We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome doughnut shop” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Local Lion

Local Lion
Ranked #1 of 4 Coffee & Tea in Boone
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: http://mountaintimes.com/columns-eat-beat/articles/Local-Lion-A-Donut-Shop-for-Boone-id-022810
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Awesome doughnut shop”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

One of my buds picked up doughnuts from here when we rented a house for the weekend. They were some crazy awesome that we went back later that afternoon and again the next day. The simple glazed doughnut was the best.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ThorUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    19
    8
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Va/Nc Border
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Yeah I'll be back....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

The Local Lion was actually my very first experience setting foot inside any Boone business.....and I will come back. Most coffee places have good coffees but the Lion has an exceptionally friendly staff...I was there on two occasions...interacted with 4 different employees....all very helpful and positive. The space is very cool with tables, sofas, easy wifi internet and electric plugs for my battery-challanged laptop (very much appreciated)...all kinds of local papers and flyers and a case full of good-looking donuts...sorry I didn't get a couple to make this a better review. Bottom line: Convenient location...Great employees...Nice space and Easy wi-fi. The coffees were fine. Those attributes make my day...give them a try....oh and I agree: support local businesses. When in Boone, I'll be back for my caffeine fix!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank matapeake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilkesboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Love the doughnuts!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

I love doughnuts and supporting local business so when I can combine the two all the better. Picking up a mixed box is the best way to go. Take to co-workers, your favorite service professionals, best doctors office in town, or to a meeting out with other moms.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank heatherinva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bern, North Carolina
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Cute little place, good donuts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

This is a cute little family run place. Two women were busy behind the counter and one had her little girl with her. I was greeted promptly even though the drive thru also demanded the lady's attention. I left with a dozen homemade donuts & a coffee. The glaze on the donuts is very sweet but the donut is not. Nice balance in my opinion. My favorite was the orange flavored donut. I paid $17.50. It's a little pricey but it was a special surprise for my daughter & her roommate so it was worth it!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rose1901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent donuts!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

Wish Local Lion was near me. I'd be there every day! With that thought, maybe it's good I only get to go when I'm in Boone.....I'd end up 100 lbs heavier, for sure!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kat2Saint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Local Lion also viewed

Boone, North Carolina Mountains
Boone, North Carolina Mountains
 
Boone, North Carolina Mountains
Boone, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Local Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing