We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inconsistent...”
Review of Black Cat Burrito

Black Cat Burrito
Ranked #42 of 150 Restaurants in Boone
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Fusion
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Inconsistent...”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

The price of the food here is not too bad and the food is okay. However, MOST of the time they run out of or just don't make guac! Also, it is difficult to have a conversation with the person sitting across from you because it gets very loud at night. If anything, go during the day or order take-out.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rhettmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    47
    22
    4
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pretty good.”
Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

We have the Black Bear in Morgantown, WV, which is based on the Black Cat. We were excited to come here. Overall good experience. Food was good and staff was very accomodating. Only complaints are that it is very small and cramped, and not kid friendly. Also, we were seated in an area that was hit directly by the setting sun. It was blinding. They said they couldn't close the blinds because it would block the Open sign. Good, but not great.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cjcalve1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
325 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Went to Black Cat for the first time in years and it has really gone downhill”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

I went to Black Cat maybe 10 years ago and the food was really good. Moved back to Boone recently and tried them again and had pretty much the polar opposite experience. The place was dirty, service was mediocre, and the food was so BLAND. I was really surprised and thought maybe I just went on a bad day or something, since everyone occasionally has an off day. Went back a few weeks later and had the same experience again. Black Cat has always been kind of a hole-in-the-wall place, but it's easy to overlook some stuff if the food is really good. Unfortunately the quality and flavor of the food has really declined, so now it's just a hole-in-the-wall with mediocre food.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ravenito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Pretty good”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

The food was pretty good here. I had a "build-your-own-burrito" and my boyfriend had the fish tacos. We also had chips and salsa. The chips were excellent! The salsa was fresh and tasty. My burrito was good, but the fish tacos were the star. Perfectly cooked fish (no breading) and the tortillas were browned just right. Definitely worth a stop if you are in Boone. Reasonably priced too.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank nade05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boone
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great food but...”
Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

Really good food but the place is kind of dirty though. I've seen flies in there!! And I also don't like the fact that the waitress just threw my chips in the bag.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank v o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Cat Burrito also viewed

Boone, North Carolina Mountains
Boone, North Carolina Mountains
 
Boone, North Carolina Mountains
Boone, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Black Cat Burrito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing