We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“When in Boone you have to Stop!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dan'l Boone Inn Restaurant

Dan'l Boone Inn Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 148 Restaurants in Boone
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $18
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Lumberton, North Carolina
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“When in Boone you have to Stop!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

Family style eating and the food and service were great! Atmosphere was nice and rustic, dining very causal. Good place to stop when in Boone.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank fallcolorman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

876 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    426
    253
    121
    47
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
North Wilkesboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Favorite place in Boone”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

I've been there for dinner a couple times and have never left disappointed. The price may seem a bit much for some, but the family style (platters brought to your table) is a unique experience that makes it seem like Grandma's house. They will bring refills of anything except ham biscuits and you can take those home with you. I prefer the food there to Shatley Springs, another Northwest NC similar style restaurant, at least for dinner. I've never tried Dan'l Boone Inn for breakfast (yet).

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank debjayne728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Must visit! ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

One of my favorite places and a must stop when in the Boone area! Pricey to some at 16.95 a person, but with the price for a great meal. If you leave hungry you would have to be fasting.

Helpful?
Thank TALMADGE R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensburg, Kentucky
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Dan'l Boone Inn Boone, NC”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

I have been to the Dan'l Boone Inn and Restaurant before, probably about 8 years ago. We were so looking forward to stopping and enjoying a nice supper here. Unfortunately, it was a disappointing experience. The food was average at best, desserts were more like something you might get in a school cafeteria and we left feeling that perhaps they had started cutting corners on what was once a very nice "spread" of food. For the price, around $17 per person, I don't think we got anywhere near our money's worth. It was nice to go back, but disappointing to have a meal that left a lot to be desired.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KRDandZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
59 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Good, basic food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

We went here on recommendation of the front desk clerk at our hotel. He warned us it was $17 per person so we knew what to expect. There are no choices to the menu and everything is brought to the table family style. We had a single serving of tossed salad and all you could eat fried chicken, country steak, ham biscuits, mashed potatoes, gravy, green beans, corn, cole slaw, and fried apples. Unlimited beverages and a single dessert were also included. It was just like home cooking. We are from Amish country in PA and this reminded us of meals you get there. Our only complaint would be the slowness of our waiter. He brought out food for our table and another table at the same time. He served them first so our food had cooled somewhat by the time he got to our table. That being said, the food was not cold, it just wasn't hot. Any refills we ordered were much hotter. Our waiter also didn't speak very loud and considering the noise in the restaurant we sometimes had difficulty hearing him (and I have very good hearing!). We waited in line approx. 25 minutes on a Thursday in October. As noted by another reviewer credit cards are not accepted. There is an ATM available.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank subrice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dan'l Boone Inn Restaurant also viewed

Boone, North Carolina Mountains
Boone, North Carolina Mountains
 
Boone, North Carolina Mountains
Boone, North Carolina Mountains
 
Boone, North Carolina Mountains
Boone, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Dan'l Boone Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing