We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful getaway near Blowing Rock!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Inn at Crestwood

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Inn at Crestwood
Ranked #7 of 9 Boone B&B and Inns
Charlotte
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful getaway near Blowing Rock!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2009

Just returned from the Inn at Crestwood in Blowing Rock. Over the years we have stayed at probably 75% of the Inns and Hotels in Blowing Rock. The Crestwood is very Beautiful!! It is in the woods off the Blue Ridge Parkway about 4 miles from Blowing Rock. The grounds are beautiful, we had a covered balcony overlooking the wooded property. We stayed in the 2 bedroom Mayapple cottage. It was very clean, up to date and nicely decorated. The bathrooms had the stone tile-work . The staff was very friendly and accommodating. We had chocolate dipped strawberries delivered to our room one night and a cheese tray the next. In the Am's they brought our breakfast to our room in a basket. You can also go to the "Library" to get a continental breakfast. They is a very nice wine and cheese reception at 4:00. They served very good quality wines and cheeses. The patio overlooking the mountains is breathtaking. We ate at their restaurant: The Table both nights. Again we have eaten at most of the restaurants in Blowing Rock. The first night was Great. The food was impeccable and we had very good service. Based on our experience we choose to eat there again the second night. This time was a little disappointing. It took 1 1/2 hours to get our main entrees. The food was good but not great. When we told the management they were very curt and not apologetic. They said they had a wedding, and were short staffed and "had worked us in". The first night the restaurant definitely beat out our experiences at Crippens and the Best Cellar lately. The second night it was comparable. The only disadvantage is the 4 mile drive to Blowing Rock. But if you want a place to get away with spectacular views I would recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 4petsl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    64
    36
    39
    27
See reviews for
57
135
4
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2009

My husband and I got married at Crestwood Inn in July of this year and it was absolutely wonderful. Erin, the even coordinator, did a wonderful job, going above and beyond in her work and professionalism. The staff was friendly, the venue gorgeous, the food was described as the best wedding food guests had ever had. Everything went wonderfully and I cannot stress enough how much we enjoyed our wedding experience. The rooms are beautiful and I think I need to say how good the food was again. You couldn't ask for a better mountain top location for a wedding. Anyone getting married inside or outside in the mountains should go take a look at Crestwood.

  • Stayed July 2009
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lt63563
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanley, NC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2009

My wife at I took a weekend getaway to Crestwood 3/7 - 3/8. Our room had a full covered porch with superior views of the surrounding mountains. Our room was large and nicely appointed with a king sized rice planter style bed and gas log fireplace. The bathroom was plain and needed freshing with some new paint or the such. The bathroom was the only reason I didn't rate the Inn tip top. The personnel at the Inn were very friendly and helpful. They tried in every way to make your stay as pleasent as possible. I'm going to comment on one member of the staff, Rebecca, she was a real jewel. She noticed my wife and I had arrived back at the Inn after the appointed hour for the afternoon wine and cheese get together and contacted us and offered to bring us a bottle of wine and a plate of cheese. Each morning, since it was off season the staff delivered to the room a nice continental breakfast basket.
We were very impressed with staff and the Inn at Crestwood and intend to return.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank firstaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
178 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2009

We stayed at the Crestwood last week. Here's the deal with Crestwood - it is a great place for accomodations, but not as a destination point itself due to what I have listed below in my letter to the management. However, my guess is that they will try to fix these areas of need because 1)the personnel there were so amazing and friendly, 2) it's a family owned business, 3) the accomodations are gorgeous. I'm not ready to write this place off yet. We enjoyed our visit and didn't complain about any of the factors below while we were there because we were enjoying ourselves and just took it in stride. However, I imagine many guests would not do the same, so I hope they can get this straightened out.
Here is a copy of the letter:
______________________________________


January 1, 2009

Dear Sir or Madam:

My husband and stayed at the Crestwood Inn from December 26-28, 2008. We had the “Winter Adventurer” package, and we enjoyed our visit immensely. Our room was comfortable yet beautiful, and all of the staff members we encountered were so friendly and eager to make our stay as pleasant and memorable as possible.

While my husband and I enjoyed our visit a great deal, there were several things that did not work well:

1. The advertisement did say that we would enjoy full access to the exercise room, sauna, etc. The doors to these were locked. (However, when we went to the front desk and asked about it, the receptionist immediately got it opened. This was in the afternoon, so there may have been more guests in the morning who wanted to use it and were unable to).
2. The exercise room – The treadmill was broken so we could not use that (it would start, then stop a few seconds later). I could not control the resistance on the exercise bike, so it would go from really-easy-to-ride to ridiculously-impossible two seconds later.
3. The Spa – When we checked in, the receptionist did advise us of a change in management of the Spa, but that she would be happy to contact the new manager to set up an appointment for us. We asked for a hot stone massage for each of us for the following afternoon. We did get a call back, asking if we wanted a male or female staff member, then were told that we would get another call confirming an appointment time. We never did get a call, so we lost out on spa treatments and the spa lost out on potential business.

The Crestwood Inn has so much going for it – it is beautifully maintained with superior staff. Special attention is paid to extras, such as the hot cocoa and cookies in the room at night! I look forward to hopefully staying at the Inn again, and I hope that the situations above can be addressed so that you enjoy a steady stream of happy guests!

  • Liked — beauty and comfort of room, the willing-to-help staff
  • Disliked — advertised amenities were not available.
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank drpclarke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2008

This was my first stay at Crestwood and I plan to return! Tucked next to the Blue Ridge Parkway...it's just barely outside Blowing Rock. So it was secluded yet just 5 minutes from town.
The staff was so warm and friendly that I felt like I was staying with family. I had dinner at The Table, Crestwood's resaurant, and it was a fine dining experience! The food was delicious from the salad right through dessert.
The views are breathtaking and I can see why so many couples choose this destination to get married. I recommend Crestwood for a relaxing, comfy escape from reality!

  • Liked — location, views and the home like atmostphere
  • Disliked — some inter room noise
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank harmonyNorthCarolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2008

My fiance and I are planning our wedding which will be April 2009 and will be having the reception at Crestwood. We have been working with Briana and she has been delightful and very helpful, even recommending people to contact for things such as flowers, DJ, rental items, etc. The Inn is very homey and exactly what we wanted. Being a smaller facility, they do not have all the amenities you would find elsewhere but they are by no means lacking either. After reading some of the other negative reviews on this site, I must say that we have encountered none of what they mentioned and must wonder how much of their reported negative experience was "self-inflicted" by the person writing the review. We would strongly recommend Crestwood for wedding parties under 150 and the smaller, the better due to the intimate nature of the facility.

  • Liked — Beautiful setting
  • Disliked — No dislikes yet.
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hunter77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lawton
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2008

We had our family vacation in Boone and stayed at the CrestWood Inn, the staff was wonderful, the room was very nice more the I expected. The food was to die for!!! I must say the meals were the best part. Thank you to all the staff for the wonderful stay.

  • Liked — the food
  • Disliked — everything was wonderful
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank moor1464
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boone
3.9 mi away
Courtyard Boone
Courtyard Boone
#6 of 18 in Boone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Green Park Inn
The Green Park Inn
#3 of 15 in Blowing Rock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
3.3 mi away
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
#2 of 15 in Blowing Rock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
LaQuinta Inn & Suites Boone
4.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Boone
3.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Boone Near APP State
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Crestwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Crestwood

Property: The Inn at Crestwood
Address: 3236 Shulls Mill Road, Boone, NC 28607
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Boone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Boone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inn at Crestwood 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Crestwood is the premier inn of the High Country, offering guests cozy accommodations, special packages, wedding venues and conference facilities. Enjoy unforgettable panoramic views, distinctive dining, celebrated local art and relaxing spa services all in one harmonious setting that's just minutes from the High Country's area attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Inn at Crestwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Crestwood Hotel Boone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing