We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dan'l Boone Inn Boone, NC”

Dan'l Boone Inn Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 151 Restaurants in Boone
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $18
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Greensburg, Kentucky
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Dan'l Boone Inn Boone, NC”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

I have been to the Dan'l Boone Inn and Restaurant before, probably about 8 years ago. We were so looking forward to stopping and enjoying a nice supper here. Unfortunately, it was a disappointing experience. The food was average at best, desserts were more like something you might get in a school cafeteria and we left feeling that perhaps they had started cutting corners on what was once a very nice "spread" of food. For the price, around $17 per person, I don't think we got anywhere near our money's worth. It was nice to go back, but disappointing to have a meal that left a lot to be desired.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KRDandZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

971 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    483
    278
    128
    50
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Good, basic food”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We went here on recommendation of the front desk clerk at our hotel. He warned us it was $17 per person so we knew what to expect. There are no choices to the menu and everything is brought to the table family style. We had a single serving of tossed salad and all you could eat fried chicken, country steak, ham biscuits, mashed potatoes, gravy, green beans, corn, cole slaw, and fried apples. Unlimited beverages and a single dessert were also included. It was just like home cooking. We are from Amish country in PA and this reminded us of meals you get there. Our only complaint would be the slowness of our waiter. He brought out food for our table and another table at the same time. He served them first so our food had cooled somewhat by the time he got to our table. That being said, the food was not cold, it just wasn't hot. Any refills we ordered were much hotter. Our waiter also didn't speak very loud and considering the noise in the restaurant we sometimes had difficulty hearing him (and I have very good hearing!). We waited in line approx. 25 minutes on a Thursday in October. As noted by another reviewer credit cards are not accepted. There is an ATM available.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank subrice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“This is a legendary Boone establishment”
Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

Come hungry, and don't be afraid to turn away food you won't eat. Ha. In the South, there are 2 short menus: one for breakfast, and one for dinner. This restaurant does them as well as anyone does, but there are few choices. You will need to conform to the Southern diet. :-). Excellent fried chicken and chopped steak with gravy. The banana pudding is the best I've had.

Helpful?
Thank JJx5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Down home goodness”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

There's a line out the door for good reason. Unlimited portions of delicious food. Breakfast is the way to go. Service is amazing as well.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank BeerFoodNaps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Must visit country cooking!”
Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

If you are visiting the high country this is a must visit for a meal. Only issue is it can be crowded during tourist seasons. Good real country cooking. As long as you keep eating they keep bringing food. Try to hit it off park times if you late lines like I do.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jhsfour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dan'l Boone Inn Restaurant also viewed

Boone, North Carolina Mountains
Boone, North Carolina Mountains
 
Boone, North Carolina Mountains
Boone, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Dan'l Boone Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing