We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“only place with sushi”

Makoto's Japanese Steak House and Sushi Bar
Ranked #37 of 148 Restaurants in Boone
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Boone's original Japanese Steak House & Sushi Bar since 1981. Makoto's is the Best Tasting Show in Town! Watch our chefs perform their culinary magic tableside or for a more intimate dining experience, dine in our Sushi Bar. Enjoy the views of our Japanese garden from every table.No reservations. Full ABC permits. Visa, MC, Amex, Discover cards accepted. No personal checks. Closed Thanksgiving Day, Christmas Eve Dinner (Open Christmas Eve Lunch 11:00-2:00), Christmas Day.
Blowing Rock, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“only place with sushi”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

since it is the only place with sushi in boone i give it props for that, but the food is not as good as hokkaido or sukura and the staff is not as showy as they are at other places like this in other areas. they are kind of cold and do what needs to be done, unless you're at the sushi bar, those guys are more friendly. the atmosphere is really nice and the prices are comparable to other cook in front of you places. nice for special occasions or sushi.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Wonderful_Witch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    60
    25
    13
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boone, North Carolina
Level Contributor
106 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great Japanese Food!”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Great food, and tons of it - served with a fun show! It is pricey, but for special occasions it just can't be beat.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank WBWT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
76 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Fun time, good not great food”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Wife and I ate there while visiting the NC mountains this year. The chef was entertaining and the food was good, not great.
Had two cocktails each and left with a $100 tab.

Helpful?
Thank Mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastern North Carolina
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent hibachi and excellent service”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

We have a favorite hibachi steakhouse in our hometown, and we decided to try this one while visiting Boone. No regrets! Although it was a little more expensive than our favorite, it was exceptionally good. From the sipping soup right on through the bananas for dessert, every single thing we ordered was excellent. I regret that I didn't try the sushi. The kids did not care for the carrots, but that was good for mom & dad, because that meant we got to try something only offered at lunch for adults. Our waiter (Austin?) was outstanding, and he gave us a treat by playing guitar and singing after dinner. He also chased us down in the parking lot to return a toy my son left in his chair. We enjoyed ourselves very much and will most definitely return when we head for the high country again.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pmain13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Best food in Boone!!!”
Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

Makoto's is a definite must if you are dining in the Boone area. They have a fairly large sushi menu with something for everyone...raw, cooked, vegetarian, spicy...they have it all! My family eats here at least once a month and we have never had a bad experience. The food is out if this world and the staff are always very attentive and friendly. Definitely the best place in town!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sjkmom80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Makoto's Japanese Steak House and Sushi Bar also viewed

Boone, North Carolina Mountains
Boone, North Carolina Mountains
 
Boone, North Carolina Mountains
Boone, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Makoto's Japanese Steak House and Sushi Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing