We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, great views”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Inn at Crestwood
Ranked #7 of 9 Boone B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 11, 2007

The Inn at Crestwood was built as a family home by an architect who designed it to take advantage of great mountain views, the best in Blowing Rock. His son runs it now as an Inn. It is elegant and understated, and staff are helpful. We stayed in a 2-bedroom cottage with fireplace. Unfortunately, it was too cold to go out on the terraces to really savor the views.

A few problems with maintenance: light bulbs outside cottage were out; hair dryer was broken. A little wallpaper in the master bath was peeling because of moisture and insufficient caulking. The spa has potential. It has just been taken over by a separate company, which is good, because the exercise equipment didn't work. New equipment is on order, and a new, glassed-in exercise room is planned on the terrace.

Dominic's Restaurant was very good, but some dishes had more sauce and starch than we calorie-conscious prefer. The dining room and adjacent bar also have panoramic views. Continental breakfast is included and served in the library next to the bar. It's standard: fruit, pastries, coffee, juice, rolls. I wish some of it had been homemade.

Location is 10 minutes or so from town, on winding roads, which is both a plus and a minus. The town in Blowing Rock has good restaurants, but we don't like to negotiate the twisty roads in the dark. On the other hand, this is a lovely setting.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Forsyth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (284)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

279 - 284 of 284 reviews

Reviewed October 27, 2007

We arrived on the 26th of October in the evening. A young man provided my family with the keys to our room and we proceeded upstairs (at the Inn itself). We soon realized the bathroom had not been cleaned (I don't want to relive it by describing it) and, upon further inspection, found that the sheets had stains that appeared very recent. The Inn itself is older and has some quaint spots, but the carpets are worn and the rooms have lots of scuffs and wear.

When we called the front desk to report the condition of our room, the young man was apologetic, and we were provided a room in the adjacent cabins (at the same price). The cabins are newer (and less quaint) but they have more space and amenities.

The restaurant was the one exception to the overall lack of service. The young waiter was gracious, mature, and professional. The chef came out to greet us, and the "library" (where dinner was served) was cozy.

What's incredibly obvious, however, is that there is a serious lack of service and maintenance (almost all patio furniture is scattered and in disrepair, the fitness room a disaster, front desk staff running the continental breakfast, the cleaning staff evidently only makes the beds, etc). The front desk staff couldn't tell me where (or if) the cabin had a data port....on and on.

The trees and mountains surrounding the property are fabulous and the Crestwood is close to Grandfather Mountain, Blowing Rock, and Boone.

Stay at the Crestwood if you are looking for a great location, spectacular scenery (in the fall, at least), but please don't expect great service or attention to detail.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank jon h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2007

Loved the setting, views and Inn. Restaurant Domonic's table was superb as was the service and staff. Highly recommended on every level.

Stayed: April 2007
1  Thank tbone46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2007

My husband and I were looking for a romantic getaway and we found that and much more. With restaurant and spa on site it made leaving the facitly obsolete!! The views were picturesque and the service was A+. I would reccommend it to all.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank crazynsweetsm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2006

My family and I hosted my brother's college graduation dinner celebration at the Inn's restaurant. There were 8 people in our party, we had a reservation, and it took about an hour and a half for us to see our meals. No one acknowledged the slow service (not even our server) until we complained to the manager. They blamed it on it being a busy weekend and that they weren't used to catering to large groups. We were only a group of 8 and on their website it says they cater wedding events, so I didn't buy the excuse. The food was OK once we got it. The whole experience really put a damper on our celebration. On a brighter note, I did stay in one of the cottages and was very happy with the accommodations.

  • Stayed: May 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank myopinions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Kannapolis, NC
13
Reviewed October 3, 2005

My fiancee and I stayed at The Inn at Crestwood for our anniversary and will definetely return to celebrate every year for that special occasion. The Inn is located right outside of the quaint little town of Blowing Rock which is chock full of shopping and fantastic dining. Although we never strayed far from the Inn. They offer fantastic dining at the Sirius Restuarant with dishes to die for and a view to match. The suites are exquisite, complete with all the amenities and extras you could imagine. I can't think of a "want" I encountered that was not fulfilled by the staff at the Inn. I was completely pampered at their on site spa and was truly sad to leave the grounds and all the wonderful people that made our stay unforgettable. We highly recommend the Inn at Crestwood for any occasion

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boone
4.6 mi away
LaQuinta Inn & Suites Boone
3.4 mi away
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
#2 of 16 in Blowing Rock
646 reviews
3.9 mi away
Courtyard Boone
Courtyard Boone
#4 of 18 in Boone
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#6 of 18 in Boone
416 reviews
3.3 mi away
Meadowbrook Inn
Meadowbrook Inn
#7 of 16 in Blowing Rock
373 reviews
4.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Crestwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Crestwood

Address: 3236 Shulls Mill Rd, Boone, NC 28607-6836
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Boone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Boone
Price Range: $86 - $264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inn at Crestwood 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Crestwood is the premier inn of the High Country, offering guests cozy accommodations, special packages, wedding venues and conference facilities. Enjoy unforgettable panoramic views, distinctive dining, celebrated local art and relaxing spa services all in one harmonious setting that's just minutes from the High Country's area attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Inn at Crestwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Crestwood Hotel Boone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing