We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday dinner”

Dan'l Boone Inn Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 149 Restaurants in Boone
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $18
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Folsom, California
2 reviews
“Sunday dinner”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Two other couples and my fiancé and I ate at the Dan'l Boon Inn Restaurant on a Sunday evening. We had one of the best meals we had on our trip to NC that evening! Lots of food was brought to our table and it was all delicious, from the fried chicken, to the mashed potatoes and gravy (I don't usually like gravy, but I loved theirs), to the biscuits and ham. The price was reasonable, the service stellar, and we all had a great time!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dillbean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

927 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    461
    267
    123
    47
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lumberton, North Carolina
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“When in Boone you have to Stop!”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Family style eating and the food and service were great! Atmosphere was nice and rustic, dining very causal. Good place to stop when in Boone.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fallcolorman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wilkesboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Favorite place in Boone”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

I've been there for dinner a couple times and have never left disappointed. The price may seem a bit much for some, but the family style (platters brought to your table) is a unique experience that makes it seem like Grandma's house. They will bring refills of anything except ham biscuits and you can take those home with you. I prefer the food there to Shatley Springs, another Northwest NC similar style restaurant, at least for dinner. I've never tried Dan'l Boone Inn for breakfast (yet).

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank debjayne728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Must visit! ”
Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

One of my favorite places and a must stop when in the Boone area! Pricey to some at 16.95 a person, but with the price for a great meal. If you leave hungry you would have to be fasting.

Helpful?
Thank TALMADGE R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensburg, Kentucky
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Dan'l Boone Inn Boone, NC”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

I have been to the Dan'l Boone Inn and Restaurant before, probably about 8 years ago. We were so looking forward to stopping and enjoying a nice supper here. Unfortunately, it was a disappointing experience. The food was average at best, desserts were more like something you might get in a school cafeteria and we left feeling that perhaps they had started cutting corners on what was once a very nice "spread" of food. For the price, around $17 per person, I don't think we got anywhere near our money's worth. It was nice to go back, but disappointing to have a meal that left a lot to be desired.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KRDandZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dan'l Boone Inn Restaurant also viewed

Boone, North Carolina Mountains
Boone, North Carolina Mountains
 
Boone, North Carolina Mountains
Boone, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Dan'l Boone Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing