We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Promising but not all that”

Hickory Ridge Living History Museum
Ranked #12 of 44 things to do in Boone
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Hickory Ridge Living History Museum, located on the grounds of "Horn in the West," is an eighteenth-century living history museum highlighting the daily lives of our mountain ancestors. At the Hickory Ridge Living History Museum you can learn what life was like in the 1700s as our country was formed and expanded. Hickory Ridge Living History Museum, located on the grounds of "Horn in the West," is an eighteenth-century living history museum highlighting the daily lives of our mountain ancestors. The museum is a production of Southern Appalachian Historical Association. MISSION STATEMENT Southern Appalachian Historical Association celebrates and preserves the diverse cultural heritage of the Blue Ridge Mountain region. Centered around Daniel Boone and the fight for American Independence, SAHA engages individuals through historical education and cultural entertainment.
Orange Park, Florida
Level Contributor
59 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Promising but not all that”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Under more of a field trip or camp atmosphere maybe you get more out of it. We found it to look interesting but not really have the follow through, however, we went through it in the evening before the Horn in the West show. We had to pull information out of the costumed actors. Also, it says free admission for a donation, but there were boxes outside of each cabin asking for a donation of $3.00 which seemed more like an admittance fee.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kb5775
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    13
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Berea, Kentucky
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Hickory Ridge Homestead”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

The Hickory Ridge Homestead Museum is a very interesting historical stop in Boone, NC. It is a recreational reenactment of the original homesteaders in the region, complete with cabins and everything! My colleagues and I were not able to participate in the reenactment, but we were able to stop in and check out the cabins on our way to the Daniel Boone Native Gardens. The cabins were very authentic and we would have loved to have been able to stick around and check out the reenactment, especially since the local farmers market goes on right beside of it! Definitely a cool stop if you are traveling through Boone on a Saturday morning and are looking for something to do!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Cheyanna J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boone, North Carolina
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Experience!”
Reviewed December 12, 2012

I went with my son when his school went on a field trip, and I had a great time. Very educational, but also a lot of fun.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank khw8814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
82 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Festival”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We were in town visiting when the heritage festival was being held on October 13. It was interesting and entertaining. Not enough women's bathrooms to accommodate the large crowd, however.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank charms1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendersonville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
71 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great place to spend a few hours during good weather”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We made a trip out to the Watagua County Farmers Market which is held in the Horn of the West parking lot on Saturday morning. What a great market! After putting all our goodies in the car, we went back to visit the Hickory Ridge Living Museum. There were actors/artisans in period costumes around a group of log cabins weaving, whittling, etc.. My husband chatted with several of the "soldiers" about their rifles. There was even a rabbit roasting over a fire. It is small, but well maintained and in a beautiful wooded site. Then we walked over to the Daniel Boone Native Gardens and spent an hour wandering through the quiet gardens there. All in all, it was a great way to spend a few hours on a sunny Saturday morning. Children would enjoy the Living Museum.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank Jeanine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hickory Ridge Living History Museum also viewed

Boone, North Carolina Mountains
Boone, North Carolina Mountains
 
Boone, North Carolina Mountains
Boone, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Hickory Ridge Living History Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing