We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Escape franchise food”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Joy Bistro

Joy Bistro
Ranked #12 of 148 Restaurants in Boone
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: French, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Escape franchise food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

Small and intimate, the chef knows what to serve up. They are knowledgable but not snobby. Good wine selection with an understanding of pairings. They do a tasting/wine evening by reservation that's entertaining and palatially superb. The bistro is off the main drag in Boone but easy to get to.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank surfsea7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    224
    43
    12
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
60 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A Great Find”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

Tucked into the corner of a small shopping center is this wonderful little restaurant. It's been discovered as it always seems to be busy. There's a reason for that: VERY good food. It's titled "French Italian Cuisine". Throw in beef and seafood and you have it all. Great wine selection. In our party of four we had ravioli, halibut, and a couple of filets. No need to talk about each - I'll just group them all together and say "Delicious". Creme brulee for dessert topped it all off nicely. Service was very good and very helpful in all selections and descriptions. Skip the theater across the parking lot and spend your money here. You'll forget what you saw at the movie - you won't forget your visit to this little jewel.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jwellsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
67 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Terrific Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

Tucked into the end of a shopping center right off the main highway. Creative food, great drinks,reasonably priced. Garden and Gun Magazine needs to give this great place it's attention so more people can come to know about it.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
64 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“The very best in Boone NC!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

As always, Joy Bistro served an incredible dinner again tonight, from the appetizer to dessert. For the main course, I had the scollops au poive, which was just perfect. It's so good, that I can't bring myself to ever order anything else at Joy. My friend ordered salmon, and she was blown away by that and all of our dinner courses. Good work, and please keep it up!

Service is always excellent. Diane is my "go-to" server, but all are very delightful.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank busyguyinGreensboro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
90 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Usually A Favorite, But Service Needs Work”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

On a low traffic night, maybe it is hard on the servers to pay attention. But we had a meal that was served all out of order, dishes that were left on the table for way too long, wine that was served incorrectly, and water glasses that were not being refilled. The food was nicely done. It would have been nice if the kitchen would had modified a couple of things for a vegetarian, but that is a small thing. The ambiance is great. I generally love this place and will consider this experience out of the ordinary.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank sg4427408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
claudomy, Owner at Joy Bistro, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Hi,
I just wanted to mention to you that we are sorry service was not up to par on your recent visit.
I am wondering if you could let me know the date you dined with us so that I may discuss this with the appropriate servers. We always want to do our best and again I apologize. Thank you for your patronage.
GC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joy Bistro also viewed

Boone, North Carolina Mountains
Boone, North Carolina Mountains
 
Boone, North Carolina Mountains
Boone, North Carolina Mountains
 
Boone, North Carolina Mountains
Blowing Rock, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Joy Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing