We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nothing to write home about”
Review of Golden Corral - CLOSED

Golden Corral
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Seating
Wendell, North Carolina
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nothing to write home about”
Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

We visited for dinner on Saturday night. It was very busy but the buffet was well stocked. The food however was only average. Our waitress was less than attentive and we had to get her attention every time we needed a refill. Not our first choice but it filled us up!

Helpful?
Thank Uncxraygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    12
    9
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Savannah, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
69 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Friendly staff...but....”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

The food was not well presented...some of it looked as though it had been out all day long. Because we decided to take our food back to the hotel, the food was weighed and we paid by the pound...for the two of us, the bill came to $35 and we only had a small salad, an average dinner portion plate and a small bowl of bread pudding for dessert. I will never eat at a GC again unless I intend to dine in. Also, my the next time I decide to pay over $30 for a meal, it will be at a restaurant where I know the food is going to be good and enjoyable. The food tasted ok. It was not hot by the time we got to our hotel (across the parking lot). I was disappointed in the value...we didn't even get drinks....$35....really??? I needed to have my tail kicked for paying that!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan8696
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
52 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great omelet station!!”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We went to this Golden Corral in Boone for the breakfast buffet yesterday, Sunday. We were expecting it to be packed, but were pleasantly surprised that it was not. I had an excellent omelet made fresh at the omelet station. Everything I had was great, except for the gravy, which tasted like canned. The hashbrowns were also excellent. We are coming here for lunch before we leave!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank buddydog316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blairsville, Georgia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Very good!”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Food was good, hot, fresh and service was great. Thought it was a little pricy for seniors but they did have steak which my husband loves! We would definitely eat here again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank frdallen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boone, North Carolina
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good to go”
Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

Excellent food considering the large volume of food prepared. Service mediocre. If you are very hungry you will be pleased.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wahoo407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Golden Corral also viewed

Boone, North Carolina Mountains
Boone, North Carolina Mountains
 
Boone, North Carolina Mountains
Boone, North Carolina Mountains
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing