We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A disappointment”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Inn at Crestwood
Ranked #7 of 9 Boone B&B and Inns
Kingsport, Tennessee
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A disappointment”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Crestwood a few years ago and had a fabulous experience so we eagerly anticipated our return. Unfortunately, this time, other than the plus of being in a beautiful location, the Crestwood was a big disappointment. Due to a wedding at the inn, we were told in advance that we should consider dining elsewhere, however we had no idea that we wouldn't be able to use the library or Dawg Star bar that evening. The room was just average. The pillowcases were too small and didn't completely cover the pillows. The breakfast buffet served from 7-10 am ran out of some items by 8:30. Checkout was impersonal and no one asked us about our stay. For the price paid, I would have expected a lot more. Sorry, Crestwood, but we will no longer be recommending you to our friends.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank LuckynSas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    63
    39
    39
    29
See reviews for
59
137
5
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We were enjoyed our stay. Hannah really started the trip off right and greeted us in a fantastic manner. It just got better from there. Beautiful rooms that have just been update. Great setting in the mountains. And yes, the breakfast is top notch. Waffles, eggs, bacon, great coffee, coffee cake and more! Have a great time and get away! Thanks Hannah! Mike and Cindy

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waltham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

After seeing some good reviews, my wife and I decided to spend the night at the Crestwood. We assumed the inn was a slightly out-of-the-way but otherwise standard inn. Were we wrong!

The Crestwood is a beautiful mountaintop home that was converted to an upscale inn. We arrived late, cold and wet from a drenching on the Blue Ridge Parkway, and the staff could not have been more gracious. They provided covered parking for our motorcycle so it stayed dry. The room we'd booked online wasn't cleaned yet, so they gave us a free upgrade to the fantastic Grandfather Suite, a massive multi-room suite with stunning views of the mountains, a private deck and a fireplace. The bed was new, firm and high-quality. The kitchenette and bathroom furnishings are definitely low-quality compared to the original armoires and table, but that's the only negative.

Dinner at the Table restaurant was excellent. We had a grilled peach salad that was fresh and simple. We don't get shrimp and grits in New England, so I had to try it. It was great - rich, creamy grits with tasso ham gravy and diced veg, and 6 perfectly-cooked shrimp. My wife's chicken pot pie was amazing as well. The dining room is incredible - huge, soaring ceiling, an enormous fieldstone fireplace and breathtaking views of the surrounding mountains.

We love staying at places like The Crestwood for great, personal service and funky, charming lodging. This was a real find.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Wonderllama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eastern north carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

My husband and spent two nights at the inn before labor day. We had stayed here last year in their villas but these were not available due to a wedding. We stayed in the queen room which was very nice and comfortable although not very quiet . The view from the terrace restaurant was spectacular but have to say the food left much to be desired. When we were there last year the food was so good we ate there for all our meals, not so this time. The package we booked was certainly worth every penny and included spa treatments which were very nice. This inn has so much character and potential but it just doesn't quite come up to the mark. They do seem to be working on it and hopefully they will improve.

Room Tip: Upper inn rooms have lovely views, lowest level rooms tend to be somewhat musty. Also noise can be a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mycoda06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We planned a short escape over Labor Day. Originally only booked on night, but stayed a second. The staff was very friendly and accomodating. The Villa was clean and pleasant-not fancy. They are dog friendly which we loved. The restaurant was quite good. Breakfast was excellent. We did not use the spa but visited it and it seemed quite nice.
What is truly special about this place is the setting. The views of the mountains and the surrounding woods are spectacular, truly enchanting, almost healing. The terrace where you can have breakfast, cocktails, etc, is absolutely beautiful. We would go again in ever in the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luckytravelersLI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We've been to Boone & Blowing Rock several times, but have usually stayed closer to town. This time, we were bringing two dogs and searched online for a dog-friendly hotel on short notice. Not a lot of places were available the day before Labor Day weekend, and it was about $119/night, so we weren't expecting much.

What a surprise! We stayed in one of the "villas" away from the main Inn. It had been freshly refurbished - we could still smell the paint. The villa included a full kitchen with a generous sized living room, king bedroom, and very nice bathroom.

Continental breakfast in the morning includes the usuals (bagels, danishes, fruit, & cereal), and also a new hot bar (including waffle makers) that the staff said they just started.

Service here is outstanding. We arrived at night, and the clerk actually left the front desk and *walked outside* to show my husband where to park. When it was obvious I was taking a couple of bagels outside the breakfast area (to my husband in the room), a server offered me a to-go box. The waiter in the restaurant, Table, was honest about his recommendations of what to try on the menu -something I always appreciate. You can tell that the people who work here enjoy their jobs and want their guests to be comfortable.

A few items of note:
As another reviewer noted, the spa itself is located a bit away from the main building and is a little difficult to find. We found it a pleasant walk, but didn't try any of the services, so can't comment.

The restaurant is good, but not great. It's what I call "form over function." Beautifully decorated with great waitstaff, but the food is just ok. I did like their key lime pie, though.

A word of caution: In the daylight, the drive to and from the Inn is stunning. However, we arrived in Boone after dark, and driving on an unfamiliar, narrow mountain road is nothing short of terrifying. I would highly recommend arriving before nightfall, if at all possible.

If you're looking for dog-friendly restaurants, we found the Hob Nob Farm Cafe in Boone and MK's Southern Cooking in Blowing Rock to be very accommodating. Hob Nob has a covered patio (great if it rains). MK's patio isn't covered, but the waitress brought us dog bowls of water, which was unexpected & very sweet.

Room Tip: We stayed in Villa # 4, room 403, which is an end unit. There's one short step to get onto the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mel-knee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galax, Virginia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

We had planned on staying in another town but we ate dinner across the road from this resort.
My husband and I stayed here when our waiter at Gamekeeper Restaurant made our reservation at our request. Our room was a King Deluxe and the room was clean, newly furnished and beautiful. Our terrace looked out over the mountains.
We didn't hear a thing all night. Our continential breakfast was brought to us and we had the wonderful opportunity to eat it alone on the terrace.
The bed was very comfortable and the room was well furnished.
The staff was very nice and helpful. They were expecting us when we arrived. . The road getting to the inn was very curvy, but that was part of the adventure in this mountain top inn.
The inn is very near the Blue Ridge Parkway.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank newsongwalking12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boone
4.7 mi away
The Green Park Inn
The Green Park Inn
#3 of 15 in Blowing Rock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
4.6 mi away
LaQuinta Inn & Suites Boone
3.4 mi away
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
#2 of 15 in Blowing Rock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Courtyard Boone
Courtyard Boone
#7 of 18 in Boone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
3.3 mi away
Meadowbrook Inn & Suites
Meadowbrook Inn & Suites
#4 of 15 in Blowing Rock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Boone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Crestwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Crestwood

Property: The Inn at Crestwood
Address: 3236 Shulls Mill Rd, Boone, NC 28607-6836
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Boone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Boone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inn at Crestwood 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Crestwood is the premier inn of the High Country, offering guests cozy accommodations, special packages, wedding venues and conference facilities. Enjoy unforgettable panoramic views, distinctive dining, celebrated local art and relaxing spa services all in one harmonious setting that's just minutes from the High Country's area attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your The Inn at Crestwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Crestwood Hotel Boone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing