We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not that great...”

Melanie's Food Fantasy
Ranked #5 of 148 Restaurants in Boone
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $12
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Drinks, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Melanie's is a tradition in downtown Boone serving breakfast and lunch seven days a week. We source all of our bread, eggs and burgers locally as well as other items when we can. We have an eclectic and creative menu serving food made from scratch. We are sensitive to vegetarian, vegan and gluten-free diners. Now open evening hours with a new small plate menu, Booneshine beer on draft and wine by the glass. Come see us Thur-Sat evenings and enjoy a drink and a bite to eat on our beautiful deck while you watch the hustle and bustle of downtown Boone.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Not that great...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

My wife and I had heard great things, so we waited in line July 6th. For us, this did not meet our expectations. My wife had stuffed french toast and I had the Belgian Waffle. The French Toast was too sweet, and the waffle was not crisp.

Sorry. On this day, these dishes would have been better at Cracker Barrel.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gary2hs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    207
    96
    21
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
65 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Worth a visit!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

My husband and I were looking for somewhere to have breakfast and deciding to take a chance, we chose Melanie's. We both ordered the same thing - Wagatua Breakfast Plate which included toast made with homemade bread (very good), uncured bacon, organic eggs and hashbrowns. All was cooked to perfection! I had coffee, which tasted freshly ground and my husband had orange juice which was freshly squeezed. For both of us it was about $20. Staff was very friendly and attentive, even during a very busy Saturday morning. Patrons were lined up on the door to get in. If you DO choose to visit, we recommend going early if it's on the weekend. Very quaint, folksy decor - not pretentious, but quite artsy.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MariefromNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Fresh and Delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

Wow, I had a great breakfast at Melanie's! The greek omelet was fantastic with lots of olives, tomatoes and spinach. Plus the bread tasted homemade. What a treat.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oviedo, Florida
Level Contributor
275 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Extremely Enjoyable Eatery”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

Located right in the heart of downtown, but landscaped like a garden. Wide variety of breakfast and lunch selections. Fresh ingredients, interesting combinations = a nice option to the usual chains.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wadleyfla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Brunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

We went to brunch on Sunday morning. The wait was about 10 minutes until we got a nice table outside. The options were great for those who enjoy either traditional or vegan options. The service was very good and minor changes ok. The food was excellent and we will be back

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jeff T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Melanie's Food Fantasy also viewed

Boone, North Carolina Mountains
Boone, North Carolina Mountains
 
Boone, North Carolina Mountains
Boone, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Melanie's Food Fantasy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing