We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Makoto's Japanese Steak House and Sushi Bar
Ranked #34 of 148 Restaurants in Boone
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Boone's original Japanese Steak House & Sushi Bar since 1981. Makoto's is the Best Tasting Show in Town! Watch our chefs perform their culinary magic tableside or for a more intimate dining experience, dine in our Sushi Bar. Enjoy the views of our Japanese garden from every table.No reservations. Full ABC permits. Visa, MC, Amex, Discover cards accepted. No personal checks. Closed Thanksgiving Day, Christmas Eve Dinner (Open Christmas Eve Lunch 11:00-2:00), Christmas Day.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“YUM!!!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

we go to Boone once or twice a year just to eat at this restaurant. You will definately get your plate full and then some. The staff is great w/ the kids and includes them in the cooking aspect. We drive 2 1/2 hours one way just to get there so it has to be DELICIOUS.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ohmygoodnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    59
    25
    12
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fayetteville
Level Contributor
50 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good food!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

Took my daughter and granddaughter their for a birthday. It was our 1st time there and it was jammed on a cold, windy snowy night. Service was good and food average.. for the cost it was a good value. The décor needs to be updated. It is very tired!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fun and delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

Vacationed in Boone so we took the family for dinner. What fun we had, our chef and waiter were great! Food was very delicious and sake was tasty. Definitely worth the price!

Helpful?
Thank Jim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blowing Rock, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A real bargain at lunch!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

Above average for this type dining experience. Price/value is great with quality far above the cost. This is especially true at lunch. A "locals" favorite with good reason.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tom G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
118 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fun Sushi”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

If its fresh and awesome sushi you want, you've found it. The dedicated sushi bar is wonderful with attentive service from the staff and the sushi chefs. On this visit we didn't have hibachi, but the show and the food is also delicious.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Twld2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Makoto's Japanese Steak House and Sushi Bar also viewed

Boone, North Carolina Mountains
Boone, North Carolina Mountains
 
Boone, North Carolina Mountains
Boone, North Carolina Mountains
 
Boone, North Carolina Mountains
Boone, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Makoto's Japanese Steak House and Sushi Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing