We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Engagement Weekend at the Crestwood” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Inn at Crestwood

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Inn at Crestwood
Ranked #7 of 9 Boone B&B and Inns
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Engagement Weekend at the Crestwood”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2012

My girlfriend and I planned a skiing weekend over the New Years Eve weekend through Go NC High Country. They recommended staying at The Crestwood. When we arrived it was beautiful. The staff was very nice and helpful. We got engaged that night, spent the next day in near by Boone and skiing at Appalacian Mtn. The restaurant at the Crestwood was unreal. We enjoyed our experience so much there we are planning to have our wedding there.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rugbygrunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    64
    36
    39
    27
See reviews for
57
135
4
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Asheville
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2011

My wife and I stayed here for my birthday weekend. Based on the website we thought this place was going to be very nice, it was not. We stayed in a villa, on the middle floor. In a nutshell the place was not what we expected for nearly $200 per night. If this place was $79 a night, one could say you get what you pay for. We have no plans to return. I don't mean to be harsh, just honest.

Liked:
• Room was quite, we could not hear others above or below us
• Nice kitchen, although we didn’t use it
• Place was clean
• Staff was friendly

Didn’t like:
• The king bed was awful. It provided no support, soft, squeaky and completely worn-out feeling.
• The living room had one very small love seat and that was it.
• The TV in the living room was barely visible. It was very snowy and faded.
• The TV in the bedroom was a small 13” TV
• The bathroom was very basic
• Breakfast consisted of warm muffins, instant grits you could make, coffee, juice, yogurt and cold cereal. Breakfast was self serve.
• Spa – the door to the sauna room had fallen off and it was leaning up against the door frame, seriously. The pool was dirty.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dale M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reidsville, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2011

Found crestwood to have beautiful scenery. However very isloated from shopping and dinning.The Inn is older and is showing signs of not being properly kept up.
The noise from the other rooms was very distracting.The Lounge is used only for special occasions. Not open to the public as it appeared on the web-site.

Room Tip: I would consider a villa or a condo. These rooms are just not well kept up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dee3844
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Boone hotels

Wakefield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

The views from the patio where the ceremony were spectacular even though the fall foliage had been better the weekend before from what we heard. Poor service started with making a reservation in the room block, I was told that there were no more rooms available for the type of room we were looking for at the wedding block rate even though we were booking many months ahead of time. It took a call to the bride, and her calling to inn, to get it cleared up, and from what I heard I was not the only one who had problems with reservations. To top it off, when I did get a reservation, they sent me a confirmation with the wrong dates. Another call to get that cleared up.

Rooms were ok, but would never have paid the full room rate had it not been for the wedding. I would agree that it is probably not the best place for a get away if there is a wedding going on, so you might want to ask.

If you are planning a wedding there, it is a gorgeous location. But make sure you are very hands on, and have a wedding coordinator or a friend or two that are staying on top of the details, as this is not something that seems to be a strong suit of the Inn.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank reggitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2011

We booked The Inn at Crestwood for a once a year night away from our young kids to "recharge" and spend some time alone together. We had reservations at the restaurant, which we discovered was booked by a wedding. We were moved into a small room that doubled as a bar. Not the experience we were looking for. There were about 10 people at the bar right next to our dinner table. We booked a deluxe king Suite, room 11, which happened to be closest to the restaurant where the wedding reception was. There was a very loud band playing at the reception until midnight, yes I said midnight. Our room was shaking from the band. I was trying to be understanding until 11:00, we ended up calling by 11:15. We were told they had the room booked until midnight. I do not blame the bride/groom, but Crestwood should have DJ's/bands stop by 11:00 and also warn guests that there is a wedding booked that maybe loud. When the band finally finished, the afterparty moved to the room above ours. So much for sleep, I get more at home with young kids! Upon check-out we asked to speak to a manager. They were unavailable, but the girl stated they would call us back that day. A week later, no call. What a bad decision we made for our precious time away!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank H G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2011

I stayed for two nights at the Inn at Crestwood in early October. The location and the mountains views are outstanding. The building has several interesting features that give it a romantic mountain lodge feel.

Unfortunately, there seems to be a signiicant management problem that results in a medicre guest experience. From very slow service in the restaurant to the mandatory tip in the bar and restaurant, there is an attitude of arogance throughout the inn. The management tries to correct mistakes; however, their solutions fall short of a full resolution.

As a frequent traveler, my opinion is that the Inn at Crestwood needs to bring in a professional hotel management team. The current managers try hard - but, they really miss the mark.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank BullCityTraveler57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2011

My girlfriends and I planned a lovely weekend in Blowing Rock and booked spa apts at Crestwood Spa. We had great expectations for this place due to the pictures and the customer service when I set up the apts. I booked the 1.5 hr Crestwood massage with Cindi. When I got into the room the bed was freezing cold, the lotion was cold and i could hear people walking upstairs so Cindi turned the music up to drown out the noise. With all of this aside I tried to relax but had to ask for more pressure since it just felt like she was rubbing lotion on me. She did not listen and continued on until I just asked her to stop 15 minutes earlier. This made me uncomfortable and put me in an awkward position. It left me feeling more uptight than when I came in and a waste of $115. My girlfriends massages were better than mine but disliked the ambiance of the spa since the only place to relax was the lobby. I recommend booking the Westglow spa which was where we went last year. Lesson learned!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kelly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebekah P, Manager at The Inn at Crestwood, responded to this review, October 17, 2011
Dear Do Not Waste your money,

We greatly apologize that your experience at Crestwood was not what you were expecting. Please allow me to address each of your concerns. We have provided both bed warmers and heaters in each of the rooms, I am not sure if these were not adequate for heating your appointment or if something else was wrong, again we apologize that the bed and lotion were cold. I have been informed that Cindis appointments that morning were swedish massages, which are accredited with a lighter touch, Cindi is in the habit of offering an upgrade to a deep tissue massage if a guest request more pressure, I have also been informed that this happened in the appointment in question and the option was turned down. I have never had complaints about Cindi as a massage therapist, however we have spoken with her to see how together we can seek to provide a better service to our guests. We are also constantly seeking to improve the ambiance of the spa and hope that you will find what you are looking for here at Crestwood.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boone
3.9 mi away
Courtyard Boone
Courtyard Boone
#7 of 18 in Boone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Green Park Inn
The Green Park Inn
#3 of 15 in Blowing Rock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
4.6 mi away
LaQuinta Inn & Suites Boone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
#2 of 15 in Blowing Rock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
4.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Boone
3.3 mi away
Meadowbrook Inn & Suites
Meadowbrook Inn & Suites
#5 of 15 in Blowing Rock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Crestwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Crestwood

Property: The Inn at Crestwood
Address: 3236 Shulls Mill Road, Boone, NC 28607
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Boone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Boone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inn at Crestwood 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Crestwood is the premier inn of the High Country, offering guests cozy accommodations, special packages, wedding venues and conference facilities. Enjoy unforgettable panoramic views, distinctive dining, celebrated local art and relaxing spa services all in one harmonious setting that's just minutes from the High Country's area attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Inn at Crestwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Crestwood Hotel Boone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing