We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Food for the soul.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Farm Cafe

Farm Cafe
Ranked #23 of 148 Restaurants in Boone
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Copperas Cove, Texas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Food for the soul.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2014

While planning this trip we discovered FARM on Tripadvisor; glad we did. On an extended stay in the Boone area we volunteered, and ate several times there. In clear 20/20 hindsight those meals were the freshest and healthiest ones during our entire trip. Sure we splurged on several meals in the area; but everything we had at the cafe was fresh, and wonderful. The concept is simple: There are no prices, only suggested donations based on the plate sizes. Those who can contribute may, those in need may volunteer, or have a free meal from someone who has paid it forward, no one leaves hungry. Numerous local bakeries, growers, and suppliers donate excess stocks to the cafe. Every morning the small paid staff of 3, and numerous volunteers freshly prepare a wonderful lunch. Vegan, lactose and gluten free meals dominate the daily menu, great local produce and meats too. Volunteering there plugged us right into a wonderful group of locals. If you've ever wanted to work at a restaurant, connect in away the average tourist sadly doesn't, or just give a little here is a perfect opportunity. It remains a highlight of our trip. We miss the great group of people there.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
6 Thank outthere2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    18
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Princeton, West Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
90 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Super food - cool concept”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

Recommended to us, we stopped in for lunch on July 5. They have a different menu everyday and they feed everyone, regardless of ability to pay. The food was delicious, we left stuffed and felt good about contributing to a worthy cause.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2014

Fresh, inventive, ethical, wonderful food. Fast and a great value for Boone professionals and students

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank AppstateGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
55 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“What an amazing way to give to the community.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014

FARM is an amazing premise: Come and eat lunch, pay what you can, pay more to help others, and have an imaginative meal. And if a person is unable to pay, they can eat and then volunteer an hour. The food is natural, healthy, local and very good. The day we ate was all vegetarian, so my chicken tender loving daughter wasn't thrilled, but a good sport. Different menu everyday. We will go back the next time we're in the area.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Kim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHALLOTTE
Level Contributor
132 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Dine for a good cause”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2014

This place is a wonderful concept that has been covered by other posters. We ate here for the first time & enjoyed both the quality of the food & the fact that a lot of it is locally grown. It's a wonderful idea.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank BSUBigboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Farm Cafe also viewed

Boone, North Carolina Mountains
Boone, North Carolina Mountains
 
Boone, North Carolina Mountains
Boone, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Farm Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing