We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Boone
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Boone
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed April 16, 2013

My wife and I stayed at this location when it first opened years ago. The pool was not even finished yet, not that it mattered to us. The point I want to make is at that time this hotel was new, clean and fresh. We stayed there again this past weekend and things have changed and not for the better. Little things but the little things indicate problems exist. The curtain over the window was hanging loose at one end and the curtain would not close probably. The luggage carts were too big and you had to fight to get them in the elevator. The pool seemed very "cloudy" and dirty. The clock own the wall at the pool did not work. Like I said, no big thing but the little unattended details indicate to me that the quality that was once there is not there today. I am in management and my boss told me that as a person in a management position sees something wrong and walks by it, without taking steps to have the problem fixed, just approved the problem. This hotel seems to have a walk around and not fix attitude.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Larry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesse C, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Boone, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2013

We sincerely apologize for the experience you had at our hotel. We've listened intentely and will do everything we can to ensure that an experience such as yours doesn't occur in the future.
Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (619)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

541 - 547 of 619 reviews

Reviewed April 16, 2013

Took a group to Boone for wedding. Country Inn & Suites welcomed us and took care of us! Check in was easy. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Small fridge, microwave and coffee maker in the room! Free wifi connection that was easy to access. Lobby area enabled gathering for group before departure. Breakfast was good. Coffee selection was great - a BOLD flavor for those who prefer a stronger coffee. Since we were going to a wedding the hotel allowed us a late check out to get ready!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank phillnall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesse C, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Boone, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2013

Thank You so much for taking the time to provide us the valuble feedback we need to provide our guets with the most comfortable experience possible. We hope to see you again when you visit Boone!
Thanks,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

My son and I went up to Blowing Rock/Boone for a short vacation and stayed at this hotel last week for one night. The biggest plus of this hotel for us was the indoor pool and the free breakfast.

Our room was a standard sized hotel room, not a suite, but the room did include a microwave and small fridge. It's a no frill hotel, but it was clean, and not too far from things to do in Blowing Rock and Boone.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Jean Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesse C, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Boone, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Thank You for taking the time to share your experience with our hotel and staff. We would also like to personally thank you for the courteous comments and criticism about our property. We have listened, and will do everything we can to ensure that our guests have a positive stay.
Thanks,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Stayed Easter weekend. Paid $80/night, great value. Hotel is clean and comfortable as were the rooms. Beds were good to sleep on, we had no problem with any noise, though we were on the top floor. There was a microwave and a decent sized fridge in the room which was a nice touch. Breakfast was excellent - the scrambled eggs were to die for! There was a great selection and it was self serve. Breakfast was included in the price so it was a good deal. Nice touches in the reception area included free coffee, hot chocolate and cookies. Staff were really friendly and nice!
Only criticism and its realy minor is that I would change the cutlery from plastic to normal in the breakfast room. Would stay again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front of the main road have a nicer view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank smbarrync
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesse C, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Boone, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Thank You for choosing to stay with us over your Easter holiday! All of us here at the Country Inn and Suites are excited to hear that your stay was so enjoyable. Our entire staff is committed to ensuring that every guest has a similar experience as yours. We also appreciate your opnion on how we can improve our service and we sincerely hope that you consider us again when you return to Boone!
Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

The value on this hotel was unbeleivable. Room was clean, no smells and did not look worn as some ski area hotels can look. bathroom was clean and fairly new looking

Breakfast was good though could have used some fresh fruit - opening a big can is not that great looking.

Walls are very thin so if you are a light sleeper and the rooms next you or above you are noisy you will hear them.

A couple of mile from App State

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank longisland_NYKleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesse C, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Boone, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

On behalf of all our staff here at the Country Inn and Suites in Boone we would like to personally thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. It means a great deal to us that you enjoyed your stay here! We've also mentioned the improvements you suggested for our property to ensure that future guests have a great experience as well.
Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Everything was great here!!! Great service, great price, great location!!! Rooms were clean and comfortable and the breakfast was very good!!! I definitely will stay again in this hotel, if I'm in the area again!!! Close to Sugar Mountain, Grandfather and Beech Mountain.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frida03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesse C, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Boone, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Thank You so much for taking the time to register your opinion about our hotel and staff. We are elated that you enjoyed your stay!! We sincerely hope you chose us when you visit the High Country again!
Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Nice property located on main route in Boone. Hotel has good breakfast, indoor pool and indoor hot tub. Rooms are decent size with comfortable beds. Stayed here after skiing at App Ski mountain, which was only 15 minutes from the hotel. Easy drive to downtown Boone and only minutes from App State University.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank golfer082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesse C, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Boone, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

On behalf of all our staff here at the Country Inn and Suites in Boone we would like to personally thank you again for your kind comments about our location. We always strive to ensure our guests feel at home at our property. Thanks again!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boone hotels
0.3 mi away
LaQuinta Inn & Suites Boone
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Boone
0.4 mi away
Sleep Inn Boone
Sleep Inn Boone
#5 of 18 in Boone
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#4 of 18 in Boone
410 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites University
1.1 mi away
Courtyard Boone
Courtyard Boone
#6 of 18 in Boone
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Boone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Boone

Address: 818 E King St, Boone, NC 28607-4233
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Boone
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Boone
#4 Business Hotel in Boone
#4 Family Hotel in Boone
#6 Romantic Hotel in Boone
Price Range: $80 - $237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Boone 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High in the Blue Ridge Mountains of North Carolina is the Country Inn & Suites, Boone. Located in the North Carolina High Country, the area offers unsurpassed scenery, exciting activities and outdoor adventures for people of all ages. The Country Inn & Suites, Boone is located in the middle of it all. Come and enjoy all the area has to offer and let us pamper you with a little "Country Hospitality." We look forward to your arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Boone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inns And Suites Boone
Country Inns & Suites Boone Hotel Boone
Country Inn Boone
Boone Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing