as well as the 2004 and 2006 Quality Excellence Award. We are a five story, 129 room hotel offering: two room suites with fireplaces, a jacuzzi and a balcony; King rooms with jacuzzi and standard rooms with Queen beds. All guest rooms have complimentary high speed wireless internet service. This Boone hotel also features a free hot breakfast and free local phone calls. Visit Boone, NC and stay smart at the Holiday Inn Express Boone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Boone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Boone Hotel Boone
Holiday Inn Boone
Boone Holiday Inn Express

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing