We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to weather a storm” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites Boone

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Boone
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Boone
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton
Level Contributor
69 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great place to weather a storm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

Stayed two nights during the Hurricane Sandy blizzard. As usual for a Marriott chain hotel, checkin was flawless, excellent clean comfortable room, great amenities, great bed, pillows etc. Friendly helpful staff, recommended good BBQ restaurant. Wonderful surprise for us, guest laundry room in the hotel. Very fine breakfast including make your own waffles and hot breakfast sandwiches along with the rest of the usual items. Good coffee. Note, our room did not a refrigerator. One thing we would have appreciated is better information on who to contact for road conditions. The hotel could be more proactive in obtaining and posting road and weather reports.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KenDebra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    122
    52
    12
    8
See reviews for
109
98
12
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
82 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

We were at the hotel for two nights and both were excellent (October 12 and 13). Upon checking into the hotel upon arrival, we were greeting by two very nice young men. They were friendly and helpful when we asked them for a quiet room, for dinner recommendations that first night and an automotive brake mechanic to replace ours (too much mountain driving, I guess). They didn't steer us wrong on any of these requests. Also, I went down to the desk to ask for another luggage rack and was provided one without delay. Our king, nonsmoking room was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was okay -- the typical complimentary food.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank charms1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
200 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

We've stayed at over 80 Marriott properties and while not every visit is perfect, we've never been compelled to give a Marriott property less than 3 stars, until this stay.

While the room was clean and fresh smelling, we realized throughout the night that the room was on the cold side. When I woke up in the morning, I realized that there was no heat. Upon further inspection, it was obvious that the heater malfunctioning. Regardless of where the knob was turned, it only blew out cold air.

That in itself would not have generated a negative rating. It was the attitude and the indifference of the front staff that shocked and surprised us. When notified, the front staff clerk's response in was "OK, I'll make a note of it" and walked away. It wasn't even the lack of an apology that rubbed us the wrong way, it was the indifference that portrayed a lack of caring. At least the housekeeper apologized and stated that they would look into it promptly.

Perhaps the staff member was just having a bad day (as the night clerk the night before was engaging and friendly), but it certainly left us with a bad impression of the property.

Breakfast was well stocked with standard Fairfield Inn fare. What I did like about the breakfast is that they have sausage croissants as well as bacon biscuits. The seating area is large and spacious with plenty of seating. The hotel is in a good location, with lots of surrounding restaurants that are within walking distance. There is a small (very small) indoor pool that we didn't use.

We're hoping that our experience was the exception rather than the rule, as we like the location, but for now, we are hesitant to return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adventuretravelernc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

I stayed here on my to Sparta, NC., It is a very nice hotel, and the staff were very friendly. The breakfast was good and varied. The room was nice, good size, and no strange odor as someone else stated here. There a good restaurants like Applebee´s nearby to eat at.

Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank StevenMiamiFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
78 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

Exterior is well kept but the interior is dirty and they try hard to disguise the odors by using intense fragrances. Hotel is not that old but it feels like it is at least 15 to 20 years old. Front desk staff don't care much about customer service.

Rooms are equally not well maintained. Dirty rooms with smoke smell with hair on the floors. Carpet seems like was bought from the flea market.

Room Tip: There are other decent hotels in this price range like the holiday inn across the street. We stayed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bhargavipl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

We stayed at the Fairfield inn because I am a platnium member for Marriott. I read the review on Trip advisor before choosing it. While the property is a little older, it was very clean. The staff was friendly. We also used the indoor swimming pool, it was very small, but id did tire my kids out.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

If you're like me, and always trying to find the best value on a decent hotel, this is a good place to go during the off season in Boone when rates are low. The staff is friendly, and the property is clean with comfortable rooms. It's in a pretty good location with Applebee's and Chick Fil A within easy walking distance and seems to have a decent amount of parking.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheBeardedFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boone hotels
1.1 mi away
Courtyard Boone
Courtyard Boone
#7 of 18 in Boone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
1.6 mi away
LaQuinta Inn & Suites Boone
1.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Boone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Boone
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Boone
1.2 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#5 of 18 in Boone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Boone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Boone

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites Boone
Address: 2060 Blowing Rock Rd, Boone, NC 28607-6152
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Boone
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Boone
#8 Family Hotel in Boone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Boone 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott and Travelocity so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Boone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn And Suites Boone
Fairfield Inn & Suites Boone Hotel Boone
Fairfield Inn Hotel Boone
Fairfield Inn Boone
Fairfield Boone
Boone Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing