We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good southern food”

Dan'l Boone Inn Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 148 Restaurants in Boone
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $18
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Boone, North Carolina
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good southern food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

This is home cooked food which is good but don't expect to go in and order. Its a meal brought to your table for everyone to share. Cash only...

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kay D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

891 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    436
    257
    122
    47
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Blowing Rock, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Not what it once was... and NO CARDS!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

This place has been a tradition for years but I cannot recommend. Old college friends wanted to go there recently and, unfortunately, it was as disappointing as it was prior to the recent remodeling. Ham and chicken were okay, but a small bowl of lettuce with only ranch dressing plopped down with no options combined with canned vegetables just doesn't cut it for the money. Yes, the lines are still out the door many times, but can't help but believe most is for nostalgia. Plus, they do not take debit/credit cards, only an ATM in the lobby. This is not a one time visit review. Since we moved here full time, we've had many friends wanting to do "the Daniel Boone thing". Sorry, if you're looking for what they used to be, Chatlee Springs just north of Jefferson, is it. It's out of the way but is worth the drive compared with Daniel Boone. Sad to have to say it, but you can rest on your past so long.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tom G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boone, North Carolina
Level Contributor
129 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“KFC in disguise”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

If you want a unique down-home dining experience in the High Country, this would be the place to go. However, while the food is bountiful and served family style, its like eating at KFC with a little more variety and flare. Very greasy, and did I mention pricey? If you enjoy gorging on greasy, country food, eat here. However, I feel that there are far better local establishments to enjoy dining at in Boone.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KelsieMoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
685 reviews
338 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
“Southern food restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

This is a nice family restaurant that serves good southern food. I got there around 11 am on a Sunday and there was a line of approximately 15 people in front of me. I was about to leave, then I decided to stay and it was a good decision because in 5 minutes I got a table too. Place was full and everyone seemed to enjoy the food and the atmosphere. Waitresses are very friendly and are dressed with traditional dresses. I enjoyed food like the other customers and liked the fact that portions are good size. Don't forget that they only accept cash (or checks)

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelsafer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
99 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“My new favorite restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

OMG! This was so fantastic and sooo much food. Came here for dinner. All is served family style. Meats, veggies, bread, dessert. I loved all of it and its such a cute little place.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank luvacationing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dan'l Boone Inn Restaurant also viewed

Boone, North Carolina Mountains
Boone, North Carolina Mountains
 
Boone, North Carolina Mountains
Boone, North Carolina Mountains
 
Boone, North Carolina Mountains
Boone, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Dan'l Boone Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing