We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Great Stay - Wonderful Thanksgiving "”
Review of Lovill House Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Boone
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lovill House Inn
Ranked #1 of 9 Boone B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 1, 2013

My wife and I spent four wonderful days at the inn over Thanksgiving after traveling from Ohio. The owners were great hosts. The food was made fresh daily and was excellent. The inn was very clean and the rooms were very comfortable. This was our first Thanksgiving away from our family but the meal and atmosphere made us feel like we were with family. If your headed this way you should consider staying at the Lovill House. I would highly recommend you won't be disappointed.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
Thank Tom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (167)
There are newer reviews for Lovill House Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

97 - 103 of 167 reviews

Reviewed November 25, 2013

We enjoyed three relaxing nights at the inn as a part of a family reunion. Scott and Ann were friendly, warm and accommodating, including providing options for a gluten free diet. The breakfast was varied, homemade and quite delicious. The inn is an easy walk to down and the grounds are lovely to stroll.

Room Tip: Hickory room was large, loved the fireplace and the history of the room.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cadatoka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

On the particular morning of our stay, one of the innkeepers might have bordered on being a bit rude and rigid, especially around breakfast time. But the other half of the team, Scott, was both professional and courteous throughout. The inn is close to town and restaurants but not really in a beautiful location. The inn is very clean and tastefully decorated and our room was comfortable and large. The breakfast was acceptable but not really of high gourmet quality. As others have mentioned in their reviews, the breakfast session routine is sometimes not a soothing experience. We stay at a B&Bs at least every few months and this is the only one we would not return for a stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nantahala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottBoone, Owner at Lovill House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Thank you for sharing your feedback. We are certainly sorry for making you feel uncomfortable in any way. As you know not many inns allow their guests use of the kitchen. We are able to do so because we comply with local sanitation and insurance restrictions about what guests can and can not do in the kitchen. Apparently this makes you think we are being rigid when we feel we're doing on best to offer more flexible service for our guests. Additionally, the quick tour of the house each guest receives at check in includes the kitchen to cover what guests can do and when to avoid any misunderstandings. On the morning in question you chose to do as you wished, and not as we had asked. Your actions were in violation of 2 health and sanitation rules and one insurance regulation. Anne was not happy with you and let you know it. She also later apologized for her tone and gifted you a bottle of champagne because she wanted to take the high ground.

Our location is very convenient to town, without being located downtown. We are on are own 11 wooded acres with numerous flower gardens, shielded from the front road. However, we are not located on the crest of a mountain. Rather we are located in a valley surrounded on 3 sides by wooded ridges. Not sure why didn't enjoy the location, but we suspect you had hoped to be on a mountain top, which we surely are not.

Our breakfast mantra is a buffet for larger groups, anything more than two couples. After 13 years of trying different things the buffet seems to work best to accommodate most guests needs in the quickest fashion. For those who don't wish to sit with strangers, we do offer different options. However, we truly believe a highlight of breakfast is making new friends and meeting new people. Our breakfasts are not gourmet, but just good cooking, lots of choices and lots of it. We believe our website accurately depicts a typical breakfast at the Lovill House Inn. We honor all dietary requests, and accommodate early risers.

We hope this helps and that you will give the Lovill House try in the future.

Sincerely,

Scott & Anne Peecook, Innkeepers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We enjoyed two great nights at Lovill House. We were made to feel very much at home by the owners, and the house is in a great location for downtown Boone and for exploring the Blue Ridge Parkway. We cannot recommend this place enough - we cannot believe that anyone would be disappointed with any aspect.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

My wife and I stayed for Appalachian States family weekend at the Lovill House Inn. Our son is a freshman at App State and we wanted to find "somewhere" where we can stay over and over the next 4 years. I think we may have found it.

The Lovill House comes well rated and all of those rating are well deserved. Meticulous detail to the house decor and the grounds makes this a truly wonderful place.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maven1Carrboro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

I cannot even begin to put into words the wonderful experience my husband and I had at the Lovill House Inn. Scott and Anne made us feel like we were family from the beginning. Beautiful setting in Boone, gorgeous garden and the house is wonderful.

This Christmas I know what I am giving my kids.... a weekend at The Lovill House Bed and Breakfast!

Brenda Swartz

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brenda244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We had a hard time finding this spot with our GPS...there are several Old Bristol Roads in Boone. Be sure to go by the instructions Scott sends you. (Obviously we didn't...but he talked us to him.) The Lovill house is fairly convenient to town. The grounds are beautiful! Our only critique was breakfast was a buffet at 8:30. The food Anne prepared was very good. As we had to leave VERY early they were so kind to put together a very tasty sack breakfast for us.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hedgeclipperz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boone
2.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Boone
7.5 mi away
The Green Park Inn
The Green Park Inn
#3 of 15 in Blowing Rock
461 reviews
6.1 mi away
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
#2 of 15 in Blowing Rock
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
LaQuinta Inn & Suites Boone
1.8 mi away
Courtyard Boone
Courtyard Boone
#7 of 18 in Boone
399 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sleep Inn Boone
Sleep Inn Boone
#5 of 18 in Boone
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lovill House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lovill House Inn

Address: 404 Old Bristol Rd, Boone, NC 28607-7678
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Boone
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Boone
Price Range: $85 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lovill House Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovill House Inn is an historic Bed and Breakfast Inn conveniently located on eleven wooded & secluded acres, less than one mile from Old Town Boone NC and Appalachian State University, just off the Blue Ridge Parkway. Experience AAA Four Diamond Award hospitality and elegant lodging accommodations in a relaxed and unforgettable setting. 16 perennial flower gardens, gazebo, wrap around porch and waterfall/stream. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lovill House Inn - b&b
Lovill House Hotel Boone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing