We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An Explosion of Flavors” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Joy Bistro

Joy Bistro
Ranked #11 of 148 Restaurants in Boone
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: French, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
125 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“An Explosion of Flavors”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

This is one of the most delicious meals I have had ever. We ordered the brie cheese puffs as appetizers and they were absolutely divine. The perfect blend of sweet and salty (they top the brie puffs with cherries and prosciutto) which made for a perfect blend. I ordered the salmon entrée and it truly was one of the best dishes I have ever had. The presentation was beautiful and the combination of flavors was absolute perfection. If you are in the High Country, NC, you should definitely try Joy BIstro.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lovetoski1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    223
    44
    11
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Greer, South Carolina
Level Contributor
179 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“A good meal in the mountains”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

While on a weekend getaway we stayed in Boone, NC, and had dinner at Joy Bistro. The wine list has decent selection and is well priced. The food is nicely presented and well prepared. The service was adequate, but could have been a bit more attentive.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank UpstateExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level Contributor
141 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Great service and good food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

We ate here on a busy Saturday evening and the service was excellent. The four of us in our party all tried different dishes and were pleased. The cheese challah bread was extraordinary. One person in our party had sea bass which was excellent. Others had shrimp and grits and a ravioli dish. The ravioli dish is very rich and savory and would be suitable for someone with a big appetite. Another in our party had the beet salad and roasted red pepper and tomato soup. Both were excellent.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelingfoolGeorgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“One Of Our Favorites”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

The food is very good and reasonably priced considering the excellent preparation.Favorites are shrimp creole,halibut and salmon.A pasta dish with shrimp,chicken,sausage and blue cheese is a good choice for those with big appetites.Salads are tasty and combined with the cheese plate make a good dinner The service is what you would expect from a fine bistro.A visit to Joy Bistro makes for a pleasant evening.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rtm4305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“We were not impressed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

I don’t generally leave bad reviews and seldom complain about a dining experience. However, we made reservations at Joy Bistro based upon recommendations from some friends. It was supposed to be a very special birthday dinner. We drove out of our way only to find once we arrived we found there was little or no parking available on a very rainy evening at 8:00PM. We had to park over by the Big Lots in the nearby shopping mall. After being seated and waiting more than 25 minutes for our waitress to finally take our drink orders. She returned to tell us that they were out of most of the dishes we were interest in ordering! What remained on the menu didn’t interest us so we didn’t bother ordering at that point and left the restaurant for a very nice dinner nearby.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank skysail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joy Bistro also viewed

Boone, North Carolina Mountains
Boone, North Carolina Mountains
 
Boone, North Carolina Mountains
Boone, North Carolina Mountains
 
Boone, North Carolina Mountains
Boone, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Joy Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing