We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Special Treat”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Joy Bistro

Joy Bistro
Ranked #12 of 148 Restaurants in Boone
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: French, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
147 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A Special Treat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014

We've eaten dinner at Joy Bistro several times in the past year and always really enjoyed the experience. The atmosphere is nothing special -- long, narrow restaurant with some outdoor seating overlooking the parking lot. It can get noisy inside. But the food is amazing -- unique presentations/preparations -- always delicious. It is a pricey place, but we've always felt that the meal was worth it.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Steffenzei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    224
    43
    12
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
north carolina
Level Contributor
155 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Excellent in every respect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

First class food and service.The location in a strip mall is unusual but did not hurt this excellent dining experience. The bread and pasta were great.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank algataho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Amazing!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

Amazing food, very romantic setting and friendly staff.. This place is definitely a hidden jem. My husband and I celebrated our anniversary here and I couldn't be happier. I ordered the duck breast and it literally melted in my mouth so delicious!!!

Helpful?
Thank Ashley L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Customer Care”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

The GM/Owner, Gary Claude, cares for his customers. The meal and wine we enjoyed on July 6, 2014 was excellent. The service was outstanding and entertaining. What more could you ask? Well, I asked for a lot more and received two phones calls from the GM providing me with some information concerning their glassware. I admired an Old Fashion tumbler and thought it was time to replace the cat glasses we had been using to impress out friends. They never liked the plastic beach glasses for scotch either. Anyway, Gary Claude took time out from his busy management duties to call me with the specific brand and item number to place an online order. I think this defines the term "customer service." Oh yes, the food - NC Trout and Hahn Estate Cab. Both were recommended by the waitress and were wonderful. Looking forward to our return....

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boone, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Food & Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

We went to Joy Bistro last night (Tuesday) and had the best experience in food and service maybe ever! Our waiter, Sarah was attentive, full of ideas and suggestions. My wife went for the new shrimp dish, she remarked how well prepared and the presentation was excellent. I had the pork chop, I don't know how you could prepare a chop any better, the sauce was outstanding. The restaurant was full and everyone was laughing and having a good time. Joy Bistro is at the top of our list, congratulations to the staff for a great experience.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank H E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joy Bistro also viewed

Boone, North Carolina Mountains
Boone, North Carolina Mountains
 
Boone, North Carolina Mountains
Boone, North Carolina Mountains
 
Boone, North Carolina Mountains
Blowing Rock, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Joy Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing