We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average food”
Review of Come Back Shack

Come Back Shack
Ranked #3 of 149 Restaurants in Boone
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $12
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Description: Come Back Shack is all about fresh, delicious hand-made food at an amazing value. We hand-patty fresh, never-frozen, USDA ground chuck.Our chicken sandwiches are all-natural, and our chicken tenderloins are fresh, never-frozen, hand-breaded, and all-natural. We hand-cut fresh potatoes for our fries and fresh sweet potatoes for our sweet potato chips. We make our sauces from scratch daily. Our milk shakes are made with premium real ice-cream and hand spun in a dozen flavors.We go to the extra effort to serve the best, tastiest, freshest food to our guests because we know you care about what you eat. Its the kind of food we love, and we enjoy fixing for others. We look forward to seeing you at Come Back Shack!
Harrisburg, North Carolina
Level Contributor
130 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Average food”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Stopped in for a late dinner and was looking forward to a good sandwich and milk shake. The menu offers simple sandwiches and burgers with almost limitless variations of toppings. For the money, the chicken sandwich was smallish and the Peanut Butter Cup milk shake was just average.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank coastal_confessions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

722 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    475
    189
    38
    12
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
160 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Wow what a waste of a great concept!”
Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

We loved the idea of this place.. Ordered our food and found EVERY table dirty, floors gross and the staff overwhelmed. The idea of the restaurant was great but I would say they need stronger management. The employees were either overwhelmed or standing around chatting with each other. The food could have been good had it been hot when delivered to our table.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SummerJoConnor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Wylie, South Carolina
Level Contributor
167 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“We almost didn't go”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

It was our last full day in the mountains, and a dreary one at that. We ventured out just to eat lunch but couldn't decide where. I had read a review of the Come Back Shack and suggested we give it a try. My daughter was less than enthusiastic. When we arrived, we couldn't even find a parking space, so we parked nextdoor at Arby's. Each person in the party had to write down their order on a separate sheet of paper and give them all to the person at the register. There are many choices of ways to have a burger or chicken, so it took us a while. It was so crowded that we thought we would wait for a long while. Not so. The food came quickly and was delicious. We later read that the food was mostly local and created from scratch. Some was even organic. I chose the local burger in lettuce wrap rather than a roll. It was really fresh tasting. My daughter had a turkey burger with blue cheese crumbles that she loved even though she had not wanted to come. The others had cheese and bacon burgers which they also liked very much. The fries were tasty but not as good as 5Guys. The prices were a bit higher than a typical fast food restaurant but deservedly so.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank travelontheroad08530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, N.C.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent burger and fries”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

This place outranks all the chain burger places in both quality and variety. I love the option of telling them your order or simply filling out the sheet with your choices because it doesn't feel as rushed and any mistakes are on you. I wish we were going to be here longer so I could try out more choices, but the burger and fries were wonderful. The staff was friendly and the restaurant's concept is a winner. Wish they had them back home.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rookietraveler2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
47 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful food”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We tried Come Back Shack after reading the reviews and loved it so much we went twice on a recent trip to Boone. Loved the burgers, fries, and shakes. Love that all the ingredients are fresh and you 'design' your own burger. Sure wish there was a location closer to our home.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lovetotravel044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Come Back Shack also viewed

Boone, North Carolina Mountains
Boone, North Carolina Mountains
 
Boone, North Carolina Mountains
Boone, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Come Back Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing