We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing location and service, dated property”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Inn at Crestwood
Ranked #7 of 9 Boone B&B and Inns
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
259 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“Amazing location and service, dated property”
Reviewed June 15, 2012

The Inn: Consistently inconsistent. Nicely tiled bathroom and accessories from Wal-Mart. Huge four-poster bed (with steps due to height) and worn carpet. Sweet gas fireplace with timer and old-school wall-mount hotel heating and cooling unit. Great location (outside), water damage in many areas (inside).

The Restaurant: Awesome view. Nice looking menu that offers solid, if not spectacular, food once delivered. Like most places, the reality does not always live up to the promise.

The Spa: Did not actually try the services, but the pool, while heated, is not heated much. Quite cool to the touch. The dry sauna did not work. The steam sauna did work. Unfortunately, the entire building is disconnected from the main building, and completely inconvenient to get to. Incredibly difficult to find, let alone walk to if you want to try for a swim (if you want to risk the mountain air).

The Staff: Very friendly. Good thing.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jayseae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    65
    41
    40
    31
See reviews for
62
140
5
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mississippi
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

It is kinda hidden on some really curvy roads but well worth the car sickness. Staff very friendly eager to help out. We were there from Feb 17th until Feb 20th. The rooms are plain but as far as I am concerned I just need a clean room with clean bed and bathroom since I didn't just come to sit in a room the whole time. On the 18th we had reservations for the restaurant and it was fantastic and very private. They went out of their to make the whole weekend as romantic as possible for us. On that Sunday my husband sat on the bed to put his shoes on and the bed broke so when we went to let them know they immediately sent a person to clean a new room for us so by they time we were finished with our spa treatments the new room was all ready for us to move to. Very apologetic and like I said went out of their way to help us. On the day of checkout the weather was so bad that the front desk person couldn't make it in for work so we found a person doing the breakfast to ask what we should do and they went down and figured out what needed to be done to check us out. The whole time the guy kept apologizing for now knowing what to do and for taking so long. I just didn't get why but to me that is complete customer service. Helping out even though it wasn't his job. We will definitely be going back. Couldn't have asked for a better staff or experience. Super nice and courteous.

Room Tip: The suites are located in the main building and the king villa rooms are located right next to it. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wmsander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2012

We considered a number of places for the one night we had in the Blowing Rock/Boone area. We were squeezing it into a business trip that limited our time. I found that some B&B type locations there do not offer one night stays. I called The Inn at Crestwood and found they were very welcoming and helpful. (Sad commentary to find that I am SURPRISED when I receive friendly, helpful service!). I was offered a AAA discount before I even inquired. The staff was equally friendly when we arrived, walking us over to the villa where we stayed; answering all of our questions; making us feel welcome. The setting is stunning. We enjoyed the architectural features of the Inn and the drawings on the walls. We read the history of the Inn and the owners and found it enhanced the way we felt about the place. We originally planned to go into Blowing Rock or Boone for dinner, but we were so taken with the beauty at the Inn at Crestwood that we decided to stay there for dinner. We enjoyed a complimentary glass of wine at their bar while we watched a spectacular sunset. The views there are fabulous. Our dinner was great and the dining room is so pretty, taking every possible opportunity to highlight the mountain view. We will return here at the first opportunity! We did not partake of the continental breakfast as that is not the type breakfast we prefer (but nice to have it offered). We went into Boone and based on TripAdvisor recommendations had breakfast at the Hob Nob Farm Cafe - great breakfast and a price performer! Want more time in Blowing Rock!!!

Room Tip: We did not see the rooms in the main Inn. We stayed in a room in one of the 4 villas nearby. It was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vacplanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed January 19, 2012

What a wonderful experience to find this quaint lodge nestled in the mountains of North Carolina. The accomadations were beautiful. The lodge has great views from almost every room. Even the indoor pool and spa area were fantastic. What really made this a great place was the friendly staff. I can't wait for our return trip this summer.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gbrockl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2012

My girlfriend and I planned a skiing weekend over the New Years Eve weekend through Go NC High Country. They recommended staying at The Crestwood. When we arrived it was beautiful. The staff was very nice and helpful. We got engaged that night, spent the next day in near by Boone and skiing at Appalacian Mtn. The restaurant at the Crestwood was unreal. We enjoyed our experience so much there we are planning to have our wedding there.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rugbygrunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2011

My wife and I stayed here for my birthday weekend. Based on the website we thought this place was going to be very nice, it was not. We stayed in a villa, on the middle floor. In a nutshell the place was not what we expected for nearly $200 per night. If this place was $79 a night, one could say you get what you pay for. We have no plans to return. I don't mean to be harsh, just honest.

Liked:
• Room was quite, we could not hear others above or below us
• Nice kitchen, although we didn’t use it
• Place was clean
• Staff was friendly

Didn’t like:
• The king bed was awful. It provided no support, soft, squeaky and completely worn-out feeling.
• The living room had one very small love seat and that was it.
• The TV in the living room was barely visible. It was very snowy and faded.
• The TV in the bedroom was a small 13” TV
• The bathroom was very basic
• Breakfast consisted of warm muffins, instant grits you could make, coffee, juice, yogurt and cold cereal. Breakfast was self serve.
• Spa – the door to the sauna room had fallen off and it was leaning up against the door frame, seriously. The pool was dirty.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dale M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reidsville, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2011

Found crestwood to have beautiful scenery. However very isloated from shopping and dinning.The Inn is older and is showing signs of not being properly kept up.
The noise from the other rooms was very distracting.The Lounge is used only for special occasions. Not open to the public as it appeared on the web-site.

Room Tip: I would consider a villa or a condo. These rooms are just not well kept up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dee3844
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Boone hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boone
4.7 mi away
The Green Park Inn
The Green Park Inn
#3 of 15 in Blowing Rock
451 reviews
3.9 mi away
Courtyard Boone
Courtyard Boone
#6 of 18 in Boone
396 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Boone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
LaQuinta Inn & Suites Boone
3.6 mi away
Village Inn of Blowing Rock
Village Inn of Blowing Rock
#8 of 15 in Blowing Rock
281 reviews
3.3 mi away
Meadowbrook Inn
Meadowbrook Inn
#6 of 15 in Blowing Rock
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Crestwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Crestwood

Property: The Inn at Crestwood
Address: 3236 Shulls Mill Rd, Boone, NC 28607-6836
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Boone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Boone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inn at Crestwood 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Crestwood is the premier inn of the High Country, offering guests cozy accommodations, special packages, wedding venues and conference facilities. Enjoy unforgettable panoramic views, distinctive dining, celebrated local art and relaxing spa services all in one harmonious setting that's just minutes from the High Country's area attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your The Inn at Crestwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Crestwood Hotel Boone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing