We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The go to place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hokkaido Japanese Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Hokkaido Japanese Restaurant
276 Watauga Village Dr Ste K, Boone, NC 28607
(828) 263-0350
Improve this listing
Ranked #82 of 134 Restaurants in Boone
Cuisines: Japanese, Asian
Dining options: Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
376 reviews
237 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“The go to place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We eat here a few times a month. The food is always fresh and hot. The service is always quick and friendly. I like to go for lunch, the price is affordable and you get plenty to eat.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Travelman360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Apex, North Carolina
Level Contributor
43 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Average Japanese food.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Went here for dinner the other night. Me and my two friends walked in and were immediately helped to our table. All of the dinner entrees come with a salad and a cup of soup. For the salad you have the option of shrimp or ginger "sauce" as the dressing. The salad and soup were nothing great - just something to eat before the main plate comes. The salad is just lettuce with the "sauce" you wanted and the soup just tastes like beef broth. Again, nothing special.

The dinner entrees include vegetable, teriyaki or hibachi chicken, teriyaki or hibachi steak, etc. They all come with fried rice, cooked carrots, and a side of shrimp sauce. Our food came pretty quickly (there weren't many people in the restaurant though - it was snowy, windy and cold outside). I ordered the teriyaki chicken, which was pretty tasty. It had a milk teriyaki taste, but was fine with me. The fried rice didn't contain any vegetables - it was just rice. The carrots were fine - pretty sweet, so if you like sweet, cooked carrots then you will love them.

I ordered a water and the teriyaki chicken dinner entree and, with the tip, my meal came out to $10. So that isn't bad, but you are just paying for average Japanese food. I'm not sure if I'd go back...maybe for lunch when you can get the same thing a couple dollars cheaper? Actually I don't know if I'd even go then.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Josie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, NC
Level Contributor
164 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Good Food and Excellent Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

While in Boone last weekend, my husband and I decided to try the Hokkaido Japanese Restaurant based on some local reviews. When we got there, it was not crowded and we were seated immediately. The server was very quick to come get our drink orders and returned quickly to take our orders. We both ordered hibachi steak. Before the main course, they brought out the soup, which was nothing more than broth, but not much different from other Japanese restaurants we have eaten at. The salad with the shrimp sauce was very fresh and tasty. The steak arrived with cooked carrots and rice. All of the food was cooked well and was tasty. While not the greatest Japanese restaurant we have eaten at, we were very satisfied with the food, service and the price. Our meal was slightly less thatn $20 and we had more than enough to eat.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 4chismom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boone, North Carolina
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“decent Japanese food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

Not bad, but I suggest Makoto's if you're going for quality food.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank appstate5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
51 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“entree okay-soup tasteless”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

Good for students-lots of food for money. Otherwise, just okay. Soup had no taste at all. Could not even taste broth. Steak overcooked.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank foodieoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hokkaido Japanese Restaurant also viewed

Boone, North Carolina Mountains
 
Boone, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Hokkaido Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
#