We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Good Food and Excellent Service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hokkaido Japanese Restaurant

Hokkaido Japanese Restaurant
Ranked #70 of 146 Restaurants in Boone
Cuisines: Japanese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Plymouth, NC
Level Contributor
197 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Good Food and Excellent Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

While in Boone last weekend, my husband and I decided to try the Hokkaido Japanese Restaurant based on some local reviews. When we got there, it was not crowded and we were seated immediately. The server was very quick to come get our drink orders and returned quickly to take our orders. We both ordered hibachi steak. Before the main course, they brought out the soup, which was nothing more than broth, but not much different from other Japanese restaurants we have eaten at. The salad with the shrimp sauce was very fresh and tasty. The steak arrived with cooked carrots and rice. All of the food was cooked well and was tasty. While not the greatest Japanese restaurant we have eaten at, we were very satisfied with the food, service and the price. Our meal was slightly less thatn $20 and we had more than enough to eat.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 4chismom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    10
    8
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boone, North Carolina
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“decent Japanese food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2012

Not bad, but I suggest Makoto's if you're going for quality food.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank appstate5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
58 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“entree okay-soup tasteless”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2011

Good for students-lots of food for money. Otherwise, just okay. Soup had no taste at all. Could not even taste broth. Steak overcooked.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank foodieoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
70 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Very good Japanese food for the money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2009

I have lived in Boone for four years, and I love either eating at Hokkaido or getting takeout because their food is so good. Like any standard Japanese meal here in the United States, you start off with a soup with green onions and a few mushrooms that is delicious in itself, then you get a salad with basically lettuce with a choice of shrimp sauce or ginger sauce, then your entree comes and I usually get the Hibachi Chicken dinner entree with shrimp sauce and mushrooms instead of carrots and it is so great. They also have plenty of other things including seaweed salad, shrimp, steak, scallops, lobster, and a lot of others things. I definitely recommend to anyone that enjoys rice and Japanese food. They have a lunch menu as well, with the entrees you can choose either soup or salad, and the lunch menu is really reasonable.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank waltb87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina, USA
Level Contributor
89 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“good for cheap eats”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2008

good for cheap eats

Helpful?
Thank elkcerf
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hokkaido Japanese Restaurant also viewed

Boone, North Carolina Mountains
Boone, North Carolina Mountains
 
Boone, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Hokkaido Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing