We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ordinary? Not!”
Review of Vidalia

Vidalia
Ranked #6 of 149 Restaurants in Boone
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $45
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Upscale casual dining specializing in creative American cuisine focusing on local/regional cuisine and products. Extensive wine and specialty beer lists including mixed beverages.
Blowing Rock, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ordinary? Not!”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Went last night with friends and it was good n' fun. Be sure to have a reservation on the weekend. Thankfully we did, I decided to order something ordinary and got the meatloaf but what a surprise. A beautiful presentation and kicked up meatloaf wrapped in apple wood bacon giving it a deep, rich flavor and served with bing cherry "catsup". All 4 plates at our table were left clean as a whistle.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Patricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    269
    82
    32
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“great place”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

I was a bit skeptical after reading some reviews about Vidalia. Some other places were too crowded so we went anyway. Boy, were we glad we did. We were there for Sunday brunch and loved it. The service was great and so were the food and drinks. Upscale menu at very reasonable prices. Their version of eggs benedict was super. Highly recommend!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
41 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“smal, quaint and delicious”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

we have frequented this restaureant several times and chose to give it a rating because we found non on trip advisor. Excellent food, smal quaint restaurant and walking distance to shopping on king St. in down town Boone, NC

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank danm1229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Quaint and great food”
Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

Could not be more happy with our experience I have read a few reviews complaining it is small..or staff was stuffy..if you want a BIG restaurant go somewhere else...stuffy wait staff...sounds to me like the guest writing the poor review was stuffy or snappy anyway ALL were VERY friendly much to chose from on the menu that was not deep fried...all very fresh and all very flavorful...simply a great jewel for Boone

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank spankyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“I will give it another chance....maybe”
Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

We're living here now. Well very close. Coming down from Manhattan doesn't haven to be "coming down" does it? 3 visits in 3 weeks. First one was stellar. 2nd one OK. Third one on a Weds night regrettable. We have to figure out if have bottomed out and it's worth another shot. Sea food chowder tonight was OK. Too much tomato paste or the equivalent in the vegan Tomato Bisque. The soft shells (my favorite food) was overcooked and too heavily coated. The mashed potatoes were cold. My wife's organic catfish was way over salted. She had the same cold potatoes. There was one other couple in the restaurant. Service was cordial, but there was no response to my complaints.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Dpgunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vidalia also viewed

Boone, North Carolina Mountains
Boone, North Carolina Mountains
 
Boone, North Carolina Mountains
Boone, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Vidalia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing